We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ClubHotel Belle Aurore
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Unfortunatly the hotel was terrible in these ways
1.the hotel staff were very rude-barging into rooms at ridiclious hours of the day (Giovanni)
2. The food was the worst food I have ever eaten in a hotel the portion size also was very modest
3. Our school were forced out of our rooms in cold ski gear unable to change and put on warm clothes for having a couple of pieces of litter on the floor when the hotel cleaning staff's job is to clean our hotel rooms, instead of making us do it ourselves


It's not worthwhile staying in this hotel




Steph was fit though keep her on

Room Tip: Dont go to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dermot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

As some other reviewers have mentioned, you need to understand what you are booking if you chose this hotel. It is used mainly for school groups with odd left over rooms sold to ordinary travellers. Clearly, people tend not to send their children away without them at Christmas so if visiting that week you can expect an ordinary mix of people. We were there from 22 December 2012 for one week.

Our room was as expected for this hotel's target market - basic and would have benefited from some basic decorating but comfortable and everything in working order. The room contained twin beds plus a set of bunk beds and despite the unused extra beds the room didn't seem over crowded.

The hotel heating system did the job well but the bedroom temperature could not be individually controlled other than by opening the window - which did the trick but seemed a bit wasteful.

We had requested a room with a balcony on the 2nd floor and our request had been honoured. We were really pleased about this as the views from the balcony were fabulous and different everyday according to weather conditions. We asked for extra pillows and they were provided within minutes. On arrival, the staff had forgotten to leave towels but this was rectified immediately too.

The bathroom has a good sized bath with a powerful shower attachment and no issues with constant hot water but no shower screen or curtain.

The staff were young British people. At times you could detect a lack of experience but any shortcomings were more than made up for by their positive, professional, friendly and helpful attitude.

Breakfast was basic with cereals, croissants, bread, ham cheese, had boiled eggs. Not imaginative but adequate and probably better before skiing than some of the cooked breakfasts I've had elsewhere that always tempt me to eat too much!

Evening meals were a set 3 course menu with a vegetarian option. Half a litre of wine was per couple was included. The food was good and always served with a smile.

The hotel location is great close to shops, bars, ice rink and pool. 2 minutes walk away is a lift to take you to the main nursery slopes, Signal and DMC. Alternatively, you can ski down from the same point and take 2 lifts to the other main nursery slopes and lifts including Marmottes. Free shuttle buses also stop opposite the hotel to take you around town.

We hired skis from 'La boule de neige' which is part of Intersport and is located directly facing the hotel. Although not directly relevant t a review of the hotel I'm mentioning them as they provided excellent service and equipment with the most comfortable well fitting boots I've ever hired. We booked the ski hire trough Alpinresorts.com for a great price. The site asks for all your measurements, ability level etc., and when we went to collect equipment the afternoon before the hire officially started everything was waiting with our names on it. Between us there was just one item that needed to be swapped from what they'd set aside. I would definitely recommend this hire shop.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Mixed reviews about this place recently, and all understandable. For 'private' travellers, you need to understand what you are getting. This hotel caters squarely for the schools market, and sells any spare space to 'private' travellers.

We stayed in March 2012 and shared with three different schools, and a few other 'private' travellers. The hotel was warm, the staff were friendly and the skiing was great for the time of the season.

Cleanliness in general was ok, though more attention could be paid in rooms, it's understandable that common areas can become a bit grubby when there are 100 school kids running around.

Sleep quality is variable, depending on the school group(s) that are in. They normally start early so expect a bit of noise early in the morning, and the usual running about and giggling at night.

The food was generally ok, if a bit school canteen-ish. Not sure how they managed to mess up apple crumble, but maybe it was an off-day.

The hotel is mainly staffed by seasonaires, so don't expect 'professionals', but they were all friendly and tried hard.

The location is excellent, three different ways of getting to the piste, minutes walk to the outdoor heated pool, bars, shops etc.

In general, if you don't mind sharing with often boisterous school groups, like your skiing and a good price, it is perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We came from Kuwait on a school ski trip at first i wasnt happy but as i entered my room#105 it had a great view overlooking the street. Great location 2 minute walk from the ski lift. We had a cool skibound rep Martin he was rhe best rep ever. All the staff were amazing worked hard to keep us satisfied. Neil the bartender was spectacular throughout the week. As well as the other staff were amazing nvr seen such a group of dedicated staff . The food was great and then the discos organised were fun . I enjoyed alpe de heuz even more because of the friendly staff of skibound. Looking forward to coming again.
MOMO

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOMOnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We thought this hotel was really good quality for money. The food was good (although very British) and the location was great. However, we found our room was dirty, the toilet didn't flush and the door didn't lock. So we went to complain and the room was not sorted for the entire week and were just given excuses, untruths and sarcasm in return. I think it was a real shame as we really enjoyed our holiday, but the staff were really poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Group of 4 adults was very surprised by the quality of food in the hotel and the excellent location, right next to a lift to the bottom of the slopes. The manager and staff were superb and made sure that we knew everything that was on offer and provided excellent advice on the sking opportunities, depending on the condiditons. They even went so far as to lend personal equipment in order to ensure that we had the best time. Whilst this is not a 5* chalet, you will clearly feel valued as a customer and all your needs will be looked after. A big thanks, especailly to Gary, the manager who made the holiday for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark17_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a very difficult review for me to do as I have just spent a week in this hotel accompanying a friend who went on a familiarisation visit on behalf of the small private school she works for and as a result we payed a very low price.
This hotel is primarily in the market as accommodation for school skiing trips and is primarily staffed by "kids'' (18-30) who work there for the ski season. My experience of all the staff was that they were very friendly and helpful, were they professional? I would have to say no. I would also expect the staff to change each season so older reviews may be irrelevant.
The hotel itself is attractive from the outside, the inside is not fancy but it was clean and in reasonable condition. We had a room on the top floor among the staff quarters as they had a full quota last week, it was spacious but a bit shabby and tired, in need of a coat of paint which I understand is in progress. We were given extra pillows and towels on request. There was plenty of storage and we had a nice view out over the town. There was an en suite shower room with loads of hot water and good water pressure and to me the biggest bonus of all, bathroom lighting that actually enabled you to see what you were doing ( take note large international chains like Hilton and Meridien).
We were booked in with half board, for breakfast there was juice, a choice of cereals, yoghurt, cheese, ham, boiled eggs and fresh bread, croissants and pain au chocolat, butter, assorted jams, assorted teas and coffee and there was always a large basket of fresh fruit available.
We were invited to join the schools for lunch but declined but did ask for a packed lunch one day which was provided with the minimum of fuss, a cheese and ham baguette, a bag of crisps, a packet of biscuits, an apple and a carton of juice, pretty good.
When we returned from skiing each day there was tea and coffee and cake in the bar, mostly home made.
The evening meal was 3 courses and bread and water and wine were served with it. This food was very mixed. I fully appreciate they were catering towards children and what they ate wasn't a good guide as many of them went out and bought pizza when they came in from skiing each day so weren't likely to eat a 3 course meal an hour later! I have worked in school meals catering so know the difficulty of producing good food on a tight budget and given there was a school from Oman staying at the same time who required Halal catering plus any vegetarian or other dietary requirements it was a tall order for a very young chef. The biggest comment I would make is that of food not being served hot, the second would be that some of it required more cooking, the croissants and Toulouse sausages being the worst offenders, the chicken stir fry was a bit of a disaster, it wasn't a stir fry and it was overloaded with chilli. On the plus side there were large bowls of veges served with the main course.
I have to say that the children from the International School in Oman, the Forfar Academy and The Ossett Academy were very well behaved and we had some good evenings with the staff from Forfar and Oman, particularly the cheese and wine tasting event organised by Gary the manager, well done you for that one! We were also invited to the sister hotel one evening by the Forfar staff to join them at the disco run for the children which was fun. Thank you!
Overall for the price I paid for the whole trip I was very satisfied, in the capacity in which I went I would have concerns about the catering, it's not bad it needs some tweaking and could easily be made very good. I think the choice of menu was as much at fault as anything else. At least it wasn't all burgers and chips! My other concerns were the steps from the boot room level to street level weren't cleared of snow each day and did become treacherous and the staff being very young and inexperienced did get a bit sulky when we tried a bit of constructive criticism. I did wonder how they would cope in the event of an emergency. As for who decided to use our toilet in our absence and not bother flushing it we will never know........

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#15 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Prince
Hotel Le Petit Prince
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Belle Aurore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Belle Aurore

Property: ClubHotel Belle Aurore
Address: route du Signal, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Belle Aurore France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing