We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay in Alpe D'Huez”
Review of Les Bergers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Bergers
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good stay in Alpe D'Huez”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for the 2nd last week of the season. It was not possible to ski in/out, but it was pretty close, especially due to the fast-disappearing snow on the lower slopes. I had read some poor reviews beforehand, but was pleased to find that the management are making efforts to reduce noise after 10 p.m., and wearing ski boots is forbidden inside the residence. The reception we had was very warm, and we were allowed in much earlier than expected - though that could have been because it was now a relatively quiet period. Even so, the reception staff did not keep us hanging around, and we were skiing by afternoon!
Wifi worked well in the comfy reception area. Our 'Privilege' apartment had lots of storage space, a balcony, and was worth getting. The ski room was easily accessible, though the locker was not big enough to keep 3 pairs of boots as well as skis. Small supermarket is nearby, though cooking was a bit tricky, with only 2 hobs to work with. I would recommend 4 staying in apartment for up to 6. Our tall teenagers found the bunks small, so used the sofa bed with its pull-out bed beneath. We were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiehen132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    29
    27
    31
See reviews for
40
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile


Rubbish accommodation rooms are damp cold and there's an awful draft coming in from the worn down windows. The beds are by far the worst beds I've ever slept on rock hard no quilt covers a thin blanket and one small awful pillow. There was mould in the corners and clumps of dust on the skirting board, old crisps on the sofas and floor. Dish washes a waste of time the tablets for it are €15 from the shop. The coach journey up was absolutely terrifying. Skiing was good but not for beginners.
Wouldn't recommend for family's !!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katie06uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed 22nd Fed 14 to 1 Mar 14. Party was three professional males more used to 4 and 5 star hotels.

Results were: The apartment is compact but fine for 3 people, good storage space under beds and large wardrobe. There is a sleeping area that has two bunk beds and wardrobe that can be isolated from main room by sliding the wall back. We had a balcony but it was too cold to use it. Kitchen is compact but workable with serving hatch into seated dining area. Kitchen doesn't have an oven but microwave has oven settings. If you like a cuppa bring some mugs as the cups there are for expresso sized drinks.

The room has a television but I think you have a rent the remote control or something as the sound could be heard when switched on but no picture. We weren't bothered as we don't go on holiday to watch telly.

Apartment was clean enough on arrival but cleaner when we left! Sheets, pillows, pillow cases and blankets provided (not duvets). Hot water always available and radiator in room is adustable so you can have room at perfect temperature. Bathroom is like everything else, compact and basic. The shower head doesn't have a fixing on wall so showering means sitting in bath and if you stand water will go everywhere (no shower curtain) so again it's functional only.

We had no issues with noise, not woken once, albeit we mightve been the ones do the waking! You can hear noises from other rooms but nothing intrusive. The teens/youths appeared to be roomed on the basement floor so maybe that's the place to avoid. We were on floor 2.

The supermarket is close (2 min walk) and has everything you need at reasonable prices and there are a couple of restaurants very close by that are OK with standard international (pizza, steak, burgers, pasta) and french fare (Savoyarde). The pubs are a bit of a walk as there isn't one that is open late nearby so if you want to go to Smithys, Igloo, Underground, La Sporting, Sphere (main busy pubs) then it is a 5 - 10 minute walk.

There is a locker room in the basement with large locker big enough for skis, boots, poles etc for 3 people - 4 will be tight but maybe possible. Locker room isn't heated but you can ski right out from the back door down to the Marmottes 1 lift, AlpeAuris and Romains Lift. The other lifts will require a bit of poling. The breadth of pistes in Alpe D is fantastic with only the Tunnel closed all week but we ski'd for an average of 6 hours a day for 6 days and covered 95% of the runs so plenty to keep entertained.

If you have stayed in French basic ski accomodation before then this place won't be a surprise as there are no frills but if you want some luxury or something better than basic then pay more. I would say that you get what you pay for and the price to stay at Belambra was very low.

ps there is a spa with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi (x2) in adjoining hotel that you can use for 10 euro. They will insist on you having flip flops (they sell them for 2 euro) and you must have proper swim trunks there (and in main public pool). They inspect them before letting you in! So speedo or proper swim trunks required, no shorts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MikeySmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for - and we didn't pay huge amounts! The little apartment did exactly what it said it would. Nothing more nothing less. It was clean, functional and somewhere to out our heads down at the end of each day on the slopes. It certainly wasn't the Ritz but I can't fault it. Would consider returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Hatbat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just come back after 8 nights in this hotel with family (2 kids under 9). We had a great time and hotel is perfectly placed. Slightly worried after all the negative stuff written on here so thought I'd counter it as we will definately book again.

Great value, no noise and we didn't have to pay anything extra. Booked through bookings.com

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I just returned from a weeks holiday in Alpe d'Huez staying at the Belambra. Some suprises upon arriving that the tour operator had failed to notice where that there is a 250 euro deposit per room plus a city tax plus the 10 euros we paid for sheets and towels plus the fact that the "hotel" has no maidservice whatsoever and you are requested to clean your room before leaving or 50 euros will be held from your deposit. It is unacceptable to ask money from people in order to provide sheets towels and cleaning the room. I understand the deposit, and seeing that other guests in the hotel where 18 - 22 year olds that where drunk from 7:30 pm and broke everything in their sight, so I justify the deposit in order for the hotel to have some insurance. I can also understand the city tax and only blame my operator for failing to inform me. But when you charge for sheets towels and maid service you fail as an establishment in my eyes. I would like to thank the manager and staff of the Belambra as they where extremeley friendly and helpful and i want to make clear that any problems I have are not with them as they where perfect but with the policy the hotel follows. Room tip take an apartment with a balcony it is well worth the extra 10 pounds.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonis_L1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just back from a week here to see the Tour de France and was very happy with the apartment. We had booked an apartment for 6 people although there were only 4 of us, but I was still pleasantly surprised by the amount of storage space. The facilities were exactly as described - it is very french in that there is no kettle or mugs, but we are used to this in french apartments and just boil a pan of water and use the bowls like the french do.
Reception was open in the mornings and evenings and were always helpful. I used the washing machine in the laundry room once (5€50 did seem quite expensive, but seems to be the going rate looking at other places)
We had a great view of the resort (see photo) and the Tour even went past on the first ascent. Fabulous!

Room Tip: Choose an apartment with a south facing balcony - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
#3 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Bergers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bergers

Property: Les Bergers
Address: entree Est - Quartier des Bergers, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France (Formerly Belambra Clubs - Les Bergers)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at a height of 1860 m and known for its exceptional level of sunshine, Alpe d’Huez shelters the "Les Bergers" residence at the very heart of the resort. Located 50 m from the shops, the residence also provides direct access to all the resort's activities.In the majestic massifs of the Grandes Rousses with its 12 lakes, and in the Oisans massif, you can take exceptional hikes at low and high altitudes. Swimming pool, ice rink, mountain biking, mini golf, tennis, horse riding, fitness,… with this cocktail of activities, you will appreciate the comfort of your refurbished apartment even more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Les Bergers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belambra Clubs - Les Bergers Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Les Bergers France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing