We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pity...”
Review of Le Fartoret

Le Fartoret
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bellegarde sur Valserine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Fartoret
Reviewed 20 August 2013

From the outside the hotel is in a pretty location, with decent parking. However, the room (at least the room we were allotted - maybe we were just unfortunate) left a lot to be desired - although the usual amenities were there (hairdryer, soaps and gels, TV), it was sorely in need of refurbishment; the shower was a hand-held shower over a small bathtub, with nowhere to hang it up; sink looked the worse for wear. Owners, although competent, were not particularly friendly (and we do speak fairly reasonable French). Food was very good, however, although somewhat on the expensive side (36 euros each for one of the set menus; beverages obviously extra at 10 euros for half a litre of house wine). All in all, rather a disappointment for a Logis de France. Breakfast (continental) was extra. Place has great potential, particularly as the food was indeed very good, but we might leave this out as a stopover hotel until they give it an overhaul.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Le Fartoret
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is in fact the second time we have stayed in the Fartoret, the first occasion being the same time last year, on spec. - and we had found the facilities and the staff quiet acceptable for the price, given it's proximately to Geneva. This time, we had booked in advance as we knew this would fit the bill for a return trip by car from a tour of the lakes in Italy. Sadly it appears that the hotel either had not been cared for during the intervening 12 months or that the general level of cleanliness, upkeep etc falls off until the season really starts in summer. We had a room on the lowest level with a small terrace, like last time.This means it is shaded and cool and there are french windows to allow you to sit outside and listen to the birds etc. all very relaxing. This time there was no terrace furniture outside (we did ask, and they did put some out but not until much later in the evening, too late to sit out in the shade). Previously we hadn't found the rooms noisy, maybe there were no other guests in nearby rooms last time, but this time the noise from both the room next door and the floor above meant that a good nights sleep was not possible. The swimming pool wasn't available either - it had been left over winter with no cover and was beautifully green with algae & with a half dozen old tyres in it - when we said we were surprised the pool wasn't available the response was that the weather was too cold (okay, maybe we can't predict the weather but the pool was open and clean last year).
We had originally booked for two nights but as we had such long drives ahead, we couldn't afford another sleepless night, so we managed to book an extra night with our next hotel and moved on ealry the next day. There was no haggling from the staff and no cancellation fee charged - from listening to the conversation between them (I speak some french), I think they knew it had fallen short of the mark and that we had been before.
What is really sad is that while some things the management can do nothing about immediately (better sound proofing of the rooms) there were other things that were not right that anyone would expect when paying 88€ in mid season, lights not working, damp musty smelling room, no hairdryer...yes, they could have been requested, but these ought to be a matter of routine.
The hotel could be much better than this visit, but the management need to put some effort in to a few checks from time to time.
We didn't use the restaurant this time, but will say that the food was excellent last year - I can only apologise for not writing the comparable review last May, but I hope this proves helpful to both travelers and maybe the owners too.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lowest level (20 somethings when numbered) are marble floored and wonderfully cool...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank impsomewhaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We're not neophytes when it comes to travel in Europe: I've visited France more than 100 times since 1972, five times already in 2011. Business and pleasure, always...sometimes for a month, sometimes only for a day or two. We've been to Fartoret three times and can give it a good recommendation. It's close to Geneva,of course, but nicely located in the French countryside. And that means "not nearly as expesive" as if we were to have stayed (as we've done in the past) in Geneva. Must admit that we were curious about the place, based on the name, which in English is somewhat amusing. Absolutely no complaints about the kitchen, save for the fact that the servings are a bit large. Good selection of local wines and we've never had any issue with the service. Rooms aren't terribly roomy, but are quiet and clean and bargain-priced. Complaints? None at all. It's perhaps a little inconvenient to access the internet only in the bar, but order a pot of tea or a glass of Champagne and dont concern yourself with it all. Would we stay there again? Absolutely....will do so again in December of this year. Gary and Beryl Ray, Wichita, Kansas, USA

Room Tip: We prefer rooms at the back of the hotel. Good view, a little quieter than at the front.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alpax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cocotte82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Clementben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Il y a des chambres avec vue sur le parc
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank johjorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellegarde sur Valserine
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pierre Blanche
Hotel Pierre Blanche
#2 of 4 in Bellegarde sur Valserine
53 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kyriad Bellegarde Geneve
Kyriad Bellegarde Geneve
#1 of 1 in Chatillon-en-Michaille
118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hermance
Hotel Hermance
#4 of 4 in Bellegarde sur Valserine
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Relax-Hotel
Relax-Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nantua
29 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Rey
Hotel Rey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Blaise
160 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ibis St Genis Pouilly Geneve
Ibis St Genis Pouilly Geneve
#1 of 4 in Saint-Genis-Pouilly
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fartoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fartoret

Address: 130 rue du 14 Juin 1944 | Eloise, 01200 Bellegarde sur Valserine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bellegarde sur Valserine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellegarde sur Valserine
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Fartoret 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Le Fartoret France/Bellegarde Sur Valserine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing