We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Ideally situated a short bus ride from Geneva airport, this hotel was just what we wanted.
The desk staff were incredibly helpful and efficient, the rooms were clean and well presented and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
Breakfast offered a wide choice and plenty of it, although they would benefit from having a larger dining room as it was rather cramped.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labtech666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    38
    44
    18
    19
See reviews for
28
17
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

the title says it all. the location/staff guarantee its good occupancy. it can improve by doing more in the rooms and balconies. the question is: will it.
it's not true that its grounds are unkempt. it should remove its climbing rose bushes so you don't snag your clothes on

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oslolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Geneva airport is well short of the number of hotel rooms needed, so I went to France by going under the East end of the runways; Taxi was CHF 20 from the terminal for a 5 minute ride. Hotel was ok, but room was 1 hour late being cleaned due to big rush; small kitchen, no English TV channels except CNN; bedroom was a loft via circular stairway-- big danger in the middle of the night. Seemed somewhat pricey, but then again, that's Geneva!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lantirn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The outside of the buildings is simply dirty, unkempt and in major need of a paint job. The apartments are often dirty, with stains on the carpet... Lots of areas that need fixing and repair... too many to mention. The swimming pool has been closed for over 2 years now. It has become a dirty spot that adds to the gloom of the place. It is a dirty, sorry place. Obviously the owners are milking it for all the income they can get without investing anything back. I am very surprised that the Citadines chain lends its name to this horror. Front desk staff is quite unfriendly and at times very uninformed. Maybe they are overworked or there is high turnover. Breakfast is very limited and not worth the price. The breakfast room is very small. When there are a few people taking breakfast together, it is a real traffic jam, quite messy and uncomfortable. The fruit salad often has pieces of bruised or rotten fruit (especially apple) in it. Also, the front desk shuts down at 10 pm until 7 am the following day. There is no one on property to call if there is a problem or a disturbance and no effort is made to provide an emergency number. Given the totally open and unsecured nature of the property, this is also quite dangerous since no security is provided at all. If you need assistance for any reason to get back to your room after 10 pm, it will cost you $100 or so to get a contractor come and unlock the door for you. Overall, stay away especially if you have to pay the cost. If your agency/employer sends you there, they are either uninformed or you carry little weight at your workplace (sorry!). Complain and demand to be sent elsewhere. This is a bad place that exploits its guests and does not really care for their comfort and welfare... A dirty hotel to be avoided.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kachmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gérant at Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Kachmol,

I would like to apologize for not delivering the quality of service you had expected. While we may not alter your views about our property, please allow us to clarify the various issues you had raised.

We are currently refurbishing our rooms in phases. We are also in the process of reinstating the swimming pool and we hope that it will be opened before the end of the season.

Our breakfast room is opened from 7 to 10 am. While it can get crowded at times, we have arranged extra tables on the terrace and also in our lobby to accommodate everyone.

Given that we are a serviced residence and not a hotel, we have very low demand for guest services at night. Hence, our reception is closed between 22:00 hrsand 07:00 hrs. During this time, an emergency number is in place to assist guests in case of emergency or for guests who arrive late. The telephone number is displayed at the entrance of all buildings and also in the lobby. The fee of 90,00 € is charged only if the guest has forgotten their key in their room and a security agent has to come to open the guest’s room. This cost goes to directly to the external security company.

Finally, I would like to assure you that we value your feedback and they will be utilized to improve our services and communication. In the future, please do not hesitate to alert us during your stay so that we have a chance to discuss with you the issues and maybe find a solution that can satisfy you and make your stay more enjoyable.

Yours sincerely

Pierre Brunaud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ferney-Voltaire hotels

Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at Les Citadines in Ferney-Voltaire. The hotel needs some renovations, especially in the rooms and the corridors. It was clean, but there was a strong smell of vinegar that lingered for a couple of days after we arrived. Carpet in the room was stained and needs to be changed.

The room was on two floors; the spiral staircase to the bedroom upstairs was a little rickety. Shower pression was not good. The beds were ok, although they could have been a little firmer. There is no restaurant but rooms have a little kitchenette with a mini fridge, stove and microwave.

Overall we had an average stay. The place was ok, nothing more. I would only recommend it for a few nights, but not for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a single floor if you don't want to have to manage a staircase all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_robert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Good clean hotel very helpful staff -- great location and rooms are comfortable secure. You can easily pick up stuff from the nearby carfour and stock up the kitchennete and are good to go for an extended stay.Carefour is maybe a short ten minute walk

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

There is no safe and so no good rooms! I spend only one night in room #301...looking on the back yard with the greenish pool.
The staff is not professional to help or to serve the guests.
The cleaning crew...are too busy by cleaning your belongings instead of the rooms or bathrooms:-(((
My photo camera was stolen in a few seconds from the TV stand by cleaning person with all the memorable pictures of my trip. From my friend in other room the dress was stolen ...while she was dining:-(
So there is no pictures I can show you:-( just a bad memories of nasty place with horrible dinner & poorest breakfast ever..!
!!!DO NOT EVER STAY THERE!!!

Room Tip: There is no safe and so no good rooms! I spend only one night in room #301...looking on the back ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yelena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferney-Voltaire
0.2 mi away
Residence La Reserve
Residence La Reserve
#1 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Campanile Geneve - Aeroport/Palexpo
1.0 mi away
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
#2 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Geneve - Prevessin
0.2 mi away
L'Hotel de France
L'Hotel de France
#5 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Property: Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
Address: 34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apart'hotel is located in a quiet and wooded area but yet only a stone's throw away from the cultural and cosmopolitan pulse of Geneva and its historical district, the UNO and other international organisations. Enjoy the ski stations of Jura (15 minutes drive), the Alps (1 hour drive) and the Lake of Geneva. Easily accessible from the Geneva Cointrin Airport, the Apart'hotel has 127 Studios and One-Bedroom apartments. Enjoy a leisure stroll at our private garden followed by a sauna. Absolute must-see: The Bain des Paquis, a natural swimming pool at the edge of Lake Leman Citadines Geneve Ferney Voltaire is a 3-star, triple-storey duplex that houses 127 apartments including 73 two-person Studios, 53 One-Bedroom apartments that can sleep 4 guests comfortably, and a Two-Bedroom apartment that is large enough to accommodate 5 to 6 guests. A double sofa bed or 2 single beds are available in all the Studios. In the One-Bedroom and Two-Bedroom apartments, there are pullout beds or twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and an Italian-style bed in the bedrooms. Reception is open from 7am to 10pm. Each Studio and Apartment houses a bathroom with a separate toilet, a fully-equipped separate kitchen area complete with stove, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone, hairdryer and safe deposit box. The apartment is cleaned and linen and towels are changed for free once a week. Additional housekeeping service is available upon request and is charged according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire Hotel Ferney-Voltaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing