We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service, very rude receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porte de Geneve
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gaillard
Bath ne somerset
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shocking service, very rude receptionist”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Seven of us decided to stay here for a one night stop over due to its close location to Flaine Ski resort. Despite the rooms being clean and tidy the service we received at the hotel is shocking (it is so bad i am writing this review whilst sat in the hotel bedroom!). The receptionist would not lift a finger for to help us out, we simply requested (in French) some directions to a local Decathlon and were answered with a rude 'no', We returned to the hotel after dinner and asked for some milk with a coffee (we were planning to drink in the bedroom) but again we were met by the rude receptionist and her seeming inability to say anything other than 'NO'.
I would not recommend.

Room Tip: If you have to go - avoid the lady on reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binkyscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    106
    68
    36
    33
See reviews for
60
115
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is surrounded on 3 sides with high traffic streets and the noise is terrible all night long. We had to have our room changed 3 times because the air conditioner did not work, and the front desk staff was less than cooperative in helping us. In the new room there is mold on the ceiling. The housekeeping staff was very nice, but the girl on the front desk was extremely rude. We waited 15 minutes for her to help us as she was eating with her friends. One of the worst experiences we have had.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank GailHaskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaillard hotels

Chantilly, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Older facility but well maintained. We stayed in a "Family room" which is two rooms each with three single beds with a connecting doorway. We had two bathrooms for our family of 5 which was convenient. Rooms were tight. Reception was friendly. Good value for the money. Free parking and free wireless internet worked well. Driving to Geneva for sight seeing took longer than expected and not an easy drive. View from our room window was the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Looking at the Genevois region and the avarage prices I think this hotel is in the good ones. For 64 euros/night it is really OK. Clean room, new furniture and nice bathroom.
It is not a high quality Hotel but it is really OK comparing with all the ones around with higher pirce (Ibis for example).
I sleep 4 times/month in the region, I know many hotels and the good ones are too expensive for what they give extra!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Very nice hotel for staying, not so far from Geneva downtown and from the Alps. I stayed in the hotel one night for resting after a long car trip. The hotel is located just before the Alps Mountains. The breakfats is very good. It would be nice to have the option for the eggs since they are only offered boiled. The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripadder82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Comfortable ,basic,clean rooms,comfy beds & very helpful friendly staff,

If you want to explore Geneva without paying expensive swiss prices Hôtel Porte de Genève is a 20 min walk from the French/Swiss border where the tram line starts which will take you into the centre of Geneva in around 10-15 mins (cost 4.50 euros each)

We hired a car for 5 days of our trip and drove too Chamonix,Megeve & Annecy all of which make great day trips, i would not advise staying at Hôtel Porte de Genève if you do not have a car unless you are staying there specifically to visit Geveva.

Staff also advised us on a pleasant river walk to the next town Annemasse where there is more shops and restaurants as over our stay at Xmas a lot of Gaillard's restaurant where closed for the xmas holidays.
Another tip is too stock up on supply's at the shops and market on the french side of the border as it is far cheaper than the swiss side.

Room Tip: The closer too reception the room is the stronger the free wifi signal is
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallPaul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard g, Propriétaire at Hotel Porte de Geneve, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear customer
We tank you very much for your nice comments. To thank you, we will be glad to offer you a welcome drink during your next stop in our hotel.
Best regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Got there late on a family trip toward Switzerland, stayed just one night and that was more than enough! the place is cheap, so you should not expect a lot, but there are some minimums... at least you need to have some "air" in your room, no? the room that we got stinked... and as soon as we opened the window, there was an army of bugs and mosquitos ready to pour in...
I went back to the receiption desk, there was nobody but a person who was no help... she told me she can change my room tomorrow... (I was staying for one night only!!!) we had no place to go and already paid via internet, so we had our worst night ever and escaped in the morning, I have to admit, the only reason I gave them 2 points is because of their breakfast which was really good, given the price we had paid.
Won't stay again, no way...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T0r0nt0B0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaillard
0.8 mi away
Appart'City Geneve Gaillard
0.4 mi away
Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve
1.5 mi away
Campanile Annemasse Centre - Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Annemasse
Ibis Budget Annemasse
#10 of 19 in Annemasse
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Annemasse
Ibis Annemasse
#2 of 2 in Ambilly
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atalante Hotel
Atalante Hotel
#4 of 19 in Annemasse
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porte de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porte de Geneve

Property: Hotel Porte de Geneve
Address: 4 rue Rene Cassin | Parc de la Chatelaine, 74240 Gaillard, Annemasse, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annemasse > Gaillard
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gaillard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porte de Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porte de Geneve is located at the highway junction of the A40 and A41, 12 kilometres from Geneva International Airport and 8 kilometres from the centre of Geneva. Guests travelling to Geneva or to the local winter sport resorts will find the Hotel Porte de Geneve a perfect stopover for a comfortable night's rest. All 45 rooms are equipped with comfortable, quality bedding, bathrooms, TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. Just a stone's throw away from the hotel is an 11-hectare park around the Arve River as well as a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porte de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Gaillard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing