We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely welcoming mountain retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caprice des Neiges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caprice des Neiges
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Lovely welcoming mountain retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Caprice Des Neiges is a very lovely welcoming, comfortable hotel with the atmosphere of a chalet. The food is 5 star excellent and delicious. Thomas the owner chef cooks a superb selection of evening meals each night of a half board stay offering a choice of two starters a fixed main course and a choice of desert or cheese plate, there is a children's menu too. Breakfast was a Buffet with a nice selection of fresh food with some excellent ham and cheese available on request. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable, very comfortable beds and pillows. The bathroom did need updating perhaps but ours were perfectly functional, clean and there was always ample hot water for a bath every night. We had rooms 15 and 16 which were interconnecting rooms able to accommodate up to 6 people with two bathrooms between them, perfect for us and our two teenagers. We were staying along with two other families a party of 11 in all and their rooms, room 1 and room 20 were also very comfortable if a little small. The hosting of Thomas and his team was very good and friendly. Thomas speaks good English and tries hard to accommodate any special requests. Special mention must go to Alex who was Brilliant and charming both in the restaurant and for drinks from the bar to the lounge for Apres ski/dinner, he always made us feel so welcome and as though nothing was too much trouble. The shuttle service to the princess lift or to Combloux worked well to get to the pistes each morning and pick up at the end of the day was always prompt and cheerful. My advice after staying at the Caprice des Neiges is definitely don't pay more to stay somewhere with an extra star or two, this hotel delivers a perfectly wonderful stay for any family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
30
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you are looking for a really great 2* hotel from which to ski the Domain Grand Evasion (Megeve, Combloux, St Gervais and Les Contamines) this is it. The welcome was brilliant, the food lovely, the views spectacular and all for a great price!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T2KF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed here on a recent skiing weekend, the staff were extremely friendly, and the food was great. We had a car which made getting to ski lifts much easier than taking local buses. All in all this is a fantastic, great value 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed here for a ski weekend and the hotel is very nice.The room was a bit small and the bathroom was very old but in general is nicely decorated and the place is comfortable.
Breakfast is great and dinner is really nice but it is a set menu.The views from the restaurant are amazing.
The location is very convenient to La princesse telecabine, 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ijbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Caprice des Neiges is a lovely, authentic French hotel. Great breakfasts and dinner in the dining room with panoramic views across the valley. Great food in the restaurant in the evenings.
Rooms were spotless and simple, no frills or fuss, but nicely decorated.
Friendly and attentive staff and owner- the minibus to and from the lifts gets you to the slopes quickly!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaktoubX171223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Have stayed here twice now, both times in family skiing groups. Once in Feb 2009 then again in Feb 2012.Thomas, the owner, is very pleasant, friendly and flexible and speaks excellent English.The hotel is a little way from the ski lift but Thomas or one of the staff, will take you there by mini bus and will collect you at the end of your day.It is possible to ski back to the hotel over the fields if there is plenty of snow; there is a boot/ski room under the hotel.The views are excellent; the food is way above average and highly creative from this chef who has worked in some top restaurants before he bought the hotel.The rooms are a little on the small side; some have been refurbished.Ask for a room at the front with a balcony; some also have baths rather than just showers.Small lounge area with TV & comfy seating; no entertainment after dinner.A walk to the town of Combloux will take you maybe a half hour, a short cut over fields is possible but not lit after dark. Would stay here again

Room Tip: choose a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have eaten there twice and were pleased both times. There is a definite effort at creativity from the chef's - every dish is well presented and flavorful. The servers have been attentive and thrive to please the customers.
Unrelated to the food: the view from the dining room is awesome, it dominates the Arve River valley and its framing ranges - Aravis and Aiguille de Warrens.
My parents will celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary next month; and Caprice des Neiges is the restaurant we have selected for our extended family festivities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank minusorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combloux hotels
0.9 mi away
Aux Ducs De Savoie
Aux Ducs De Savoie
#1 of 9 in Combloux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel restaurant LES GRANITS
1.5 mi away
Residence Goelia La Grande Cordee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Feug
Hotel le Feug
#8 of 9 in Combloux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Coin Savoyard
0.5 mi away
Au Coeur Des Pres
Au Coeur Des Pres
#3 of 9 in Combloux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprice des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprice des Neiges

Property: Caprice des Neiges
Address: 57 route de l Epine, 74920 Combloux, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Combloux
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caprice des Neiges 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 rooms well furnished for this 2 star hotel in Megeve Combloux, french ski resorts in the Alps. Nestled in a Savoyard hamlet, the Caprice des Neiges offers an exceptional view of the Aravis range, the Aiguille de Warens, the Fiz range and the Sallanches valley. In this sunny setting you will relax in the calm of our hotel. All our rooms have an ensuite bathroom, television, telephone. Some of our rooms have communicating doors for the comfort of large families. We are located only 1,5 km from the center of Combloux, a typical alpine village named "pearl of the Mont Blanc" by Victor Hugo. Only 4 km from Megève and 500 m from the " Evasion" ski area (420 km of slopes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Caprice des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Des Neiges Combloux, Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing