We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and base.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Divonne
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely location and base.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Chateau which is very attractive and exceptionally well located with great views of Mont Blanc. The room (31) was spacious and functional-I thought it rather dated and tired but my wife liked the décor as being "chateau-esque". We ate twice at the hotel choosing the menu degustation on the first night which was not very subtle and overall much too heavy. We subsequently had two dishes from the a la carte menu which was very good. On both occasions we dined on the Terrace which is delightful with good service.
Divonne itself is a small but attractive town and worth exploring. We spent an excellent day in Annecy-about 50 minutes from Divonne-and also a day in Lausanne and a day split between Nyon and Yvoire all of which are nearby worth a visit. You really need a car and you will find many crossings between Switzerland (we had to buy a sticker for CHF 40 in order to drive on Swiss motorways).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRM2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    78
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
34
124
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed one night in a large Deluxe room with the view on Leman lake and the mountains. The place is unique, with the feeling to be at home and quiet out of the cities. The room was very large and beautilful, the bed width was impressive. We enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool and the garden before the dinner. The dinner was excellent though it was a pity to mix the fera within potatoes. The breakfast was a little bit deceiving though the orange juice was very good (pure fruit juice) and the service at the breakfast was not consistent with the quality of the service at the reception: no sugar on the table (we had to ask for it), no spoons, not enough water in the tea pot and a poor defensive answer from the waitress, saying at first "no" or "this is the norm" before meeting the demand without any smile.
As this attitude seems to be related to one person only, it will not change our overall positive opinion on this very nice place.

Room Tip: We had the large corner room number 20, very well located with the shade of a tree as it was very ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I ended up here by mistake. The air traffic controllers in France went on strike and so I took a train from France to Geneva in order to get a flight home from Switzerland. All the airport hotels in Geneva were full due to a UN conference, and so I ended up in the Chateau de Divonne.

The place was great. It's just as advertised. It's an old Chateau, with old rooms and terrific service.

I arrived late, after the kitchen had closed. The staff were good enough to raid the kitchen and pull together a cheese platter. My only quibble here is that I had called from Geneva before getting in my cab to the Chateau to ask if they'd have food available when I arrived, and they'd told me that it would be no problem to sort out a sandwich or salad. A cheese platter isn't a great dinner. But it did the job.

Breakfast was terrific. They have a beautiful dining area, with terrific views. And if the weather is good they'll set up tables outside.

The location really depends on what you're looking for. It was remote for me, because I had to catch a flight the next morning from Geneva and it was a bit of a trek. But if I was staying for the weekend in the adorable town where the hotel is based, maybe playing a little golf, it would have been wonderful.

The rooms are big and dated. If you're looking for something modern, you'll be sorely disappointed. But they're a perfect fit with the overall atmosphere. Clean and comfortable. I probably wouldn't stay here with young children, or if I was wanting to watch TV at night, but it would have been a great place for a weekend with my partner.

One additional note - I left my toiletries bag in my room when I left. The hotel packed it up and mailed it to me at minimal cost, very efficiently. This was highly appreciated.

I'd stay here again. The next time I'd like to come for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I chose this chateau for the location, being close to Geneva and not too far from Mont Blanc. The reception was very nice and our room was upgraded with a wonderful view overlooking the Alps. They had chilled champagne and treats waiting for us in the room. The dinners and breakfasts were wonderful. We ordered the degustation menus and they even paired the wines per course for us. The front desk helped us plan a day trip. Overall we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Room with a view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John's, Saint John, Antigua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This Historical Site Château where Napoleon Bonaparte stayed few days by 1807 and dating from the 19th Century is located 15 minutes from Geneva between Lake Geneva and the Jura Mountains, two minutes walk from the Divonnes-les-Bains Casino, Golf Course and the Health and Beauty Centre. This Napoleonic Site Château is a restful stop over for gourmets at the heart of a 22-hectare park and will captivate nature lovers with its exceptional panoramic view of the Mont-Blanc mountain range .... a a great Promise to an awesome Resurrection..............

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I had a business meeting in Geneva and was advised to stay here instead of one of the big airport hotel. Free internet in the room. It was really a pleasant stay and the breakfast was good. I sat on the terrace with a great view towards Mont Blanc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejsetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara ca
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had to pick someone up at Geneva Airport and looked for hotels near GVA and found this jewel of a CHateau de divonne. Great place. Quiet. Beautiful. Peaceful. Professionally run. Friendly staff, and an excellent retaurant too. 10 out of ten!

Room Tip: All rooms look nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peternoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.3 mi away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Mainaz
Hotel La Mainaz
#1 of 4 in Gex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
8.1 mi away
Jiva Hill Resort
Jiva Hill Resort
#1 of 2 in Crozet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Divonne

Property: Chateau de Divonne
Address: 115 rue des Bains | pres de Geneve, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant XVIIIth century castle is 15 kilometers from Geneva, between Lake Geneva and the Jura, close to the casino, golf and fitness center. This hotel, relaxing and gastronomic stage in the heart of a park, enchant nature lovers with its breathtaking panorama of the Mont Blanc and Lake Geneva. In the dining room of the Chateau de Divonne, you will enjoy the special atmosphere of a beautiful family home converted into a restaurant. Authentic floors, fresco by Jean Debaub representing the banks dreamed of Lake Divonne in the romantic style, family portraits, soft colors combine to create a rare setting near Geneva. The dining room "Duchess Vendôme" is located on the ground floor, windows provide light and stunning views of the mountains. From the first lovely days, the terrace facing Mont Blanc chain is very appreciated for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Chateau de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Le Chateau De Divonne Hotel
Chateau De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing