We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, close to gondola for access to Meribel”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value hotel, close to gondola for access to Meribel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just returned from my second visit to Hotel des Alpes in Brides Les Bains. Very tradition hotel with fantastic evening meals served by very attentive staff. Rooms and breakfast are basic but acceptable. Only 50m from the Olympic Gondola for access to Meribel and the Three Valleys. Check out the cheaper rate lift pass available when you book direct. We found the owner very friendly and helpful and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bride les bain
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed the week of January 25 2014 and had a really good time. This friendly family run hotel is a joy to stay in. The food is good, the service perfect. Breakfast included cheese and ham, cereals, tea coffee, bread, croissants, pain au chocolate etc. dinner was tasty and there was lots of it. The rooms are basic but clean. Don't expect 4 stars but if you want great value this is the place to go.

Mike Pennington.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel about 4 years ago on a short skip trip and at the time I said I would not go back next time but I'd choose another hotel in B-l-B instead. Never make such promises in a review as they come back to haunt you because I'm just back from a 4-day stay at the hotel I said I wouldn't go back to. So why did I go back ? Well my fellow traveler really liked it and convinced me to re-visit, and it was a huge saving on staying further up in Meribel or Courchevel (maybe half the price) and I must say that I was wrong in my initial assessment and may have done an injustice to the place.

It is a quaint, charming, typically French small hotel with the best location in town within a throw of the lift, and the 20 minute gondola to Meribel is quite relaxing .. I was able to ski back to Les Rafforts or Les Allues on the way back which was some of the best skiing of the trip. The hotel isn't a modern chain hotel where I'd usually stay but once again the food was fantastic with a great menu served up by Thibault who seems to do do everything in the place ... take bookings, answer the phone, serve the meals, run the bar and chat to all the clients. We were there for New Year's Eve which was great fun with all the staff and clients joining in the fun and watching the fireworks. Breakfast was fine, there was nothing wrong there ... cereal, a few of types of bread, croissants, cheeses, meats, a few kinds of yoghurts, tea/coffee ... no cooked breakfast of bacon and eggs but hey, you're in France.

Would I go back again ... yes probably, and I'd look forward to it.

Room Tip: Front-facing, looking out on the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights for which we were charged 83 Euro a night which was a bit steep for the state of the hotel. We were charged extra for breakfast which was probably the worst breakfast we have ever had in a hotel - a few bits of stale french bread, a croisont, some coffee and we had to ask for some jam for the rock hard bread every morning, oh and a small pottle of yoghurt. I think we paid 7.50 for the breakfast.
Felt ripped off and would not stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors affected by sign lights outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel is situated on the edge of the village only 2 minutes to the main street. I stayed there in the spring. The hotel has a great garden to sit in and looks from the outside very beautiful and charming. The rooms are a bit sober and my bathroom door did not close but it was all ok considering the price. Dinner was good but breakfast was not enough for a big eater and certainly not luxurious. The bathroom was noisy. My friend and I felt like the Romans sitting each on his own toilet in his own room but hearing all the other did :) But as all guest were very quiet and early sleepers the fact that it was an old and thus bit noisy building did not matter. It also gives the hotel it charm. Personnel is very friendly. Would advice them to pimp it up just a bit especially breakfast (plates and some bread to chose from instead of 'room service in the breakfast-room'. Maybe let people who want a luxurious breakfast pay extra for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leiden2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a short ski break this year. The hotel is very close to the gondola and is really pretty. Inside it is in need of modernisation but it is bursting with character. The owner is friendly, helpful and extremely hard working. He seems to do everything except breakfast and the cleaning! He was a joy to watch in the evening waiting on a full restaurant on his own, fetching drinks and all the time in good form. The food was good but there were no choices on the menu except for dessert. Breakfast was a bit on the meagre side for a ski holiday !

We had a room for 3 people which was spacious enough and had a separate toilet and bathroom. The walls are a bit thin so we could hear the kids next door!

All in all for a 2 star I think there is very little to fault with this hotel. It was clean, reasonably priced, in a great location and had decent food. If you want somewhere relatively cheap to stay in the 3 Vallees I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bedroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anewdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Small quaint, almost rustic hotel in the small town of B-les-B with a great location, 100m from the gondola which takes you on a 25 minute ride to the centre of Meribel skiing area. The gondola ride is a bit of a drag - 50 minutes + each day, though you can ski to Les Rafforts on the way down which saves part of the trip back, but B-les-B is marketing itself as the cheap, cost-effective place to stay while skiing les trois vallees. There are better hotels in B-les-B than this one, but none are as good value, and it would be hard to beat the food. Its a small hotel, ski room is a large garden shed in the car park but it is clean and the owners very friendly. It has a bar which would only attract residents, and the restaurant serves great food. Breakfast is a bit light - a glass of orange, croissant and bit of bread with tea, coffee or hot chocolate, but dinner makes up for it. Rooms are small and some have a shared bathroom (ugh!) and it would be great to see the whole place re-furbished but not in these times I guess.

I would go back, but only if the other hotels didn't have accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Chalets
Hotel les Chalets
#3 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: rue du Docteur Paul Mathieu | Quartier de l'Olympe, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing