We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a totally fabulous find... A+++++”
Review of Aux Ducs De Savoie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aux Ducs De Savoie
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a totally fabulous find... A+++++”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I came upon this hotel when trying to book a ski trip to Megeve and was so impressed with the reviews I booked it for myself and my husband and our two friends. What a lucky find this was. We expected the food to be good from the reviews but it really was first class. The scrambled eggs in the morning are phenomenal and the evening menu is exceptional. The selection of deserts is out of this world as is the extremely tempting cheese board and the overall quality of the food combined with the great service is fabulous. The wine list was also extensive and not prohibitively expensive.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything you could want. We had no issues with the shower (which was attached to the wall over the bath) and there was a shower screen which was fine. The balcony and view of Mont Blanc were fabulous.

I have only marked the sleep quality as average but this relfects the fact that I have a back issue and struggle with harder beds. The hotel was peaceful and the beds would be fine for most normal people but the only beds in hotels I have ever found comfortable are in Sofitel hotels.

The staff really make this hotel. From the owner who is constantly supervising to make sure her guests are happy to David (the mad bar man who also doubles up in the dining room and wielding the vacuum cleaner when he is not reading Rebecca in english by Daphne Du Maurier), to the fabulous waiters and waitresses, the lovely man on reception and the owners two gorgeous labradors. Nothing is too much trouble. On the last day we had an evening flight back and the boys wanted to get their last days skiing in. The staff fussed around them making sure they had plenty of towels and access to the showers in the spa when they returned.

It does help if you have a smattering of basic french as this is a very french resort and hotel. We were the only english staying there but this definitely added to the charm of this magical hotel.

It would not suit those looking for a lively, party type place but really does offer peace, tranquility, amazing service and food and exceptional views.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    34
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
41
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford,
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

we arrived at 23.30 very tired (drive from geneva only 55 mins) and had to press the buzzer as door was locked, but within seconds the male receptionist was at the door helping us with our bags, no checkin, no credit card, just shown straight to the room and made to feel like family.

woke up next morn and views from rooms at front of hotel are fab! kids got the room directly opposite ours so easy to keep and eye on them. Breakfast amazing, but 17 Euros so should be. After breakfast went to checkin formally but told dont worry! Pay at the end ! Fabulous attitude. Brochet ski lift is 100m away, but classed as difficult button lift, so we drove to le cry (5 mins away) and skiied from there with kids. Later found out free shuttle from main road up to le cry so we could have kept car at hotel.

My wife had 4 course lunch in hotel and was treated like a VIP. sadly we did not have dinner in the hotel as the kids wanted pizza or crepes every night so we went top megeve and combloux (on foot).

after a hard days skiing, the hot tub and sauna are perfect, rooms are a little too warm for me, but ski gear driers very quickly.

loved the staff and the well behaved dogs, all of them could not do enough for us. Try to speak french if you can, we tried and learnt plat means fried (as in eggs) but reception do speak English to help you out when you get stuck.

Fab hotel, not cheap but worth every penny.

we will come back for Christmas and bring our black lab, as we know he would be made as welcome as we were.

well done Madame you run a very very good hotel. Merci Beacoup

Room Tip: front of hotel has the best views, someone said even rooms but this is not the case, some even and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godisgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a fantastic little hotel for a ski break, and just an hour from Geneva. It's a bit Fawlty Towers - but in a good way!

It certainly has every facility you could ask for. The bar is nice, the food is good (the waiter is bonkers), the rooms (ours anyway) big enough and warm enough, the staff lovely, the dog very friendly...I'm not sure what more one could ask for really.

We stayed as a couple, but discussed visiting again with teenage children. However, self catering won out as a cheaper option with the kids in tow! We would definitely recommend this hotel though and would visit again in a flash.

It's a bit of a trek to and from the village/town (especially back to the hotel, because it is uphill), but certainly do-able, even carrying skis and boots. However, I'd advise driving down to hire skis - the only reason we didn't was that we were lucky to get a parking space in the hotel car park and we didn't want to lose it.

It's almost ski in-ski out - in as much as you can get in and out with your skis on, across the (flatish) field at the back of the hotel, but you don't step onto a piste and then later simply bomb back to the door and step off them. If you compare it to the best ski in-ski out accommodation it falls a tiny bit short...but if you compare it to trudging along the road - carrying your skis - to a lift, catching a bus, or driving and finding somewhere to park, it's bliss.

Oh, and Combloux is a lovely place to ski...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123member123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was a very friendly hotel with caring hosts. The views from the lounge area were wonderful. The food was of good standard, though on the night we had dinner they were a bit overun and could have done with a few more wait staff. The ambience of the hotel was wonderful, with amazing views of mont blanc.
The rooms were adequate, although the beds weren't extremely comfortable. My only other negatives were that there was no bar fridge in the room and no shower hook in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a very warm and cosy chalet-style hotel. The furnishings in the communal areas are simply delightful....timber panelling, wheelbarrows of pine cones, vintage posters, lovely traditional Christmas decorations and comfortable lounge with magnificent views.
The staff are all very polite and helpful.
I do believe though that the beds and bathroom setup let the hotel down a bit. The double bed was very small...and not particularly comfortable, while the bathroom didn't have a bracket allowing the shower head to be fixed to the wall. Washing ones' hair was particularly tricky. We also found a bar fridge to be lacking in the room..fortunately the frosty outdoor temps meant we only had to leave any perishable items outside on the balcony to keep them fresh. This is obviously a considered omission as the hotel provides both half and full board options.....at considerable expense! The heating in the hotel was centrally-controlled which was frustrating as we found ourselves at night feeling at times too hot and at times too cold but unable to do anything about it . I think for the price (215€ per night) these things need to be addressed.
The Christmas dinner we had, on the 24th evening, was very good but unfortunately the waitstaff struggled to deliver the numerous courses promptly, and the entire service took much longer than it should have, despite us being amongst the first to arrive at 19h30.
Walking along the route du Bouchet to reach the skibus stop is a little perilous...as there are no pavements and drivers tend to speed rather carelessly, but we managed to make our way up to La Cry every day and both my husband and daughter were delighted to be able to take their very first ski lessons...
All in all a successful Christmas break...would recommend if the beds were upgraded and the rates a little less steep.

Room Tip: Try to get a Mont Blanc facing room at front of hotel...for which you will need to book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiranpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed at "Aux Ducs de Savoie" on January 4th for one night. The location of the hotel is excellent, a few kilometers away from Megève and a few kilometers away from the first ski slopes (I think the closest lift is called "La cry"). You can drive there and park you car on the dedicated area or use the shuttle. I guess it stops not that far from the hotel but I didn't try.

The hotel offers an amazing view on the Montblanc if your room is on the right side (see the picture I took). We really enjoyed the view from our room, especially on the first day when the sun was shining.

I paid 215 euro for the night plus 2x 17 euros for the breakfasts as they are not included in the room price, which I find a bit weird for a 4-star hotel. The service is good but not excellent. I have the feeling the room is slightly overpriced as: It doesn't feature a mini-bar, there were no glasses in the bathroom and there was no hook on the wall in the shower. Therefore, we had to hold it while having a shower. Not really practical and not that nice for the price. I did not try the outdoor swimming pool that was frozen ;) but I'm sure it must be amazing in summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed there five terrific days that will be in our memories for ever. We decided to go next year with our grand children. The hotel is half board that you can choose either lunch or dinner. But by judging from the dinner crowd I think most of the guests prefer dinner. The food is of fantastic quality, abundant with a desert table that will crush the will of any person on a diet. On top of everything the X/mass dinner was included in the price with a real French X/mass menu. The family that keep the hotel are not just charming they give the maximum to make your stay pleasant. As they all are born in the vicinity they have all the information that most concierges don't have a clue. Ask them anything. The staff is in the same parallel. The rooms are not very large, but they have everything that is necessary. The bar is full, from eau de vie to champagne and decent coffee. (Extremely important in France.) From the even numbered rooms you can see the Mont Blanc (if you catch the full moon on a clear day, during the night the view is undescribable ) even from your bed when you are laying down. And all the snow that you can handle. Combloux is only four klms. from Megeve that all the fun is. But parking in Megeve is equal to go into the inferno of Dante. If you are going to be in the vicinity of Megeve five days or more I strongly advice you to reserve a place in the parking that is only for reservation for the week. It is steep, 200$ a week, but it is worth it, you can get frustrated after five minutes searching for a spot. During the holidays there are many events in Megeve that you should not miss. ( PARKING AVEC ABONEMENT, You will see it getting into Megeve on your right hand side. ) The altitude restaurants should not be missed. If you don't ski you can have day trips to Chamonix and Courmayeur (Italy, where everything is at least 30% cheaper than Megeve, if you want to buy cashmere for instance. The Mont Blanc tunnel costs 50$ return.)
The food everywhere in France is good, cheese is fantastic. Try the raclette with your friends or family, it is quite fun.

Room Tip: he even numbered rooms has the view of the valley and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combloux
0.9 mi away
Caprice des Neiges
Caprice des Neiges
#6 of 9 in Combloux
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Au Coeur Des Pres
Au Coeur Des Pres
#4 of 9 in Combloux
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Goelia La Grande Cordee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel restaurant LES GRANITS
2.2 mi away
Hotel Les Roches & Spa
0.9 mi away
Les Aravis
Les Aravis
#7 of 9 in Combloux
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aux Ducs De Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Ducs De Savoie

Property: Aux Ducs De Savoie
Address: 253 route du Bouchet, 74920 Combloux, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Combloux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aux Ducs De Savoie 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aux Ducs De Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aux Ducs De Savoie Combloux, Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing