We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional childcare”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Mariandre
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Esprit always take exceptional care of the kids and that is why we keep returning to their hotels each year.

The hotel is basic but comfortable and clean. It is steps away from lifts into the main ski areas.

The food overall is good. I need a gluten free diet which did create a few issues but the staff worked with me on this. I still think there is work to be done on the menu for those of us with dietary needs and therefore the £35 supplement charged to us is a lot to pay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our 1st skiing trip with our children (aged 7 & 4).
We travelled as a group, 3 families and 6 adults and 6 children in total.
The Esprit staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was good, basic, but the food was exceptional.
The rooms and living areas are clean but basic, could do with some modernisation, however not to lose the alpine feel.

Overall we were delighted with our trip, yoghurt pots 20m walk away to take you up to the pistes and chair lists to take you to a larger skiing area 50m away, and can ski more or less up to the side door of the hotel.

The staff at the hotel were amazing from Victoria the manager, to Elliot the bar manager and Alec the head chef - nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

Our children have come home from their 1st skiing trip ready to book next years with Esprit and great skiers!

A fabulous trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Hotel Mariandre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Jo
What a pleasure to read of the success of your first Esprit ski holiday! We're delighted that you all loved it and plan to return next year. On behalf of the whole team thanks for taking the time to share your experience; we will certainly highlight your review to our amazing staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We've just completed a weeks stay at this hotel and have to post a good review.

The hotel is located low in the village and caters for family groups. Despite the location it is well served by lifts making it a doddle to get in the pistes quickly in the morning.

Our stay was half board with a choice of cooked breakfasts in the morning, along with the continental option which was excellent every day. The evening meals really set this place apart from others we have stayed with a 3 course meal cooked from a set menu with cheese and coffee to follow. These meals have been superb and would easily warrant a €60+ price tag elsewhere in resort.

All of the staff are well turned out and gave outstanding service all week. Whilst we didn't personally have child care reports from the rest of our group also spoke very highly of the nannys. All staff are English speaking, have a great sense if humour and were very knowledgable about the village, the piste and the hotel.

The hotel itself is well presented and reasonably well appointed. It could do with a slight update and polish in areas whilst niggly little issues like broken door locks and locked radiator valves should be an easy fix.

The mountain is good, but if you're a snowboarded and not confident taking speed through the flat stuff you may get frustrated on some of the pistes, including the 16km Sarenne which includes about 1 - 1.5km of flat green at the end!

Overall, despite those minor niggles the experience at the Mariandre has been superb, lifted by the staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We travelled the first week after New Year as a family of four (two girls, aged 8 and 10). This was our sixth Ski Esprit trip but our first at Alpe d’Huez. We were a bit concerned by some of the negative reports regarding the “tired” nature of the hotel, but glad to report that these appear to have been largely addressed during the off-season. Dining room has new furniture (and apparently better heating), rooms all have new carpets, curtains, mattresses and (very welcome) new flatscreen TVs and DVD players. Based on our rooms (we shared two adjacent twins) new cupboard doors would be good but overall no complaints – rooms were warm and homely and sufficiently spacious. Main point for improvement – 2 pillows rather than one would be good.

Location of hotel is good – close to the centre of the village with plenty of restaurants and a stone’s throw away and the Palais du Sports a slightly further walk. Bucket lifts up to the main ski area are about 30 yards from the hotel (and you can ski-in to here) and a chair lift a 2 minute walk.

We thought the staff here were all really excellent – bar staff (particularly Elliot, who also arranged evening quizzes), hotel manager, childcare, restaurant alike. All very friendly and helpful and any requests were quickly dealt with. Our flights from Chambery were a complete mess in both directions (around 4 hours late in and 3 hours late out) but the hotel staff adapted really well and were very flexible – Victoria, the hotel manager, deserves a lot of credit for this. The children really enjoyed their lessons and evening “cocoa club” activities and are big Esprit fans.

The food was generally very good. Very large breakfasts with lots of choice (hot and cold); the quality of the evening meals is generally fine but can be a bit uneven – perhaps trying to do a few too many fine dining type options is challenging when everyone is eating at the same time – some meals though, particularly the Duck and the Venison were excellent. Definitely needs to be a better choice of cheese biscuits than just Jacobs cream crackers, and after being exactly the same for six years now, the choice of house wines could do with a refresh.

Overall we had a great time and would recommend both the hotel and the resort – despite warm temperatures meaning snow quality wasn’t fantastic. We will definitely return to Esprit next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KentishMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Well we had a fantastic week of skiing with Esprit Again.

We have been to thee Esprit hotels: Courchevel which we rate 9/10, then Belle Plagne which can only be 20/10 and the Mariandre around 7-8/10.

So after staying at Belle Plagne over Christmas, we were probably expecting too much of Mariandre a couple of months later.
We were in room 204 which is tiny. At first I thought all the rooms were small but seems we picked a particularly small one. Serves us right for booking late i guess.
The rooms are pretty basic, typical Alpine style, nothing like belle plagne at all!

Staff were excellent as always and the food was spot on. Great meals every day and they went to great lengths to ensure us vegetarians had something different every day.

The kids food was ok, my son didnt always take to it, but cannot help that.. the staff were pretty willing to make alternatives if necessary... We always take some backup packet baby food with us on holiday so we were ok when he played up..

The child care was great.. my 22 month son actually got on better here compared to Belle Plagne, as it was a small nursery so more time for one to one attention...
In the morning my son would always play up at drop off time.. but the girls would take him out for a walk.. that helped massively and was a great relief for us.

All the staff were usual Esprit standards... excellent..

The location is good, you can ski back to almost the door... The only thing is you have to get a cross town lift to get to the main lifts.. Choice of either the lobster pots which are slow, or a chair lift over the bridge.. this is a better option.

On the staff night off, definitely recommend the italian pizzeria opposite the hotel and down the narrow lane (forgot the name)... very very nice.

Would we go back - yes but we would want a bigger room... there were rumours of a refurbishment... definitely due!

I think next time we will try either Meribel or Courchevel..

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a tiny room like us, 204 was a shoe box, only for 2 people max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaymanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

6 times with Esprit Ski holidays and have had many a great ski holiday. On my latest trip I invited along 3 families of varying ski experience, one being their first ever ski holiday. 8 Adults and 8 children aged 3 to 11. A big thank you and congratulations to one of the strongest Esprit teams I have experienced. Excellent staff from top to bottom, management, child care, rangers, bar and restaurant. All our children with the assistance of rangers and child care skied every day, from beginner’s sprites to advanced ESF gold medal. Weather and conditions were very good.
Hotel needs some investment in new "bits and pieces" but overshadowed by the care and attention you receive from the Esprit team here. Our family skiing next year will again be with Esprit and I may see some of these familiar Esprit faces. Hopefully an added bonus would be our choice of hotel next year will also have seen some investment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Excellent location, manager, staff, food and general set up. Rooms fine but priced accordingly so good value. Childcare staff excellent and very caring making for hassle free skiing. Resort is quiet and off piste very accessible vs some of the big names. Less après but little done anyway on a family trip!! Would recommend for sure.

Room Tip: As a family you can get a suite or two rooms and pay accordingly! If in two rooms some are opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alp'azur
Hotel Alp'azur
#15 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Prince
Hotel Le Petit Prince
#16 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Mariandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Mariandre

Address: Place Joseph Paganon, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: £48 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Mariandre France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing