We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary French Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine de Divonne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Contemporary French Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed for 1 night on business (all 5 hrs of it due to late flights) but was surprised at contemporary upmarket feel. Large hotel with spacious rooms although bed was a little soft! Room had a balcony overlooking leafy area in front of hotel - some don't so specify if on an extended stay. Traditional continental breakfast good with some hot options. Handy location only about 20mins from Geneva airport with easy acces to motorway network.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your good comments about your last stay in our establishment.

Your goal is to satisfy all expectations you may have.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    248
    110
    48
    21
See reviews for
60
392
8
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed for couple of nights and I have to admit I love breakfast at Domaine :) Otherwise the room was spacious enough with a huge bed and nice bathroom with everything lady needs. The only thing I found not satisfying was the usual confusion of hotel staff when it came to shuttle booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

First of all we want to thank you to having taken the time to share your opinion about your last stay in our etablishment.
We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and the room as there are the more important facilities during a stay.

Regarding the lack of organization for the shuttle service please be sure we will fix the problem by providing more information to our guest.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again in order to show you our improvment.

We stay at your disposal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My style is contemporary hotels and I was always complaining for the old style French thick wood decorated hotels. When I arrived at Domaine de Divonne, 3 years ago, for the first time, I was quite sure that this would not be my favorite hotel although I was impressed by the beauty of the village and the hotel's surroundings. The reception experience was at a high level - not so common at the other hotels of Divonne - and finally I got my room key. The two tiny elevetors would move me upstairs and a long corridor with red leather-covered doors was in front of me. I open the door and I tendetively....smile! The room is big! Of course it is old style decorated with a lot of wood but.... there is a feeling. There is definately a warm feeling of comfort. After my 5th stay at this hotel this feeling is even stronger. Actualy I feel like coming back home.
In more details the rooms are big and facing either Mont Blanc or the trees around the hotel. The location is perfect in the middle of a huge garden with 3 buildings. One of them is the casino. There are a few nice restaurants around - my favorite is Karishma lounge- at walking distance. The food in the hotel is not my best and the breakfast is quite poor but during hot weather the breakfast yard is one of a kind.
I do recommend this hotel as a very quiet, home feeling place in a marvelous village like Divonne.

Room Tip: Ask for Mont Blanc view and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimitrisCoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear sir,

We thank you for your comment and really happy to know you feel at home when returning at Domaine de Divonne.
It is always gratefull to full fill the customer's desires and respond to the needs.

We hope to see you soon.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Geneva is fearsome expensive for hotels. Staying a few miles out in a casino complex can be better value. We were upgraded to a pleasant room with views over Lac Lecan. The room itself was plenty big enough. The bed (2 queens together - ooh matron!) was huge but did suffer from the crack down the middle syndrome. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed (no bad thing) and the pool and sauna were average to OK. Dinner was taken at the Pavilion du Golf which was a 10 minute strole along a path which had seen better days (cracked tarmac and no night lighting). The meal itself was average to expensive for what it was.
So, this is not a cosy cute personal little hide away bistro pension, but a huge corporate complex with some buildings beginning to fade past their glory. It scores 2/3 - fluffy white bathrobe and white slippers, but no choccy on the pillow or "bon nuit" towel on the floor!

Room Tip: South side, so overlooking Lac Lecan and Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
First of all, please accept our apologies. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet the expectations.
Regarding the Diner at Pavillon du Golf we will promote our shuttle service to avoid the access by foot. This service is available at any time but need to be asked at the concierge desk.
We are happy to notice that the size of room is quite enough for you and be sure that we will fix the trouble create by the Italian Beds (2 beds together). We will increase the joinement betwwen those two beds.

We will be very pleased to welcome you another time to see the improvement.

We stay at your disposal,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Lovely art deco art nouveau hotel very close to Geneva. All original features - like being in a 1930s time warp. Nice staff, not overwhelming, and service could be a bit smarter. We've stayed three times now because we love the Geneva region. We like the good-sized and well equipped rooms at Domaine, though we've always had the south facing rooms which I think are bigger/better.
Breakfast expensive but there are several cafes within an easy stroll of the hotel. Several restaurants nearby are quite lively for drinks/dinner too.
We tried the Casino restaurant once - never again. Bland international menu and bland international ambience which is odd when the rest of the Domaine is so atmospheric.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are happy to know that the atmosphere and the service meet your expectations.

Concerning the bad experiences you had within our restaurants, we have brought the improvements that where needed.

Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience and refurbishment projects should be starting next year.
We would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel is impressive by all means but it shows its age especially in the service. The rooms are small, furniture is rather dated but mainly room service is poor. I ordered a coffee which came without any cookies with it (rare for such hotels) , was spilled and tasted terrible.

The spa treatments are good but the spa is very small

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINA_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
First of all, please accept our apologies. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet the expectations.
Concerning the bad experiences you had with your coffee ordered from the room service, we have brought the improvements that where needed.
We would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneve
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Incredibely nice hotel from the 19th century.

The rooms may have different decorations (i'm staying often) but always with the same cosy English style. It is clean and quiet wit view on the garden or the park.

The breakfast is wonderfull especially if you can take it outside!

We have also organized meetings and celebrations and have never been disappointed by the quality if the food and the service!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frgad3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear madam or Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that our etablishment meet your expactations from such a long time.
We take the opportunity to thank you for your confidence and hope to welcome you many times in the next months.

We stay at your disposal,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Mainaz
Hotel La Mainaz
#1 of 4 in Gex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Divona
Hotel Le Divona
#7 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Divonne

Property: Domaine de Divonne
Address: Avenue des Thermes, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Domaine De Divonne Les Bains
Domaine De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing