We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”
Review of Hotel Beausoleil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Beausoleil
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Ashbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just come back from a week at the Beausoleil with 34 students. The hotel is clean, warm and in an excellent position for ski in/out. The food was also just what was needed. But what makes the hotel so good is the staff, who work hard and are very professional. The reps were spot on with the entertainment and the way they addressed the children - friendly but not best pals. There was a mid-week meeting with the management to give feedback and nothing was too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for group stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Unbeatable location with ski in and ski out - what a treat! Very friendly, helpful staff. Basic accomodation but warm and very clean with the best showers I've ever had on a ski holiday! Food was very good and plenty of it. Veggies very well catered for and plenty of drinkable wine with the meal. Several school parties were in the hotel but they were well behaved and the hotel was quiet at a reasonable time and I never saw any children in the bar in the evening. Would definately recommend it for those who would rather get on the slopes with minimum of fuss and perhaps forego some of the luxury and frills of a more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked this trip through RocketSki at a significant discount compared to the larger, more widely known winter sports agencies.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's literally on the bottom of the piste. 1 minute walk from boot room to the base of the "Jeux" chair and the DMC (large 2 stage cable car)

Alternatively, you can take the lobster pot lift across town, or use the piste through the village to get to the other lift hub - this piste has some flatter spots so not so great for boarders.

The ski area is enormous, with plenty for anyone from kids to powder monkies, skiers and boarders. Don't miss the ride down the "Scare Chair" and the ski area across the valley :)

The hotel is primarily used by school parties, but so long as you don't mind kids, this isn't a problem, the staff manage the groups very well. (setting a different time for breakfast/supper and allocating rooms to non-school clients at the end of corridors)

That said, there is unavoidably more noise than you would get elsewhere - not a problem, I slept well every night, but it's important to be aware.

The team in the hotel although young are keen and helpful.

The rooms are more spacious than the usual Alpine expectation, and there was always hot water available.

Food was simple but plentiful with 3 courses each night, and the beer/wine is reasonably priced.

I'd highly recommend this location to anyone who is looking for a good value stay in a superb resort.

Room Tip: Request a balcony and you get a view of the town, there isn't a bad view from any room in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Ski in ski out great location. 3 schools were in the hotel for the week with us, the children were very well behaved no problems. I feel a separate bar area would be better we didn't expect the children to be still in the bar in the evenings. A very young team are running the hotel with lack of customer service and training, until the managers appeared one morning and things were very different. The young staff are having a good time and a laugh some direction from a senior member would have not gone a miss. We didn't have a rep on the bus to the hotel or back to the airport. We asked to put somethings in the safe and were given a large brown envelope to put our things in. We wrote out name and room number on it not exactly safe ! Thank you to the staff member who drove us in the minibus down to the coach due to the snow.

Room Tip: Corner room noisy from the piste basher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the beau soleil. We were warned that there would be a school party at the hotel and although they were a little noisy they were no trouble. The hotel was a basic 2 star so we didn't expect any luxuries and our room was clean warm and comfortable with a balcony which gave us fabulous views over the village. The food was ok. I would have liked a little more choice but it was all filling and tasty. We ate out on the terrace one day which was great and the terrace menu was really good. We loved the atmosphere in the bar where we watched some of the Winter Olympics. The bar staff were very friendly and fun and the prices pretty good compared to the rest of the resort. They were just as much fun when we met them out at the rum bar and caves disco. Maybe a special mention to rep crazy daisy who was a real little fire cracker. With its fantastic location right next to the DMC lift ski lovers can't go far wrong with a stay at the beau.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We were a school party travelling from Cannock to Alpes DHuez from 18th - 25th January.
This resort/hotel has the lot.

Location
Best on the slopes, within 200m of about 5 lifts. Literally ski in, ski out skiing.

Skiing
Amazing selection of beginner slopes covering the whole of the bottom part of the slopes. The glacier and 'scare chair' runs offer a higher degree of difficulty with amazing scenery.
Quality of instruction was great with the ESF again mixing a combination of humour and skilful instruction very well.

Hotel
Apart from the obvious location, the hotel was able to cater for all of our needs. Karon and Nick give you the confidence that they will address any issues quickly and efficiently.
The bar and reception areas are great and spacious. The only downside was the quality of wifi which they had spent a lot if money on.

Rooms
Clean with good views. Our group had 2 large rooms of 8 and 10 which needed cleaning more often than the usual housekeeping sweeps, particularly with 10 boys!

Food
Great choice and quality. All our staff and students ate well and the waiters/waitresses were more than accomodating in fact the staff at the hotel work really well as a team
Compliments to the chef

Overall a fantastic experience and one that I hope to repeat in the near future

A big thanks to the Beausoleil from Staff and students from Kingsmead

Have a great season

Ashley (Ski Party Leader)

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash_perry2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hotel BeauSoleil - Rocket Ski

Jan 4th – 11th 2014.

The Good, the Bad and The Ugly.

The Good:

Right on the piste and the first building you will reach ski-ing back. It is ski-in but as close to ski-out as you can get. You will need to walk a few steps to the nearest chair or cable car. All in all a Great Location.

The hotel is modern and large with a large lounge area on the ground reception floor, with a small lounge area between the bar and dining room on the first floor. The bar extends to a terrace that is opened to the public. Surprising unbusy considering the prime location and good prices.

The whole ski area is close so you can ski back for coffee and lunch easily from most places, if you are looking for snacky lunch. For fine dining look elsewhere.

Hotel is so warm even I turned down the heating (I like warmth), which is uncharacteristically Rocket ski chalets/hotels. My room overlooks the ski piste, which is great. Generally quiet but you may be woken up by snowploughs in the early hours of the morning.

It is a hotel with a chalet operation in that you need to dine out one evening during the week. A blessing in disguise – read on.

The young team were friendly and helpful when you ask.

The Bad.

There were 3 school parties in the hotel but on the whole, they were well behaved and did not present a problem. I asked a room of boys to tone down the noise the first night and they did, and remained quiet for the rest of the week, thankfully.

A couple in my party asked for a quiet room but was put in a room on the third floor beneath the staff accommodation and was woken up every night in the early hours by slamming doors and moving furniture. This issue was raised with the manager but was never resolved.

Our rooms are on 3 floors with staff accommodation on the fourth floor. There is no lift and no help is offered to take your cases from the coach to your room.

Ski Boot room is large and accommodates with 3 good ski racks but some boot shelves were old and needs replacing. All of the ski racks were allocated to the 3 school parties so we needed to squeeze in our skis where there is a gap. The Ski room did not get cleaned at any time during the week and was waterlogged. See photos.

We were collected by a rep from the airport but sent back without one, or any address before we set off. We arrived 2 hours before we could check in and the airport was severely congested, which is clearly caused by all the tour operators dumping their responsibilities too soon. We were left to enquire at the airport’s information desk regarding checking in.

The Ugly

Food was poor – I first skied with Equity Ski/Rocket Ski more than 10 years ago and the food was excellent then but not anymore. Only the cheapest meat was used and possibly bought in bulk frozen.

Food that was served included overcooked, dry and tasteless lasagne, frozen vegetables, turkey cutlets. Breakfast leftovers, pain au chocolat were sliced up, toasted, drowned in cream and served as chocolate bread and butter pudding. If only the chef made custard and baked the pudding, then it may be passable as a pudding.

We do not expect gourmet but simply good grub but this week the food was so bad we have left food uneaten on several occasions.

Out of date Yoghurt and jam portions were found. Frozen meat was being defrosted in the kitchen overnight (Recommended procedure for defrosting meat is in refrigerated environment). This reflects a young team not trained effectively on stock rotation and good hygiene practice. I have had to assertively insist that the staff member remove all jam portions from the dining room, and to check every single portion.

One of our party experienced a stomach disorder (carefully worded - PLEASE NOTE ) and lost 3 days of ski-ing. He needed another week to recover upon returning to the U.K. Some kids in the hotel went down with an illness as with some members of staff. A manager dismissed the illness as a bug caught on the plane, and passed by the kids to the staff. Passing the Buck?

All in all simply appalling to experience illness during a holiday, especially an activity holiday.

Ski Area Review:
42 Green, 37 Blue, 39 Reds, 17 Blacks

I have not skied an area with so many green runs so all in all, something for everyone. Not all runs were open this week due to poor snow in the lower slopes so we did not get to experience the complete area. We have had a very good week but it would have been a greater week if the whole area were open.

It took us 3 days to get to know the whole area on our own, and the runs are well inter-linked. The map is in small print and not easy to read but the area is sign posted very well with lifts name in big bold, and names of runs within, in smaller lettering.

Many of the black runs were on Pic Blanc at 3330m. Two old and slow lifts allow you to ski 2 easy blues and 1 Red as well as 2 short and easy blacks. There are no other lifts so if you ski down any of the other 3 blacks, you will need to ski all the way down to the bottom. The longest black in the world, the Sarenne is a cheat as 6km of it is a green. I would call it a Red, which takes you down a gorge.

We did not try the tunnel because of the steep descent immediately after the tunnel. The only way back from Pic Blanc, is to ski down to the bottom, or through the tunnel, so you may need to take the cable car back to Clocher de Macle at 2800m.

For intermediates, stay high for good long runs. Marmottes II and III are the fastest Cable Cars.

Auris en Oisans and Montfrais are suitable for beginners and early intermediates.

The ski down to Huez 1500m is gentle and interesting but met with the slowest and oldest 5 egg-bubbles. I got my jacket caught by the door mechanism; we could not see out of the window and there is no ventilation so it was hot and sticky and the lift stooped for a short while so it got rather uncomfortable. And the buckets lift afterwards was even slower. We should have taken the chair lift at this point, instead.

We would be happy to return to ski the area again but in a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunworshipper003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Christina
Hotel Le Christina
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
#10 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausoleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausoleil

Property: Hotel Beausoleil
Address: Rue du Pic Blanc, L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel must boast the best location for skiers in Alpe d'Huez with five ski lifts starting within just 250 metres of the hotel steps! Situated directly on the slopes at the highest point in the resort, with pistes running on both sides, the Beausoleil is 100m from the main Cable car the DMC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Beausoleil France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing