We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Hotel Mariandre
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel le Caribou(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Vallee Blanche(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Castillan(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Ourson(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
Hotel le Chamois(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Petit Prince(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Grandes Rousses(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alp'azur(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
ClubHotel Belle Aurore(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
34
25
3
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
25
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnow clubchild careesprit staffcocoa clubski espritnursery staffthe baby listening servicehigh teachildcare teambelle plagnethe hotel staffplaying gamestravelling with childrenseparate showerthe ski hire shopinterconnecting roomsstress free holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

6 times with Esprit Ski holidays and have had many a great ski holiday. On my latest trip I invited along 3 families of varying ski experience, one being their first ever ski holiday. 8 Adults and 8 children aged 3 to 11. A big thank you and congratulations to one of the strongest Esprit teams I have experienced. Excellent staff from top to bottom, management, child care, rangers, bar and restaurant. All our children with the assistance of rangers and child care skied every day, from beginner’s sprites to advanced ESF gold medal. Weather and conditions were very good.
Hotel needs some investment in new "bits and pieces" but overshadowed by the care and attention you receive from the Esprit team here. Our family skiing next year will again be with Esprit and I may see some of these familiar Esprit faces. Hopefully an added bonus would be our choice of hotel next year will also have seen some investment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Excellent location, manager, staff, food and general set up. Rooms fine but priced accordingly so good value. Childcare staff excellent and very caring making for hassle free skiing. Resort is quiet and off piste very accessible vs some of the big names. Less après but little done anyway on a family trip!! Would recommend for sure.

Room Tip: As a family you can get a suite or two rooms and pay accordingly! If in two rooms some are opposite and some next to each other so look according to your preference.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Great resort/skiing. Usual excellent staff from Esprit - always helpful. Hotel shabby - clean but needs a full makeover. Meals - average. Location, v. good - nearest lift 50m and just about ski-in. We use Esprit for their childcare and we weren't disappointed.

A few pointers which may help:

Ski hire for children is competitive through Esprit but not for adults. Esprit use Altitude Sports (Skimium) which is directly under the hotel so book on the internet before you leave.

Lift pass - if you have more than 10 days before you arrive, book a family pass over the internet. Otherwise buy in resort. There is a lift pass sales office next to the hotel in the Tourist Office. Do not use Esprit, they charge in euros then process the credit card transaction in sterling using a poor exchange rate and a transaction fee. Office opens at 8:45. One thing that really hacked us off and a number of other guests is that if your children are in ski school (Esprit use ESF), ESF sell heavily discounted lift passes. We complained to the hotel manager but they have only just found out, apparently. We were there in March towards the end of the season, I don't think so!

Overall rating is poor due to hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keepers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Hotel Mariandre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

It is unfortunate that, despite our weekly communication with them, the ESF did not advise our resort team of the offers in respect of lift passes that they offer as part of their own ‘learn to ski’ package, which would be available to all nationalities, with a designated meeting place within the resort, which obviously differs from our own Sprite children’s ski classes and all that they entail.
The Chalet Hotel Mariandre has always been well received by our guests so it is disappointing that ‘Keepers3’ felt the property to be shabby and the catering average. Feedback to date from our guests has been positive in respect of the meals served to both our adult and child guests, as it has for the child care that our experienced team have provided, which we are pleased was well-received by this family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a great week in Alpe D'Huez thanks to ski esprit. As has been said in a lot of these reviews, the hotel decor & furnishings are tired & shabby but comfortable & the hotel is warm & welcoming with plenty of red hot water & good showers & baths! We had room
108 which has an adjoining bunk room for the two kids & was great (one bed was very creaky though & there were some sharp screw ends sticking out of my bed! But the latter was fixed mid holiday)

Our main issue was with communication - the welcome meeting (where all the info was given) was at 7pm with dinner at 8pm - we had two tired & over excited kiddies to settle to bed and so there was no way we could get to a meeting! What a crazy time to give all your info when EVERYONE has kids to put to bed!?! We were therefore on the back foot all week & there was no folder available with all the info printed in case you missed the meeting!

Esprit.. Please change your welcome meeting times to after dinner or during dessert?!

After that we got conflicting info depending on which staff member we asked - we were late for our 5 year olds ski lesson on day one because the assistant manager told us the wrong time & I was told by the hotel manager I needed to take said 5 year old with me to the tourist office to get his ski pass (as they needed a photo of him) & so rushed him to get ready early & it turned out they didn't need to see him at all .. Little things, but frustrating

Also we were really disappointed that we just didn't get shown out children's diaries at the end of each day.. The childcare team seemed tired & had let this paperwork slip (we spoke to the childcare manager about this & he apologised)

This would've been a fantastic holiday had it not been for these little gripes.. These things are easily fixed with a little thought & creativity so lets hope esprit refurb the management behaviour when they refurb the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girldymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Hotel Mariandre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

We are pleased that, overall, this reviewer was satisfied with their holiday with us in the Chalet Hotel Mariandre and that our management team in the property reacted well to issues that were brought to their attention. Naturally the recommendations that have been made have been passed to the hotel management team, though it can of course be difficult for a welcome brief to be scheduled around the differing arrival times of guests and at a time when it does not disrupt enjoyment of the evening meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was the first time that we have used Esprit and we would definitely use them again. The hotel is nice enough and in a pretty good location - you can ski almost to the door. The food was really good but the staff are the ones that make it great! They were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for you. It was also clear to see that they genuinely loved what they were doing and working with kids etc. This was my son's first skiing holiday (aged 4 1/2) and he loved every minute of it which was in part down to the staff here as well as the ski instructor (who was great too).
So thankyou Esprit and will no doubt see you next season!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews