We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and casino”
Review of Domaine de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domaine de Divonne
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Impressive looking building from the outside, I found the reception staff prompt, friendly and efficient. The bedroom and bathroom were a good size by European standards and more importantly for me, the hotel has a unique feel to it, it isn't a manufactured run-of-the-mill business hotel. Plenty of choice for dining opportunities, and attached to a casino if you are bored in the evening or an insomniac. Quirky elevators. More expensive than some places, but it is good quality, and in Switzerland - which is expensive to start with. My TomTom sat nav couldn't find it using the POI function (it took me to a different location), it needed the street address.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Room Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir

First of all we want to thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion about your last business trip.

We are pleased to learn that this stay meets your expectations in terms of quality and service.

Regarding the location due to the fact that we are so close from Switzerland, some errors could occurs with GPS signals.

We will be pleased to welcome you for maybe a leisure trip.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The resort is a quint-essential Art Deco hotel, done to perfection. The room was quite spacious for Europe, the bathroom had a large bath and great shower. The breakfast in the hotel was fantastic, and was second only to the lamb and Bordeaux in the restaurant. Quiet location, great service and great value for money!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion about your last stay in our etablishment.

We are very happy with your good review and will forward it to all the services concerned.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for a leisure stay.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here as a family for 2 days and 1 night on New Year's day to have a relaxing night and hope for a spa and massage.
The hotel is old but with a character - not my "cup of tea". It is a 4 star hotel - It is very clean and I've been to hotels where the carpets are smelly.

The rooms are comfortable, good size, bathrooms are clean with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel you would expect.

Breakfast is a bit of a disappointment. I am a bit confused because we had brunch here a year ago and it was super.

The spa does not help. It is way too small. You have to queue for the shower, the sauna was not working and hammam can only sit 6. Whirlpool another 6. Divonne-les-Bains is a spa town and have been to the town's spa facilities. We were disappointted with the spa facilities. If half of the hotel would go down and use this, there will be hot heads.

The dinner service (restaurant near the reception) is delayed, we came at 1930 and finished at 1020 for a 3 course meal. There were only a few of us (about 7-8 tables) and we had to call for the waiter's attention for us to get our meal. The meal was good but the service was slow.

The WIFI is free and fast.

Overall, I had a mixed experience in this hotel. It is clean and though decor is old not my style but I think has character. We slept well but the spa facilities is very poor. The dinner became average because of the service. Such a pity.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anditso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for your review.

First of all, please accept our apologies. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Concerning the bad experiences you had within our restaurants, we have brought the improvements that where needed. Please note that this restaurant is a new one and needs to find its "good" organization. We will certainly investigate your comments with our team managers and ensure that your experience is not repeated.

Regarding the Spa facilities we are working on a plan to develop it without changing the atmosfear of the Domaine. We totally agree with the fact that in winter due to the closed outside swimming pool this area is a little bit to small when hotel is full. Please note that we will do our best to fix this trouble.

We will be very pleased to welcome you during the summer to show you another atmosfear.

We stay at your disposal,

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I went there with a few colleagues for a retreat. 20 minutes from Geneva and the airport, easy parking, walking distance from the Main Street of Divonne with a few restaurant and bars.

They upgraded me in a nice corner room. Really old fashion but all what you need and large. One of my colleague was in a much smaller room. Nice balcony nice view. Good internet(free).

Good breakfast and the staff and the ambiance at the bar in the evening was what you expect for a traditional hotel. Direct access to the casino.

Our small meeting room (5 participants) was really good, all what you need for a good retreat and perfect coffee breaks ( even if day 2 we have called to have the tea delivered)

I would advice to take an upgraded room for the size and the view.

Room Tip: Take a bigger room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyntotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion about your last stay in our etablishment.

We will be very pleased towelcome you another time for maybe a leisure trip around Geneva lake.

We stay at your disposal,

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights for business purposes.

Location of the hotel: 20 minutes driving from Geneva airport, so that's great!

Hotel: it has character, that is sure, but still it did not impress me much.

Room: clean, spacious, but I found the furniture a bit outdated.

Wifi: free & fast, which is great for business purposes.

Reception: fast checkin/checkout, English speaking without problems.

Breakfast: for the price paid one would expect a lavish breakfast. It was just ok...

Surroundings: are very nice! If you have the time to walk around, do it.

Wellness facilities: did not get to try them, but it was smelling like swimming pool everytime I was taking the elevator...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinderici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We do thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion about your last stay in our etablishment.

We are very happy to notice that facilities and service have met your expectations.

Regarding the smel for the wellness center we are sorry about that. This happens sometimes when the cleaning system is working (located under the lift).

We will be very pleased to welcome you for a new business journey or a leisure one.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We went there with as a group of 5 friends, mainly to have a weekend break, enjoy the spa, and relax. The hotel definitely has a character, with corridors opening into other buildings, vintage decorum, display of antique games, slot machines, art-deco fursnishings, statues... The breakfast buffet and the salon were excellent. We had a long breakfast in total bliss. Even though it was full of people, the noise levels were excellently low. It must be the furnishing. We also ate at the 4 Seasons Restaurant inside the casino and I will provide a review for that separately. The room was also beautiful with fabric walls and ceiling.

The front desk personnel have to be commended for their helpfullness and pleasant attitude.

All good things aside, the spa was a total disappointment. For a hotel with 335 rooms, it was unacceptably small. The hammam could sit 8 people, the jacuzzi was full with 7 women, the sauna could hold about 6 people. If it weren't a Saturday afternoon, it could have been tolerable but that day, it simply was unbearable. Maybe the hotel thinks its clients would go to the city spa which I heard was a 5 minute walk. Then it should simply make arrangements and provide clients with such an option. Because the main purpose of our stay was the spa, it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comment.

We do appreciate your feed back regarding the facilities and the service. Be sure that your review will be transfer to every services concerned.

Regarding the Wellness center, you are right that it is a little bit small for 133 rooms. That's why we are thinking about the best way to increase the siez of this area which is quite difficult with historic buildings.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for another stay maybe on the period less busy.

We stay at your disposal,

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have stayed here a few times when in the area and it is cozy and comfortable rooms. The hotel has a grand old-fashioned air and it has a lovely garden. Not all have AC unfortunately though at least there is a fan. The gym is not great however. It's quite old and run down and in need of a face lift. The restaurant have good food for the most part and if you choose room service it's quite fast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comment and your confidence regarding the number of stay in our etablishment during the last months.

Be sure that we are thinking about a refurbishment of the fitness room and we will be very pleased to announce it as soon as possible.

Regarding the rooms without AC, there is only 3 comfort one. Please contact me for your next stay in order to discover another typ of rooms, by example Superior room which all have AC.

Istay at your disposal,

Thomas Berbain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#3 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#2 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Divona
Hotel Le Divona
#6 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Mainaz Hotel Restaurant & Resort
0.3 mi away
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divonne-les-Bains
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divon...
#9 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#4 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Divonne

Address: Avenue des Thermes, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range: £109 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Domaine De Divonne Les Bains
Domaine De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing