We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“#deeecent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Christina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Christina
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“#deeecent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and the boys have been to a number of different resorts/chalets over the years and in terms of value this is right up there. The location of the chalet is close to the slopes as well as walking distance to the night life. The chalet bar is cheap and sky in lounge was great to not miss out on the champions league. The staff were friendly and the food was a good standard.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessahatespate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    39
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed in the Christina a couple of weeks ago and was very impressed by the level of accommodation, staff and the evening meals. We had a room at the front with a balcony so we could enjoy the great views and sun of course. The rooms were spacious clean and decorated in a traditional style. The only thing to consider in the bathroom would be to provide a shower curtain so the floor doesn't get drenched. The staff were great attending to our every need and being very patient. Catherine was our rep and provided a lot of information. The evening meals were also great, plenty of food for a bunch of hungry skiers.
Highly recommend the hotel for location and level of customer of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in March and very much enjoyed the stay. Yes, the hotel is a bit tired but this was more than made up for by the great service from all the staff members - "Happy Holidays" was definitely the strapline for our stay.
Location is excellent - right next to a gondola, a couple of chairlifts and two draglifts, and the free ski bus stops nearby to get you to the Marmottes area if you need to without heading up the slopes first.
Food was good and the wine went down a treat. The BBQ one lunchtime was superb with just the right music from the DJ to have a fun atmosphere. It was very good value for the price we paid.
Pool, table football and darts available in the large bar area and reasonably-priced drinks, too.
The only real downside was the self-closing room doors that really slam. We were woken up every night on multiple occasions buy those who didn't seem to care about the noise.

Still, I would return and would enjoy it again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m22ekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a fantastic week at Hotel Le Christina last week.

The staff were so friendly and helpful and were great to have a chat with about local things to do or the best places to ski. It really helps to have friendly and happy staff.

The food was much better than I had actually expected. The duck and the beef bourginon were particularly stand out and the dinner was a lovely end of a hard days skiing. The bar was also cheap and really comfortable to chill out in or to have a few drinks before going out to Smithys or Igloo for the evening!

Catherine our rep was really great and handled difficult situations really well.

All in all a really great stay, I would like to next time have a balcony room as they looked bigger than ours on the side but overall had a great time.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room, they looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just came back from a very good holiday with Richard and Joe the Managers at the Christina. They are great hosts and are expected back next season. The Hotel is old (pre-war) but in good condition for the age. The food was good, the hot water never ran out, and the bar/terrace was great for aprés ski drinks. It is right on the slopes and a short walk down to the bars. I would happily return.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor with balcony would be my pick of the rooms but they all seem decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnaj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I went to Alpe D'Huez with my husband and a few friends a few weeks ago and really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Christina. From the beginning, the staff are fantastic. They are very friendly, very helpful and just overall enjoyable people to be around.

The hotel itself is a bit dated, as others have mentioned, but it didn't bother us. If anything, it gave the place a bit of charm. My room looked out over the slopes which was really fantastic. The bed was comfortable enough (especially because we brought our own pillows), and the only downsides were that the TV didn't work and we had no shower curtain, so every time we showered the bathroom floor ended up all wet. Oh, and definitely keep in mind about the hot water - if you shower any time from around 5pm to 7pm, it will be luke warm. The other downside to the hotel is that all the doors slam if you forget to close them lightly. This wasn't too much of a problem except for one night that our neighbors kept going in and out and letting the door slam the each time.

The food at the hotel was fantastic! My husband and I are vegetarian, and the meals they came up with every night were so good, and really well thought through. Even our meat-eating friends were jealous! And you certainly can't beat the free wine that comes with dinner. In addition to providing you with breakfast and dinner every night, the hotel also organizes events each evening. One night we had a pub quiz and on another we did a bar crawl which was an absolute blast. On the final day they had a BBQ on the porch and the food was really, really tasty and plentiful (and cheap!), and there were plenty of yummy side dishes suitable for vegetarians (pasta, salad, roast veggies, potato salad).

Other pluses to the hotel: it's a short walk into the center of town and is practically at the foot of the main gondola.

All in all, we had a great stay at Hotel Christina and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were slightly apprehensive based on the fact my wife & I are vegetarians, with a set menu each day it can be challenging for hotels to come up with something fro special requirements.

The staff endeavoured to work to our needs and the chefs came up with some delicious options for us. In fact our travelling companions commented that our food looked better than theirs!

All of the staff we encountered were courteous, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were dated but we go there to sleep and shower.

I would highly recommend this place to people looking for ski in/out. The location is fantastic.

If they have the BBQ on when you are there take this option, for 10€ with a half pint each it offers cracking value and we didn't eat the meat!

Ski France have a good team! Thanks

PS there is no pool apart from the one in town so I cannot leave a proper rating for this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drew.clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#5 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#4 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#10 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel L'Ancolie
Hotel L'Ancolie
#19 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#17 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Christina

Property: Hotel Le Christina
Address: Place Cognet, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Christina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiFrance, the UK ski specialist operator, has taken over management of this hotel from December 2013. The Christina is hotel is perfectly located for access to the pistes, the lifts and the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ski Planet, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Christina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Christina France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing