We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No no for this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Median Geneve Aeroport
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No no for this hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Just read all the reviews before me, and all applys up to this date. Years ago this hotel used to be very full during the car show, now it is not even 50%, and no wonder why!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamersaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    17
    22
    85
See reviews for
11
32
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Truly a shocking hotel.
Staff have clearly been trained to say, in response to all questions (no matter whether these are can we move into our prebooked room, or can we retrieve the bag we left with you a few days ago) "you have the wrong hotel, I think you mean the Hotel Star". The level of customer service has to be seen to be believed - basic ignoral of customer interests. And all presided over by a manager who clearly knows how bad things are, but chooses not to help out his not very capable staff.
Specifically then:
Denied we had a reservation, then on it being pointed out to them on their own system, it became clear they had given our room to another party. We were left to share a double bed, which was definitely not the plan.
Were rude and unhelpful.
Failed to offer us shuttle.
Clearly stated that our bag was not with them ("have you tried the Hotel Star?), when the manager we had left it with was standing just behind the receptionist, and clearly recognised us.
Room grim.
AC not working, and turned effectively off in room when we were finally allowed to take one.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samoddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ferney-Voltaire hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

After reading the reviews I was not going to pay for a taxi to and from this hotel. I called them up from the airport at 6:30pm to ask about the shuttle service. The girl on the desk answered that it stopped at 7pm, then realizing her mistake, corrected this that it stopped at 5:30! I assume that, no matter what time you call, they will tell you the shuttle is no longer running.

If you add a 40 SFR taxi round trip, this hotel is more expensive than either of the Holiday Inns!

Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank billy_swizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

This hotel should be rated 1 star or less. Lobby carpet was dirty. The elevator jumped about 3 inches when started up and was very slow. In the room the carpet was dirty, the walls were dirty, the wallpaper was peeling. They advertised airport shuttle, however they never have a driver to operate it, so it is just a come-on. They show the wifi symbol for internet on their website, but it is not free. The breakfast was outrageously priced at 12 euro, $18. The bedsprings poke you in the back; the beds are ten years too old. When you talk to the staff their eyes glaze over and they never can help or provide the service you expect. My recommendation is do not stay here under any circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

Hotel Median was recommended as being close to Geneva airport which we needed for a one night stopover. There are much better hotels that are right on the airport area.

The hotel was rated only three stars I would rate it one star

The hotel was supposed to pick up and deliver to the airport Unfortunately it does not do this on weekends

The taxi costs over $20.00

The hotel supposedly had a restaurant; however the restaurant is only open for lunch and dinner on weekdays not weekends

Breakfast is charged at $12.00 it is worth four dollars at best.

the room s are quite small

The sink drain did not work nor would they fix it

they clean the rooms only once every three days.

The hotel told us it was a five minute walk to the nearest restaurant that was open. It was a fifteen minute walk and the restaurant was closed.

There is no bellman to help with the bags

  • Liked — departing
  • Disliked — staying there
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

You learn everything you need to know about the Hotel Median the moment you arrive: It shares it's car park with a Lidl's.

Staying there on business isn't practical if you're conducting your business in Geneva - be warned, this hotel is over the French border.

This creates frustration alone, with taxi drivers asking you if you have your passport every time you say "Geneva".

But the hotel itself makes you WANT to escape over the border.

On arrival with a suitcase and hand luggage, getting into the hotel is a mission. The doors aren't electric and pull towards you. Don't think the concierge will help - this hotel doesn't have a concierge service.

So you're left to put your hand luggage down, open the door, hold it open with your foot, pick up your hand luggage and walk in - only to be met by another door, so you have put your hand luggage down, open the - well, you get the picture.

When checking in, the hotel staff don't communicate the hotel's amenities, perhaps that's because there's so few.

There is more often a queue for the slow yet overworked staff at reception. This gives you time to look around. The business lounge can be seen from the reception desk: It's a rickety old desk with a computer on it. And no, the service isn't complimentary.

Just behind one of the sofas in reception, silver catering containers were sitting on the floor. Inside these containers was water, and pieces of ceiling tile which had fallen from the roof.

The corridors are small and dark and the bedrooms themselves are, well, small and dark.

The mattresses must have been bought from a wood merchant - a plank would have been more comfortable.

Breakfast at this hotel is to be avoided. One morning, another guest walked up to get some fruit juice - but there weren't enough glasses. He saw a glass used by another guest, shrugged his shoulders, and drank out of it.

A cabinet in the 'restaurant' has a large panel of glass missing.

All in all, this is a sad, neglected, and laughable hotel. Indeed, it is a hotel in that it provides beds to sleep on, but that's it. There's not even tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

The only decent aspects of this horrible place are the good showers and the comfortable sofas in reception.

Do not stay here unless you want to experience a real-life Fawlty Towers.

  • Liked — Showers, comfortable sofas in reception.
  • Disliked — Everything apart from the showers and comfortable sofas in reception. Literally, everything.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

During a recent staying at Median (April 2008) I had problems with the airport shuttle. I arrived at the airport at 6:05pm, then I immediately called the hotel to ask for the hotel shuttle and they claimed that the service stops at 6pm, even if on their website they advertise "airport shuttle (only on request and subject to availability, from 07h30 till 19h00 - Monday to Friday)".
Worth mentioning that on the previous day I had emailed the hotel asking for information on the shuttle, but they never replied.
I had to incur in an extra change of CHF 27 (approximately EUR 17) for a ride to the hotel.

The floor carpet in my room (room 118 - on the first floor) was dirty, like if it hadn't been vacuumed for several days.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiGiRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferney-Voltaire
0.3 mi away
Residence La Reserve
Residence La Reserve
#1 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Campanile Geneve - Aeroport/Palexpo
0.5 mi away
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
#4 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
#2 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Geneve - Prevessin
1.1 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Median Geneve Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Median Geneve Aeroport

Property: Median Geneve Aeroport
Address: Chemin de Colovrex, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Median Geneve Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Median Geneve Aeroport Hotel Ferney-Voltaire
Median Geneve Aeroport Ferney Voltaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing