We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Lac Blanc 2”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neilson Chalet Le Lac Blanc 1
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great location for a true ski in / out. Food excellent as well as the hosts. We had one of the attic room and shared shower room. A beam runs through the roof at chest height, more headaches from that than the wine, as you have to duck down & in the dark - you forget! also in the toilet. Taller people would really struggle in the attic.
Very noisy some nights when the piste bashers are working as for some reason they use the building as a roundabout. We were woken up 4 nights out of 6.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed in lac blanc 2 (but from what I gather it is practically a mirror image of lac blanc 1). Hosts were fantastic and really helped make the holiday - but the hosts will probably change...? Location was fantastic literally door step skiing. Our room was the "big room" which overlooked the big DMC bubble lift (noise was not an issue for us, as the lifts stop 4.30pm and start 8.30am-ish). Room was fine for size. Other rooms did look fairly small though with height problems in the top 2 twin rooms (beams were very low), some other people staying did complain a little bit about the noise of the piste bashers returning at 4am (though we didn't here any). Free wifi was available in the lounge area (didn't reach the bedrooms). Boot store and ski store was a bit busy in the morning with 28 people all going out for the day! But wasn't massively a problem so long as you dont mind sitting on the stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The 3 stars are purely for the location.and not for the chalet itself. The rooms are tiny with the exception of one that overlooks the lifts, this is the best room by far. There is nowhere to hang clothes in any of the rooms, just a tall cupboard with shelves. There is just about room to walk around the bed which is a problem if there are 2 people in the room. Due to the construction of the chalet you can hear everything and if someone comes in late at night they wake everybody else up!
The lounge area is far to small for 14 people which means it is almost impossible to have a relaxing evening. Our chalet hosts were young and the quality of the food (except for the deserts which were great) left a lot to be desired
The resort is great with plenty of skiing and I would thoroughly recommend it for all levels of skiing ability. You just need to find a chalet better than this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treed0480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed in Chalet Le Blanc II with Neilson in one of the rooms with a balcony. Apart from the larger room that you pay more for the rooms are quite small. Ours was fine though and the en suite was a good size. Food was excellent from the chalet team, and there is free wi fi as well. It looks like it was only built a couple of years ago and was clean and well looked after. Location is great for ski ing and the walk into town is only 5 to 10 mins. It can be noisy at night is the piste bashers are coming in an out as some of them park close by, but I did not find that too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Le Lac Blanc Chalet actually comprises two (no. 1 & no.2) Chalet’s both run by Neilson. They are located right next to the main DMC lift (1er Troncon lift on the piste maps) in the centre of the ski area. Most runs at this point are cruising greens / blues and are where ski schools meet so it’s an ideal location for beginners but there are a lot of button drags. however you can reach the remainder of the ski area easily. Alpe d’Huez is a fairly exposed resort so if the weather comes in it can be an issue.

Many ski properties claim to be ski in / out but this was actually that. The two chalets share a ski storage and boot drying area otherwise are totally separate with their own hosts. The accommodation is located at first floor level as there is a cafe below. Le Lac Blanc 1 comprised of a communal lounge / dining area with a long table that seats 14 together with a kitchen and WC on level one, 5 twin bedrooms with en-suite showers on level two and an attic level with 2 twin rooms sharing a shower room (I assume no. 2 is the same).

We were a party of 4 and stayed in the attic rooms. These have limited headroom and a roof beam that runs through each room including the shower. The beds were arranged so that the head end was at the lowest point but you do have to duck under the beam. In the shower, to reach the toilet an adult has to duck under the beam - an interesting challenge if you go to the loo in the dark but you do get used to it ! The shower although very small had plenty of hot water.

The attic rooms were adequate for what we wanted but with the restricted headroom and shared shower are best suited to a group of 4 who are happy to share but push for a discount as these rooms are not of equally quality to the others so don't pay the same.

Being on the slopes the chalet is some way from the main bars and shops so if you are looking to party prepare for a walk, but otherwise it’s a fantastic location. Your ski pass gives access to the heated outdoor swimming pool and ice skating rink both located in the centre of the village, also a Spar located in Vaujany – but we did not use any of these so cannot comment. For 70 euro Neilson offer a helicopter trip to Les Deux Alpes dropping you up the mountain so you are one of the first on the slopes and I believe the pass covered that area as well.

In summery the Chalet is very well placed, Alpe d’Huez a good resort ideal for beginners and intermediates and a good time was had by all. The attic rooms are fine but not equal to the others and we only one proper head hitting beam incident but we put that down to a little too much wine!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Scarybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank rene_meunier3637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
Thank vasilyfr0mm0sc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#15 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alp'azur
Hotel Alp'azur
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Chalet Le Lac Blanc 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Chalet Le Lac Blanc 1

Address: Rond Point des Pistes, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Lac Blanc 1 Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Neilson Chalet Le Lac Blanc 1 France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing