We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de Divonne
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
santa barbara ca
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had to pick someone up at Geneva Airport and looked for hotels near GVA and found this jewel of a CHateau de divonne. Great place. Quiet. Beautiful. Peaceful. Professionally run. Friendly staff, and an excellent retaurant too. 10 out of ten!

Room Tip: All rooms look nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peternoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    78
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
34
124
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

It is something basic and not much to ask, for hotels to warn guests of any event that will restrict access to their facilities.

I arrived to find a dinner event at the hotel. This event for some reason had taken 2 of the hotel salons. The other one available could not be called a salon as not only was non inviting but had only a few chairs to sit. I traveled a day in advance to enjoy peace and quiet and be able to read peacefully in any of the salons, instead I had to retreat to my room.

Had I known I would have stayed home, or would have gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moralla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The hotel is lovely as you drive up and the reception area is welcoming. I had a small room and very dated bathroom. The conference room in the cellar was a bit smelly and very cold. The evening meal was good and breakfast nice and I really wanted to like this hotel. I didn't.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed for 3 days of business meetings staying overnight with the meeting room package. Absolutely stunning views and the chateau is beautiful in an old world charming kind of way. Some of the inside is in need of a bit of modernising and it did feel a bit twee but I quite liked that. The outside terrace where you can sit and have a drink overlooking Mont Blanc is very special. I found the location useful with it being a short ride from Geneva Airport and good value for money compared to the higher prices of meeting packages in Geneva. I was happy with my spacious room and nice touches of chocolates etc left, however some colleagues weren't very happy that they didn't have a window. So I would look out for this. The large meeting room we hired was down in the cellar it was atmospheric and full of character. It had small windows so a little dark when in there for a few days but there are other rooms you can hire upstairs. The bar is good as the night porter happily kept it open till the early hours. On balance we were quite a demanding lot but we did need the flexibility for our meetings so the staff didn't always see eye to eye with us. We were in fact met with quite a bit attitude at times, which I didn’t expect with how much business we were bringing. Although they probably required a lot more notice for things due to French employee/work rules and some of the staff were great but some others not so. It's ok for having very formal meetings if you don't require flexibility and everything is set in stone or if you’re passing through and fancy a romantic break, in that respect having also stayed elsewhere in the area. I'd say the Chateau is probably the best place to stay in Divonne.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelliemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have stayed many times on business. I like the feeling of seclusion and getting away from the big hotels. The rooms tend to be a good size and and always quiet and comfortable. The food is very nice but I cant comment on the prices as it alwasy goes on the company credit card! Service is good too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Responsable Réservations at Chateau de Divonne, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Madam, Sir,

We wanted to thank you for your feedback regarding you many stays at Château de Divonne.
We are very happy to see that our clients realize our chance to have such position close to Geneva.
We looking forward to welcom you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferney-Voltaire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We started our meal at the Chateau de Divonne with champagne. My husband's glass of Brut was fine, but my Rosé was obviously flat. I complained and the glass was replaced with a fresh one, but at €18 a glass I shouldn't have had to ask.

As for our food, what we had didn't taste bad, it only looked bad. My langoustine ravioli was flavorful but looked like a bowl of mud. It was the worst dressed plate I've ever had in France. A sad sprig of green parsley couldn't help that overwhelming brown. My husband's lobster medallions, which should have had pride of place, were buried under lettuce leaves.

Next plates - again, good taste - horrible presentation. My husband's veal and eggplant purée was meat swimming in a beige mush-like sea (and mush is a nice comparison). My dorade with mushroom risotto was yet another monochromatic study in brown.

They redeemed themselves somewhat with the desserts. My Grand Marnier souffle was excellent, my husband's chocolate fondant equally so, and their presentation was better.

For a restaurant in this price range how the food is presented is as important as how it tastes. I can't say this was the worst tasting meal I've ever had, but I have to say it was the least attractive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed there for 1 night and also had dinner with clients. It sells itself as a bit of old fashioned luxury, but in my view it was a bit more old fashioned and a bit less luxury. I realise you cant have it all, but I have stayed in plenty of old placed that also have a modern touch tastefully done. This place needs modernising and thats a fact.

The dinner was really good quality and you get a fantastic view over the lake from the dining room. The night porter kept the bar open until the early hours as we were residents and that is always a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrb72_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.3 mi away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Mainaz
Hotel La Mainaz
#1 of 4 in Gex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#6 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Divonne

Property: Chateau de Divonne
Address: 115 rue des Bains | pres de Geneve, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant XVIIIth century castle is 15 kilometers from Geneva, between Lake Geneva and the Jura, close to the casino, golf and fitness center. This hotel, relaxing and gastronomic stage in the heart of a park, enchant nature lovers with its breathtaking panorama of the Mont Blanc and Lake Geneva. In the dining room of the Chateau de Divonne, you will enjoy the special atmosphere of a beautiful family home converted into a restaurant. Authentic floors, fresco by Jean Debaub representing the banks dreamed of Lake Divonne in the romantic style, family portraits, soft colors combine to create a rare setting near Geneva. The dining room "Duchess Vendôme" is located on the ground floor, windows provide light and stunning views of the mountains. From the first lovely days, the terrace facing Mont Blanc chain is very appreciated for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Prestigia and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Le Chateau De Divonne Hotel
Chateau De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing