We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel with excellent dining - great value for money”
Review of Logis Amelie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Logis Amelie
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb hotel with excellent dining - great value for money”
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights in February 2009. The hotel is superbly situated in the heart of small and quiet village of Brides-les-Bains. The walk from the hotel to the gondola to Meribel (about 25 minutes each way) takes about two minutes. If you rent a locker from the gondola (€5 per day, €20 pw) you'll get to jump the queues in the mornings and won't have to carry your skis around - well worth the investment.

The hotel itself is a nice, smallish, family-run and very tidy. There is an outdoor parking area (first-come, first-serve), a garage (for a supplement), a games room, free WiFi, a couple of free internet terminals and a cosy bar. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and tidy.

We wouldn't normally choose to have half-board at any hotel, but this time we chose to do so. This was very good choice, as the food at the hotel (a three course meal for dinner) was very good and served by knowledgeable staff. The restaurant had a good wine list with several choices from each of the main wine areas of France. They also had a good selection of wines available in half-bottles.

The breakfast was a standard continental self-service buffer affair with bread, ham, cheese, yoghurts, muesli, corn-flakes, cakes and croisants. Nothing special but perfectly adequate and more than one would normally expect in France.

The staff at the hotel were courteous and very helpful making our stay a very pleasant experience.

We would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    62
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
38
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff,Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at Amelie for New year 2008/2009. This was certainly one of the best hotels in Brides Les Bain as we met others who were staying in Athena for example and they said our hotel was much better. This was a great family run hotel with a nice bar and Restaurant. The rooms were very clean and tidy and had nice bathrooms. In relation to the food i would warn any vegetarians to not expect any decent meals for the time you spend there. We opted for half board which meant the menu of the day. If you were staying in some swanky hotel in Paris the food would be as expected , A La Carte but after a day of skiing you need some wholesome food ie potatoes, pasta, rice, vegetables etc to keep your energy up. Whilst it was a 3 course meal every night the main course varied from Guinea Fowl and brussel sprouts, no other vegetables, to venison and couscous. As a vegetarian I was looked upon in horror, the first night i had vegetable soup and then fish and green beans, i didn't have the heart to tell them vegetarians don't genearlly eat fish either! but then on the second night when they gave me scallops i had to say something. then for the rest of the week i had veg soup and ommelette every day, except one night when i had 2 fried eggs and couscous as an alternative. Needless to say by the end of the week my energy levels were so low due to lack of vitamins and proper diet i ended up ill. BUT that said it was a lovely hotel and I would recommend it.
In relation to location for skiing I was a bit concerned having read some reviews that we were going to be a long way from the skiing areas. We were a good 20 minute gondola ride away but this was not necessarily a problem. We did the Ski school which started at 11.30 in Meribel so this gave us plenty of time in the morning. One tip i would give though is to get lockers at the rental place at the gondola. It is 20 euros for the week but it means that you jump to the front of the gondola queue every day which will save you a good 10 to 15 mins queuing. The hotel does have lockers which are free of charge but it does mean waling down a hill in your ski boots which we didn't fancy doing!
We booked through Crystal and can honestly say they were useless. They provided us with no information in relation to the location of our ski school other than it was in Meribel, we nearly missed our first day after 45 mins of searching for the meeting point. They gave us our welcome meeting a day and a half after we had arrived and had already worked everything out for ourselves and the reps on the coach both advised us they didn't know the resort well as this was only thier second week, useless! We went with Snow Systems for ski school, Level one, which was 2 hours over 6 days. Whilst the Instructors were good don't expect your 2 hours to be all instruction time. you spend at least 20 mins in the lifts going up and up to 20 mins in lifts coming down plus any queuing time. I was not impressed with this as i did not feel we were getting our monies worth. On one day our lesson was to finish at 1.30 and it was just after 1 and the instructor said we didn't have time to go back up again as he had another lesson to get to and left us! Next time i would book a private lesson with just the people i was with. My previous experiences with ski schools has been very good with a full 2 hours of tuition.
In relation to lift passes we bought area passes but we didn;t even go out of the Meribel area.If you are beginners you won't need an area pass.
In relation to getting the Gondola back to Brides the last one at this time of year was 5.00. However it was still running until 6.00 so i am not too sure how well they stick to the 5.00 rule. but if you miss it the taxi to Brides is around 30 euros. If you leave at about 4.00 the queues are ok but one day we didn't leave until 4.45 and we were queuing for about 45 minutes. Because of this next time i would stay in Meribel itself, whilst Hotel Amelie was nice the time you lose for skiing in the gondola ride is a problem. Whilst this was not necessarily an issue for me as a beginner skier this time i think next time i would want to spend more time skiing and therefore the gondola ride would be an issue.
New Year in the hotel was nice. All guests ate at the same time and the meal was over about 4 courses. The owner of the hotel and his family also ate with the guests and there ws entertainment with a band and a magician at dinner time. They made a real effort to make everyone feel very welcome and the staff were fantastic. There are not many bars or restaurants in Brides so the hotel was the best place to stay for the new year. If you are looking for a lively resort Brides is not the place for you. It was generally a very relaxed and friendly town and Hotel Amelie is the best hotel to stay in (unless you are vegetarian, but i think that is France in general!)

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good bar, nice clean rooms
  • Disliked — Food for vegetarians
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rokrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Just returned from a week's skiing and this place turned out to be an excellent place to stay. It is right beside the gondola taking you up the mountain to Meribel. The gondola takes about 25 mins and was no hassle, in fact at the end of the day it was nice for a rest.

The hotel was great and the food was brilliant. It is a three course set menu every night and whilst we often screwed up our face at the menu, every night the food was excellent and surprised us.

The bar is good as well and was busy during happy hour with everyone coming off the slopes.

The rooms are simple but nice and have a large bath with very hot water which is always appreciated after a hard day's skiing.

The skiing in the three valleys was brilliant with the snow good and the weather even better. You could not beat the skiing this year.

Brides itself is pretty quiet, however, if you want an excelllent value for money ski holiday, I would highly recomend this location and definetely this hotel!!

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — The uphill walk up to the gondola
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parallell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Very good hotel situated in the centre of the village and very close to the Olympic Telecabin up to Meribel.

Rooms are clean and basic. Half Board food option offers a basic continental style buffet for breakfast and a 3 course set menu each evening. Food was good and service was excellent.

Staff are friendly and helpful, speaking good english. Friendly cosy bar offers 2 large flatscreen tv monitors showing Eurosport. Happy hour each evening from 4pm until 6pm where a large beer costs 2 euro's (normal price 4 euro's).

Good ski lockers with integral dryers at the back of the hotel allow safe and secure storage of skis, poles and boots.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No English speaking TV channels
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank stevenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

Definitely recommend this hotel.
We were a couple. Had a large room on the front. Some of the rooms still need up dating but the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The owners live in an apartment on the top floor.
Lovely restaraunt. Food was very good - very traditional french Savoie region - not ideal for vegetarians ! good large bar as well.
Hotel was excellent value, good location right in the centre of town. Wines and drinks were rather expensive. Suggest you order the house wines !
100 yds walk to the telecabin to Meribell.

Just one thing - B les Baines really is a very small town/village. So very little to do in the evenings. Was told by others that the other restaurants in town were pretty poor !
If you want Apres Ski then suggest go to another resort.

Nick & Barbara

  • Liked — Good location very good and friendly service
  • Disliked — Bedroom ws showing its age - and needed better cleaning !
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ForrestCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#8 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Amelie

Property: Logis Amelie
Address: rue Emile Machet, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Amelie 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Logis Amelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Amelie Hotel Brides-Les-Bains
Amelie Les Bains
Amelie Brides Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing