We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new apartment, good location for skiing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice new apartment, good location for skiing.”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

New apartment, well equipped, clean and close to shops. We had a 6 persons apartment for 4 persons and I would not recommend it for 6 persons. Short walking distance to slopes/lifts. Bed room and bathroom are not very big, but ok for a week. Heated towel rack available in bathroom. Double bed is queen size, so not very big. Friendly staff. No towels in swimming pool provided. So for one week just one big and one small towel is not much. Spacious private locker for skies.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    48
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Comfortable self catering appartments in the center of Alpe d'huez. We went there for a 1 week cycling holiday (climbing Alpe d'huez, Les Deux Alpes, etc...) and the location was perfect. Right in the middle of town but still quiet at night. Several restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. We (2persons) stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was very comfortable with nice furniture and finishings. The hotel service with made up beds, towels and final cleanup was really appreciated and makes this more comfortable than std self catering places. The sauna and hamman were excellent and we had the place to ourselves on most days. The pool is rather small and not really suited for swimming laps but excellent for kids to play in. Unfortunately our balcony did not have a good view, I guess all the apartments with a view were taken. Access to the underground parking area is very narrow, many scratches on the wall witness of unlucky users. For some strange reason the reception area is only accessible from the outside (not a big issue during summer but I imagine going to pick up the baguette in winter time is not that much fun :-)) At 430€ for 1 week in July. definately good value for money and would consider staying again if returning to Alpe d'Huez.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the valley for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgv34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I first stayed here in December 2011 when it had been open for only 2 weeks, it was a new building and Many things were unfinished. I came back in June 2012 and what an improvement. Super apartment, great staff and absolutely no complaints at all. They obviously listened and put everything right - the ever lovely and helpful Alexander was still on reception.
The apartment was spotless, everywhere had been painted and the pool area clean.
The only shame was that the bar area wasn't finished yet, let's hope they find a tenant soon.
Will def be back for the ski season as this place is by far the best in the resort - as long as they keep the standards up

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

These apartments are recently built and in the centre of a nice part of town, well placed for skiing . They promise so much, with well fitted kitchen/ living room and balconies. Unfortunately their service lets them down. We were supplied with one towel each for the week and one roll of toilet paper between us, with a small bottle of shampoo and soap in each bathroom. When they ran out, we were told to buy more from the supermarket and asked to pay extra for a fresh towel or sheets. The front desk staff were unhappy and unfriendly except for the evening male receptionist. The others dismissed questions about when the manager would be in with an answer "sometime". When I wrote to the central booking email for the group, the manager responded 2 days later. My recommendation, don't stay there, or any of the properties managed by the same group, CGT, as they all have this belief somehow that we all travel with bags full of spare towels and feel like walking down the road at all hours of the night when the toilet paper runs out.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JstcaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

On arrival at Grenoble airport, we found our rep from Crystal Ski who directed us to a very new coach and off we set. Two and three quarter hours later, having run the gauntlet of road works in Grenoble, we arrived at the hotel. We stayed in an Emerald apartment (or Chalet Emeraude) which was the combined size of three lock up garages. The five of us rushed for storage spaces and unpacked our cases, reflecting that six adults would need to know each other really very well to spend a week together in such close proximity.

We ordered some tea, coffee, milk bread and preserves (via Crystal Ski) and our lift passes we delivered to our room before 8am as promised and off we set to Sport 2000 ski hire some 200 metres distant. Arriving late meant the 8am queues for ski hire had vanished and were we attended to without delay. The choice of gold & silver ski’s were limited and they could only furnish us with two out of three kids helmets. The joys of skiing in February half term !

Pleasingly the construction on the hotel was finished although clearly somewhat hurried, but clearly the apartment’s facilities were new (oven, dishwasher, crockery and cutlery). It is one of the quieter placed we have stayed in the Alps as far as late night apres ski type noise is concerned (I guess because there are to bars too close). Curiously there is no access between hotel reception and the apartment so whilst bread and the most buttery croissants this side of angioplasty, can be ordered from reception, it’s necessary to don one’s outdoor gear to walk outside and around the corner. Of course on a self catering holiday, the idea is that you are catering for yourself ! Supermarkets (Casino & Spa) are conveniently located before you get to the ice rink (take your own bags if shopping is a distant experience you seldom enjoy) or failing that there are a host of restaurants conveniently located between 1 and 10 mins walk depending on how far you feel the need to wonder.

The apartment has complementary wifi. It’s that infuriating brand of wifi i.e. the sort that doesn’t work however that’s alieviated if you sit closer to the reception which is spacious and has ample seating and a welcoming, open wood burning fire. Reception has a series of glass windows with chi-chi grey drapes which permit you to satisfy your voyeuristic needs by allowing a non chlorinated view of the pool. Tastefully designed in the seedy modern, oligarkesc style, the led mood lighting cycles whilst you do backstroke admiring yourself in the mirrored roof above the swimming area.

The lifts are about 200 metres distant with the choice of a bottom lift or 4 x 4 man cages which are quite a unique method of getting up to the central lift hub. Travel is free to that point after which lift passes can be purchase adjacent to the big DMC lift. Use of the bigger longer lifts is generally preferable as you get better height for you queue time compared to some of the smaller, short lifts.

Happy skiing.

Room Tip: Ask if the reception is accessible from your room without walking outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mymainscreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in Le Cristal de l'Alpe at the end of january 2012. Everything is still brand new, which has it's pro's and con's. On the one hand, everything is new and clean, on the other hand still some work had to be done (for example, the phone in our appartment was not yet working, so if you needed anything you had to walk to the reception). The appartment was spacious, well equiped and comfortable. Sauna/swimmingpool area are very nice. Lot's of parkingspace. As mentioned before, it a bit of search to find everything in the building. The ski lockers are not on the floor level, so you have to use the stairs everytime you go in and out (kind of a hassle with ski's and ski boots). The appartments are located in the centre of Alpe d'Huez, so shops, restaurants etc are nearby. We are used to appartments, which are situated on/near the slopes. Now we had to walk for a few minutes to a lift, which brings you to the slopes. For me that would be the only reason I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjen_rosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Negatives- no 24 hr reception for checking in, really hard to find room due to this. Electric went off one night(during). Spa was closed for 1 day. You have to clean your apartment before leaving and they do a full check before you leave room. After checking out, we had to pay extra 104 euros(between 8 people) as French tax/vat went up incl 25. For admin charge.
Positives- really nice chalets, 2 double beds 2 twins,2 showers, 2 toilets, really warm and cozy, ski hire 2 mins away, lift to slopes 5min walk and can walk it in boots. Also bottom of a green slope 5-8min walk away. Spa is lovely, gym also. Gets busier between 4.30-5.30 but nothing too much. The sphere bar closest for after ski drinks. Recommend looking for the following, smythys bar (fab service,fab food with specials) pinoccios restaurant(amazing food and service) cheaper places for eating out, rum bar good place to drink, dont recommend le sporting bar, service rubbish, girl miserable we didn't go back. Nice inside though. - all in all fab place for staying I would return, great for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueeyesNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
0.6 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe

Property: Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe
Address: rue du Poutat | Avenue de l'Etendard, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Cristal De L'Alpe France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing