We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect weekend of relaxation & romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Mas de Chastelas
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gassin
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend of relaxation & romance”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Thanks so much to the staff of Le Mas de Chastelas for an amazing few days.

From the moment we were greeted by the Director we were aware that this is a place where service matters. Staff are so helpful and genuinely lovely and engaging.

We stayed in a house to the side of the main building which doesn't look much until you go inside, it offers a beautifully modern room, just perfect for a romantic weekend.

I could write more, instead I will recommend you try it for yourself, we will definitely go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fairfoodfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor, following your recent stay among us.

The entire team feels very proud when reading your comment. We all work hard for our guests’ comfort and satisfaction, and we are therefore very happy to know that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure welcoming you back soon to Le Mas De Chastelas.

Kind Regards

Olivier VALENTIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    20
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent stay of 5 days in this charming and beautiful Mas de Chastelas with my husband and parents. The personnel is Professional, very kind and sympatic: Very pleasant atmosphere, excellent Restaurant and breackfast, We enjoyed the quiet swimming pool, the several places and sofas in commun space for reading and "prendre l'apéro". No fitness.
10 minutes of Saint Tropez.
It was a nice place to stay. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOPHIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Sophie B,

We thank you for your kind feedback about your recent stay at Le Mas De Chastelas.

The entire team is very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Olivier VALENTIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We lasted one night, Disastrous if you want no road noise. R it is the main road going into st Tropez and the pool and our bedroom took the whole brunt! Service good and food okay. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Amelia B,

We thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Le Mas de Chastelas.

We have been sad to read that the comfort of our property did not meet your expectations because of some noise coming up from the road.

It is the first time we have a complaint of that kind, and we will undoubtedly investigate the matter.

Le Mas de Chastelas has always been known for being a real haven of peace and quietness, only a few minutes away from the excitement of the magical St-Tropez. It is for this peacefulness that our regular guests come back to our house, year after year.

The hotel is indeed situated on the local road to Saint-Tropez, but separated from this county road by the Bertaud-Bélieu vineyard and the hotel’s tennis courts and park. There must have been exceptional circumstances or particular wind conditions for you to have been disturbed by the noise of the road. We are sincerely sorry for that.

We always work hard for our guests’ satisfaction, and we feel very disappointed when we do not succeed getting it.

We continually try to improve and your feedback will help us getting better.

Kind Regards

Olivier VALENTIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Le Mas de Chastelas for four nights and had a lovely time in this 5* hotel. The hotel is a couple of miles out of St Tropez and set well back from the main road making it a very tranquil setting with a lovely pool and gardens. There is a complementary taxi service into Saint Tropez available on request, though it's hours of operation were a little restrictive and could do with extending on Saturday nights when the town is buzzing. The main building was lovely and the staff very professional: when we drove up to the hotel we were always greeted by our name and handed our room keys. We once ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and found the food to be very good as was breakfast - especially the vegetable quiche - if a bit on the pricey side. Then again everything in Saint Tropez is expensive.

We stayed in a separate building which we found very convenient as we had our dog with us and could take him for walks without going through the reception area. The room itself was a little on the small size, though larger rooms are available. Cleaning could be better as we found the previous occupier's unused toiletries behind a stool in the bathroom, and the drawers smelt musty. The beds were very hard and did not provide a comfortable night's sleep. An excellent shower though - so often a downfall of hotels.

In summary and excellent hotel only let down by inadequacies with the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We have been pleased welcoming you to Le Mas de Chastelas, and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have taken good note of your comments, and we will do our best to improve the points needing to.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at Le Mas de Chastelas in August for 3 days making it the last leg of our trip to the South of France. We liked this hotel so much, we only went to the beach once! It is a gorgeous, gorgeous property with top notch service (the welcome drink is a very nice touch). The rooms are airy and well-decorated, the bathrooms are big and clean with L'Occitane toiletries. The pool area is delightful and extremely quiet during the day with plenty of private space to relax. In the evening, there was no better place to be but the terrace where you could get a pre-dinner drink accompanied by beautiful live harp music. Overall, amazing place to be. One complaint is the price of food and drinks: yes, I get it, it is a 5-star hotel, but 33 Euros per person for breakfast and 39 Euros for 2 cocktail drinks poolside is a bit much. That's the main reason we chose to dine in the nearby village of Gassin (Le Pescadou was amazing there!). But despite the pricing of food, a good option right at the entrance to St Tropez.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olesya154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Olesya154,

We thank you very much for your nice feedback about our hotel.

We were really pleased welcoming you to Le Mas de Chastelas during your last trip to South of France, and we hope that you have been able to savour a small taste on French lifestyle while staying with us.

Our buffet breakfast is charged 30 € per person. In order to meet the needs and tastes of everyone, we aim to offer a wide choice of high-quality fresh products. Locally produced cold cuts and cheeses, smoked salmon, a variety of dairy products, Viennoiseries and homemade pastries, eggs and omelettes cooked at the minute, a selection of fruit juices, fresh fruits, etc. as well as wine and Champagne are included in this rate.

Concerning our bar drinks, our most expensive cocktail has a price of 17 €. The bar bill that you are referring to was probably including some other alcoholic beverage, like a glass of wine, for example.

We thank you again for having taken some time to share with the Tripadvisor community your appreciations about our property and we hope that we will have the pleasure of another of your visit in the near future.

Kind Regards

Olivier VALENTIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were looking for a hotel where we could relax away from the madness but also be in touch with St Tropez and Pampelonne beach. This was perfect, the shuttle bus was essential and the drivers were full of good advice and came and picked us up and dropped us off at request. We stayed in the main building itself and were upgraded to the terrace room, the room was very clean and tastefully decorated in classic french style, the terrace was lovely. The breakfast, although expensive is a huge buffet, with eggs to order and a great way to start the day. As you can see from the photos the pool and communal areas are beautiful with lots of plants with a homely feel and generally its a great Place to relax. The staff are all excellent, the service first class and the manager Olivier is always around the hotel and very friendly and helpful. The hotel is low key, discreet and charming, there could even be a celebrity or two staying ! We had a great week and hope to return next year.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Tim O,

We thank you for your kind feedback and for choosing Le Mas De Chastelas on your last trip on the French Riviera.

Your opinion is very important to us, and we were very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

It will be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you again next season!

Kind Regards

Olivier VALENTIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We enjoyed this place of piece and silence outside of little bit snobby and crowded St Tropez. Nice ambience and smell of history not been destroyed with "modern" restoration an re-building. We stayed in main building. Rooms were lovely and with some local touch. Very nice and professional staff. Being world travellers, this was one of the most organised places, where we felt all staff works as a Team. And not because they have to ...., we felt they like the job they are doing. Lucky manager having such a great Team.
The best is to use hotels offered transfer to the city and the beaches. This is much easer than go with your car (avoid of traffic jams) or have quite pricy taxi.
Food in the hotel is nice. But if you would like to dine outside of the hotel, I would recommend Restaurant La Verdoyante located 5 minutes by car towards the village Gassin.

Room Tip: Higher floor may give better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dainis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Danis K,

We thank you for your positive and interesting feedback about Le Mas de Chastelas.

It is a pleasure to read that world travellers like you have appreciated your stay in our hotel and the work done by all of our staff. We feel very honoured.

We have been happy to have you here as guests and we hope that we will be able to welcoming you again on your next visit to Saint-Tropez.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gassin
1.1 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#5 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Bastide d'Antoine
La Bastide d'Antoine
#3 of 13 in Gassin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#4 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Belrose Hotel
Villa Belrose Hotel
#2 of 13 in Gassin
239 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
#11 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Chastelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Chastelas

Property: Le Mas de Chastelas
Address: route Saint Tropez | Quartier Bertaud, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Gassin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gassin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas de Chastelas 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened at the end of the 60’s in an authentical 18th Century Provençal mansion, this exclusive and confidential hotel has become today a high-end Boutique-Hotel complex, nestled in the heart of 3 hectares of Mediterranean gardens overlooking the vineyards of the Domaine Bertaud-Bélieu. Ideally situated at the beginning of the peninsula, Le Mas de Chastelas offers the luxury of its wide spaces and as well as a restful tranquillity, just a few minutes away from the excitement of the magical St-Tropez. Three universes are combined on a single domain. Next to the swimming pool, La Bastide, the Provençal mansion of origin, proposes 10 rooms and 3 suites of unique luxury, reflecting the historical character of the house. La Villa Palladienne, facing the park, offers 2 rooms and 4 suites decorated in an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Prestigia, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Mas de Chastelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing