We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary staff raise this from good to excellent!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Mariandre
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Exemplary staff raise this from good to excellent!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We've just completed a weeks stay at this hotel and have to post a good review.

The hotel is located low in the village and caters for family groups. Despite the location it is well served by lifts making it a doddle to get in the pistes quickly in the morning.

Our stay was half board with a choice of cooked breakfasts in the morning, along with the continental option which was excellent every day. The evening meals really set this place apart from others we have stayed with a 3 course meal cooked from a set menu with cheese and coffee to follow. These meals have been superb and would easily warrant a €60+ price tag elsewhere in resort.

All of the staff are well turned out and gave outstanding service all week. Whilst we didn't personally have child care reports from the rest of our group also spoke very highly of the nannys. All staff are English speaking, have a great sense if humour and were very knowledgable about the village, the piste and the hotel.

The hotel itself is well presented and reasonably well appointed. It could do with a slight update and polish in areas whilst niggly little issues like broken door locks and locked radiator valves should be an easy fix.

The mountain is good, but if you're a snowboarded and not confident taking speed through the flat stuff you may get frustrated on some of the pistes, including the 16km Sarenne which includes about 1 - 1.5km of flat green at the end!

Overall, despite those minor niggles the experience at the Mariandre has been superb, lifted by the staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    24
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, Kent
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We travelled the first week after New Year as a family of four (two girls, aged 8 and 10). This was our sixth Ski Esprit trip but our first at Alpe d’Huez. We were a bit concerned by some of the negative reports regarding the “tired” nature of the hotel, but glad to report that these appear to have been largely addressed during the off-season. Dining room has new furniture (and apparently better heating), rooms all have new carpets, curtains, mattresses and (very welcome) new flatscreen TVs and DVD players. Based on our rooms (we shared two adjacent twins) new cupboard doors would be good but overall no complaints – rooms were warm and homely and sufficiently spacious. Main point for improvement – 2 pillows rather than one would be good.

Location of hotel is good – close to the centre of the village with plenty of restaurants and a stone’s throw away and the Palais du Sports a slightly further walk. Bucket lifts up to the main ski area are about 30 yards from the hotel (and you can ski-in to here) and a chair lift a 2 minute walk.

We thought the staff here were all really excellent – bar staff (particularly Elliot, who also arranged evening quizzes), hotel manager, childcare, restaurant alike. All very friendly and helpful and any requests were quickly dealt with. Our flights from Chambery were a complete mess in both directions (around 4 hours late in and 3 hours late out) but the hotel staff adapted really well and were very flexible – Victoria, the hotel manager, deserves a lot of credit for this. The children really enjoyed their lessons and evening “cocoa club” activities and are big Esprit fans.

The food was generally very good. Very large breakfasts with lots of choice (hot and cold); the quality of the evening meals is generally fine but can be a bit uneven – perhaps trying to do a few too many fine dining type options is challenging when everyone is eating at the same time – some meals though, particularly the Duck and the Venison were excellent. Definitely needs to be a better choice of cheese biscuits than just Jacobs cream crackers, and after being exactly the same for six years now, the choice of house wines could do with a refresh.

Overall we had a great time and would recommend both the hotel and the resort – despite warm temperatures meaning snow quality wasn’t fantastic. We will definitely return to Esprit next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KentishMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Well we had a fantastic week of skiing with Esprit Again.

We have been to thee Esprit hotels: Courchevel which we rate 9/10, then Belle Plagne which can only be 20/10 and the Mariandre around 7-8/10.

So after staying at Belle Plagne over Christmas, we were probably expecting too much of Mariandre a couple of months later.
We were in room 204 which is tiny. At first I thought all the rooms were small but seems we picked a particularly small one. Serves us right for booking late i guess.
The rooms are pretty basic, typical Alpine style, nothing like belle plagne at all!

Staff were excellent as always and the food was spot on. Great meals every day and they went to great lengths to ensure us vegetarians had something different every day.

The kids food was ok, my son didnt always take to it, but cannot help that.. the staff were pretty willing to make alternatives if necessary... We always take some backup packet baby food with us on holiday so we were ok when he played up..

The child care was great.. my 22 month son actually got on better here compared to Belle Plagne, as it was a small nursery so more time for one to one attention...
In the morning my son would always play up at drop off time.. but the girls would take him out for a walk.. that helped massively and was a great relief for us.

All the staff were usual Esprit standards... excellent..

The location is good, you can ski back to almost the door... The only thing is you have to get a cross town lift to get to the main lifts.. Choice of either the lobster pots which are slow, or a chair lift over the bridge.. this is a better option.

On the staff night off, definitely recommend the italian pizzeria opposite the hotel and down the narrow lane (forgot the name)... very very nice.

Would we go back - yes but we would want a bigger room... there were rumours of a refurbishment... definitely due!

I think next time we will try either Meribel or Courchevel..

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a tiny room like us, 204 was a shoe box, only for 2 people max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaymanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

6 times with Esprit Ski holidays and have had many a great ski holiday. On my latest trip I invited along 3 families of varying ski experience, one being their first ever ski holiday. 8 Adults and 8 children aged 3 to 11. A big thank you and congratulations to one of the strongest Esprit teams I have experienced. Excellent staff from top to bottom, management, child care, rangers, bar and restaurant. All our children with the assistance of rangers and child care skied every day, from beginner’s sprites to advanced ESF gold medal. Weather and conditions were very good.
Hotel needs some investment in new "bits and pieces" but overshadowed by the care and attention you receive from the Esprit team here. Our family skiing next year will again be with Esprit and I may see some of these familiar Esprit faces. Hopefully an added bonus would be our choice of hotel next year will also have seen some investment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Excellent location, manager, staff, food and general set up. Rooms fine but priced accordingly so good value. Childcare staff excellent and very caring making for hassle free skiing. Resort is quiet and off piste very accessible vs some of the big names. Less après but little done anyway on a family trip!! Would recommend for sure.

Room Tip: As a family you can get a suite or two rooms and pay accordingly! If in two rooms some are opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Great resort/skiing. Usual excellent staff from Esprit - always helpful. Hotel shabby - clean but needs a full makeover. Meals - average. Location, v. good - nearest lift 50m and just about ski-in. We use Esprit for their childcare and we weren't disappointed.

A few pointers which may help:

Ski hire for children is competitive through Esprit but not for adults. Esprit use Altitude Sports (Skimium) which is directly under the hotel so book on the internet before you leave.

Lift pass - if you have more than 10 days before you arrive, book a family pass over the internet. Otherwise buy in resort. There is a lift pass sales office next to the hotel in the Tourist Office. Do not use Esprit, they charge in euros then process the credit card transaction in sterling using a poor exchange rate and a transaction fee. Office opens at 8:45. One thing that really hacked us off and a number of other guests is that if your children are in ski school (Esprit use ESF), ESF sell heavily discounted lift passes. We complained to the hotel manager but they have only just found out, apparently. We were there in March towards the end of the season, I don't think so!

Overall rating is poor due to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keepers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Hotel Mariandre, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
It is unfortunate that, despite our weekly communication with them, the ESF did not advise our resort team of the offers in respect of lift passes that they offer as part of their own ‘learn to ski’ package, which would be available to all nationalities, with a designated meeting place within the resort, which obviously differs from our own Sprite children’s ski classes and all that they entail.
The Chalet Hotel Mariandre has always been well received by our guests so it is disappointing that ‘Keepers3’ felt the property to be shabby and the catering average. Feedback to date from our guests has been positive in respect of the meals served to both our adult and child guests, as it has for the child care that our experienced team have provided, which we are pleased was well-received by this family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a great week in Alpe D'Huez thanks to ski esprit. As has been said in a lot of these reviews, the hotel decor & furnishings are tired & shabby but comfortable & the hotel is warm & welcoming with plenty of red hot water & good showers & baths! We had room
108 which has an adjoining bunk room for the two kids & was great (one bed was very creaky though & there were some sharp screw ends sticking out of my bed! But the latter was fixed mid holiday)

Our main issue was with communication - the welcome meeting (where all the info was given) was at 7pm with dinner at 8pm - we had two tired & over excited kiddies to settle to bed and so there was no way we could get to a meeting! What a crazy time to give all your info when EVERYONE has kids to put to bed!?! We were therefore on the back foot all week & there was no folder available with all the info printed in case you missed the meeting!

Esprit.. Please change your welcome meeting times to after dinner or during dessert?!

After that we got conflicting info depending on which staff member we asked - we were late for our 5 year olds ski lesson on day one because the assistant manager told us the wrong time & I was told by the hotel manager I needed to take said 5 year old with me to the tourist office to get his ski pass (as they needed a photo of him) & so rushed him to get ready early & it turned out they didn't need to see him at all .. Little things, but frustrating

Also we were really disappointed that we just didn't get shown out children's diaries at the end of each day.. The childcare team seemed tired & had let this paperwork slip (we spoke to the childcare manager about this & he apologised)

This would've been a fantastic holiday had it not been for these little gripes.. These things are easily fixed with a little thought & creativity so lets hope esprit refurb the management behaviour when they refurb the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girldymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Hotel Mariandre, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We are pleased that, overall, this reviewer was satisfied with their holiday with us in the Chalet Hotel Mariandre and that our management team in the property reacted well to issues that were brought to their attention. Naturally the recommendations that have been made have been passed to the hotel management team, though it can of course be difficult for a welcome brief to be scheduled around the differing arrival times of guests and at a time when it does not disrupt enjoyment of the evening meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Christina
Hotel Le Christina
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Mariandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Mariandre

Property: Chalet Hotel Mariandre
Address: Place Joseph Paganon, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Mariandre France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing