We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you want service”
Review of Domaine de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domaine de Divonne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had several colleagues staying here last week for meetings. Rooms were nice, clean and quiet but everything else was horrible. They ran out of breakfast each morning, told us just to come earlier next time. Shuttle was booked but driver decided to go home early instead of picking us up, restaurant took our reservation for large group at 1930 but didn't open until 20h. When we showed up they asked us just to wait 30-45 min. Etc, etc, etc. Too bad since hotel has nice interior and Divonne is pretty french village.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smcollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
First of all, please accept our apologies. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet the expectations.
Regarding the pick-up service that we propose, we are pleased to inform you that we have fixed our mistakes and have value-added our quality service.
Concerning the bad experiences you had within our restaurants due to the legal opening time at the Casino we have improved our website description and from now all restaurant's reservation are confirmed by a written form with the schedule.
Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience and we would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de Divonne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

This hotel is an ancient structure with a lot of charm... The room is clean and spacious. the hotel is directly connected with a nice casino... There isen't good jim... The food is good and the price also. i didn't see the city. I think that in summer this hotel is better. I would give an advice: If you came with train in geneve dont take a taxy to go in divonne les bains, It is extremely overpriced service...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slymod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at Domaine de Divonne on a business trip for 3 nights. It's a very quaint and sumptuous hotel that is heavily art deco in style. My room was spacious and had a beautiful view out to Mont Blanc - just a shame it was too cold to enjoy the balcony when I went! The food is delicious - especially the dessert buffet - it's just to die for! There's lots to the hotel with a casino that has its own bar and restaurant, a bar within the hotel and then a couple of different restaurants. It's the perfect place for a quiet retreat from everything (there's a pool, small spa and golf course on-site).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here as part of business group. The hotel is probably the largest in the area. Walking distance to the town center and a SuperMarche for all grocery needs.
The room and bed were just comfortable. The bathroom shower never could get right mix of cold-hot. Shower seemed to be either scorching or freezing despite even the minutest adjustment.
Didn't use the restaurants, bar or casino. The best thing was the free internet.
Taxi fare to Geneva ranged between 50-70 euros.
What stands out is just plain unfriendly customer service of the front desk staff. Not rude but dismissive and abrasive. I agree with the last 2 reviwes they have a problem with English speakers and they need to learn to be friendly. Nothing wrong with a smile now and then.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This Hotel is bedevilled by (mostly) completely incompetent staff and even more incompetent management. A culture in which leaving the problem for someone else to sort, abounds. This is reflected in many ways, from appalling levels of dining room service to decor upkeep levels. All attempts to take matters up with the Manager were refused. He simply did not turn up to a pre-arranged meeting, advising that he was (after all) too busy to see guests with complaints. A visibly nervous and ineffectual Reservations Manager was deputed, instead. The littany of problems continued throughout our 5 day stay, culminating in the bill being incorrectly calculated. All this is a great shame, because this could be a great Spa Hotel - all that is needed is a proper maintenance programme and a complete change of staff and management, starting at the very top.

Room Tip: Don't accept the quoted rate. Haggle - starting with a derisory offer. But remember - there is...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonandshul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great views walking distance to town. Need to improve customer service and overall customer first attitude. The distaste for Americans is mildy noticeable, but is there with some staff. Need to work on that a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Lovely Art Deco hotel in a pristine little French spa town. Service and accommodation were fine. Food was only average and a real disconnect with the glamour of the hotel. The Terrasse restaurant was over-priced (as opposed to expensive) with indifferent service, even by French standards. The village is cute for an afternoon but that's about it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InClerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Divona
Hotel Le Divona
#7 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divonne-les-Bains
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divon...
#10 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
147 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Mainaz Hotel Restaurant & Resort
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Divonne

Address: Avenue des Thermes, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range: £110 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Domaine De Divonne Les Bains
Domaine De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing