We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistencies, but still good”
Review of Domaine de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domaine de Divonne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
428 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Inconsistencies, but still good”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Bling-bling Divonne-les-Baines of the 1980s and 1990s has been on the decline for the past 15 years. And so now has, unfortunately, the Grand Hotel. Down to a four star establishment with its once-Michelin rated restaurant Les Terrasses closed for at least over a year, this year we found that the luncheon terrace at the swimming pool had also been closed, and that the Pavillion du Golf stopped serving dinner - only open for lunch from 12 to 16:00 hrs.

The hotel maintains the allure of the grand old lady of Divonne, but it is a lady in need of a facelift. The public parts are well kept, corridors to the rooms can do with renovation, and the rooms themselves: clean but with wear and tear.

Service is inconsistent. Most of the times excellent (breakfast, housekeeping, reception desk), sometimes disastrous (service in the restaurant Le Président was so poor it reminded us of the British comedy series Fawlty Towers ... the hotel management should realize it cannot rely on trainees alone to run a restaurant).

The hotel is very child friendly, with a great pool (perhaps the rim of sunbathing oïl along the water line could be removed more frequently ...), lovely grounds and a good location.

We can only hope improvements are on the horizon and that further steps backward can be avoided. For families with children, its special rates continue to be good value for money.

Room Tip: In previous years we had rooms with a balcony (316-317), because of late booking this year we ended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Room's Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion on your last family stay in our etablishment.

We are pleased to learn that the facilities and most of our services have the level to meet your expectations.
However we are sorry to have left you those kind of feelings regarding some restaurant's services. We totally agree regarding the fact that trainee can not stay alone and be sure we have fixed it with the manager in charge.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for another stay to let you a better feeling.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    254
    115
    48
    21
See reviews for
62
404
9
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I brought our two young children to stay at the hotel for 12 nights. An error by the booking website I use meant we were first assigned a room which could not accommodate a temporary bed for the older child. Thomas was professional, helpful, pleasant and energetic in working to solve our needs immediately - all hotel staff were pleasant, professional and courteous to all of our family throughout. Our kids love this hotel, and we would thoroughly recommend it to all prospective guests - singles, couples, groups and families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Room's Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir,

It was a great pleasure to welcome your family during this summer period.

We are very pleased to learn that our services have met your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for another stay and hope you will have more leisure time to enjoy our facilities as your family did.

We stay at your disposal,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The service is appalling and the hotel is extremely understaffed. We left our rooms at 10 am and returned at 6pm to find the rooms uncleaned. When we informed reception, they came back to us to say that the staff would see to it once they finished eating! By 8 pm the rooms were still uncleaned and only the threat of a bad review on Trip Advisor finally got the cleaner in. On the days when the rooms were "cleaned" firstly dirty bed linen was left in the rooms and on one occasion a dirty ashtray from the balcony was left on one of the armchairs by the cleaners which my husband then proceeded to sit on!!! On other days there were no towels in the rooms and despite two phone calls to housekeeping still no towels an hour later. Eventually, my husband walked up and down the corridors looking for a housekeeper's trolley to pilfer some towels off as neither us nor the children could shower without the towels and the breakfast buffet was going to close if we didn't shower and and get downstairs immediately. When after four days of putting up with this we eventually asked to see a manager we were informed that no manager was available " and perhaps we might be able to speak to someone tomorrow" ! I have stayed in this hotel before and although it was not by any means great it was never this awful! It has become very run down with torn bed sheets, stained carpets and yellowing towels. My advice is that it should be avoided like the plague! The management a clearly too stingy to hire extra staff or to invest in upgrading the premises and you'd be better off staying in a charming B&B! This is a real shame as the building itself is very charming but with poor service and low hygiene it really is not worth it at all.

Room Tip: Do not choose the standard comfort rooms. They are coffin-sized. We couldn't unpacked as the clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Room's Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all we want to thank you for your review which will serve us to improve our services.

We are really sorry to learn the feelings you had about your last stay.

Regarding the service housekeeping we do have make the adjustment. the person in charge of your room has been advertised for the lack of serious. But please note that when you hang on the door the sign "Do not disturd" (made from the morming to your return to the room) we can not proceed at the cleaning as our procedure is to avoid any trouble by entering in the room. This procedure explains why we hd not been able to make the service. We also have spoken with the person in charge of the towels and linen to avoid any other lack of quantity.

Regarding your asking to talk to a manager we are very surprised as there is always a manager on duty even during the week end. By example my office is just behind the reception desk so I can be contacted constantly. But maybe you asked it during the night when I shall agree the managers are not on site.

We will be very pleased to welcome you another time to proove you that we have made the adjustments.

We stay at your disposal,

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a wedding reception and I was impressed by the authentic charm it exudes. From the outside, the building does need a good lick of paint and as for the inside, if you are into modern, sleek designs, this is never going to be your thing. But if you enjoy vintage features and bold colours, this is the place for you. The Art Deco decor is so beautifully preserved I wouldn't be surprised to see this hotel feature in a Poirot episode! Our room was very big with a balcony overlooking the pool, had lovely period furniture and wall features, and a nice luxury bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices including hash brown, sausage and bacon. I would definitely love to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aledwige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Room's Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your excellent review and we are very happy to learn that the atmosfear, the style and the facilities of the Domaine havec met your expectations.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for another stay or wedding.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is in need of updating but you can see that it was once a very smart hotel.
It is set in nice grounds.
If you are on the upper floors the views are great.
The check-in and check-out are very slow.
Breakfast is nice .
Walking distance to the town.
Good restaurant called Le Div ( not connected) taking the stairs near the pool to get into town, has a great lunch offer .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Rooms Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your review and are pleased to learn that the atmosfear and the facilities have been appreciated.

Regarding the check in and check out procedure we will updated them in order to accelerate the processus.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for another stay.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Let me start by saying we got a free upgrade to a superior room. This room is bigger then the comfort room. So it is very pleasant when that happens.
We went with our dog. The rooms wasn't new new. There is a carpet on the floor, and it has some stains. It thought that the reason that we got the room was, because we had our dog and the room isn't the most new one. (Room 112). What I appreciated very much was, that they put up a welcome for the dog and us.
You can hear you room neighbors.
But it ends there. I can't say anything 'bad', but it is was the feeling. The dog couldn't accompanie us to the breakfast, although it was outside, but the hotel cat could stroll freely. The cat is actually very cute, but my dog is also very cute.
Breakfast wasn't my cup of tea. Sometimes you try so hard to give a certain 'cachet' to your breakfast that it backfires. It had everything, I wasn't of fan of the bread.
Except for the 2 people who we actually had a nice conversation with at reception, the rest of staff doesn't really acknowledge your existence. They hardly look at you and so it is hard to get your morning coffee. Like every hotel, prices aren't the cheapest. We ate in the first evening. I took a Ceaser salad, which was an entree (€24) but the chicken was way too dry.
I felt tolerated in the hotel, but not welcome.
The hotel itself is very nice looking in it's classic style. Don't look too close because then you can see the little things that should be fixed.
The hammam, sauna, whirlpool is nog big, but very cozy. The hammam didn't work, but the sauna and whirlpool where very relaxing. I think a maximum of 6 ppl is fitted in there to keep it relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Rooms Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your review.

We are very surprised to learn that you haven't felt welcomed when you visited us. Our purpose is too make customer confortable and satisfied.

We are very sorry about it, please accept our apologies. We do have shared this comment to our staff in order to correct this feeling.

Regarding the room and facilities we are pleased to learn that they suit to you. Please note that the hammam and the wellness center will be updated on the first week of september.

Regarding restaurant and breakfast we will correct our mistakes and hope we will welcome you another stay to see them.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We found a great deal on the web with a reduction of 66% for 2 nights in a De Luxe room with breakfast included and one 3-course dinner. Friendly and efficient reception staff. Very spacious room with a lounge area, small balcony with a view on the garden and the Alps in the distance. Well appointed breakfast room with the possibilty to sit outside in the garden in fine weather. Breakfast itself was excellent with hot and cold buffet and friendly service. We also had access to the spa area but luckily there was only one person in there when we went as the jacuzzi could only cater for 4 persons and the Turkish bath could hold 6 person at the most - very small for a hotel with over 100 rooms! The only other negative point was a bad smell emanating from the bathroom floor overflow drain that we managed to containg to some extent by placing the waste-paper bin over it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainedeDivonne, Rooms Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your kind feed back and are happy to learn that our facilities, services and smiles have met your expectation.

Regarding the smell in the bathroom, this the consequence of the high temperature of the last day. Our housekkeping service has to control it because to avoid it we just need to put water on the drain. Please accept our apologies for this lack of control.

We will be very happy to welcome you for another stay in our beautifull country.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Mainaz
Hotel La Mainaz
#1 of 4 in Gex
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#6 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Divonne

Property: Domaine de Divonne
Address: Avenue des Thermes, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Domaine De Divonne Les Bains
Domaine De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing