We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, decent Hotel although a bit dated”
Review of Hotel Le Pic Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at Le Pic Blanc for EGSW 2014.

The Hotel:
This hotel is a pretty decent ski resort hotel in a pretty average resort.
The rooms and main areas are clean but do look a bit tired/dated, although the dining room where they serve breakfast/dinner is bright, airy and has a great view of the mountains.

The Rooms:
The hotel rooms (although dated) are spacious, have a flat screen TV and decent WiFi connectivity, a mini fridge and the showers have great pressure and endless hot water.
But... they do NOT have any facilities to make tea/coffee, which would be ok if you were able to buy tea/coffee from the bar, but you can't for most of the day/night. The bar has very limited opening times.
Each room does have an allocated ski/snowboard locker right by the front entrance which makes storing your equipment very easy.

The Food:
We found the hotel's meal options a bit hit and miss to be honest.
For Breakfast there is a decent full continental selection with delicious pastries, but the "english" selection only consists of badly scrambled eggs and chopped up tiny bits of bacon. The same selection every day. Oh, and one toaster for all the guests to share...
For dinner, we found it VERY git and miss. Some nights the food was incredible and mouth wateringly good and some nights it was a school dinner. Definitely don't take half board, but rather visit restaurants around the resort.

The Resort:
L'Alpe-D'Huez is an average resort with its pros and cons. It is really big, which means having to take a bus from the hotel to the main training slopes and main lifts as it is too far to walk, especially with your equipment.
There are some lifts and slopes close enough to walk to from the hotel, so you can get skiing quickly if you want to.
The restaurants and bars in the resort are far apart as well. It is also a bit more expensive than the neighbouring resorts.

All in all, a decent stay, but will probably go to Les Duex Alps next year instead.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Nickd-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is dated with the place in need of some renovations and cleaning. The spa area was OK but the hot tub was so dirty, unclean and water was cold. I thought the point of a hot tub was for it to be hot (or at least warm). Lastly, the staff were a little rude from time to time with regards to simple questions about dinner in the restaurant, local restaurants / activities, etc. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here from 8-15 march 2014.
+ points
* very nice & large room with view on the mountains and sunny balcony
* location of the hotel not far from the slopes
* very good bartender who knows how to make a great caiprinha
* very good massage offer by fysiotherapist (especially the recovery massage)

- points
* rooms can be very warm (heating is difficult to put out)
* 4 course dinner every day is too much
* relatively hard matrasses

We were very pleased with the hotel and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cd048192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Less than a week back now and I thought I would share my views. Things that stuck in my mind as good about the hotel - Ski lockers, car parking (free opposite), small but perfectly adequate swimming pool and sauna (Jacuzzi not so good), good size room, nice public areas (plenty of communal seating), good access to Le Bergers ski area, small shopping precinct close by with supermarket/ski passes/chemist/pizza/bars etc, nice quiet area (not in the centre of town, so if you are after lively, go somewhere else). Small balcony with views down the valley.

The room was a little tired, but really quite acceptable. One English channel on TV (OK so we didn't want to watch much), bedding wasn't what I would call nice (sheet & blanket affair). Not much to complain about really.

One word of warning, don't show up at the restaurant without a booking and hope to be served. We did this one night and were turned away. They have a limited selection which is all ordered and cooked fresh by the chef. There were no spares for us, so we have take away pizza in our room. Our fault really for not booking, just a bit of a different set up than we are used to.

Not bad value overall and would have no hesitation staying again. It's about as close as you will get to a budget option in Aples d'Huez.

We found staff helpful and didn't find the place noisy at all as pointed out in some other reviews. This was our experience anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Groover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here over New Year and had a great time. The location is really good - not very far from the ski lifts - and on the way back you can almost ski to the door. We had rooms with balconies with spectacular views overlooking the mountains. Other reviewers have mentioned that the place next door can be noisy but although we heard some low level noise some nights this didn't disturb us (even on New year's eve).
We found the hotel staff really helpful and friendly. We had four rooms as we were a party of eight (4 adults and 4 older teenagers) and found that we had been given rooms very close together which was very thoughtful. The rooms were well appointed - and warm - you have control of the heat so you can make it as warm as you like.
The breakfasts were good - continental breakfast with croissants, rolls and pain au chocolat- but also scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and chopped bacon and lots of fresh fruit and cooked meats.
The evening meals were spectacular though - 4 courses - with a choice of mains and starters - and really good quality. The New year's eve gala dinner was amazing - free champagne flowing freely - and delicacies such as lobster - there were 8 eight courses and we struggled to eat it all but it was the kind of meal you woud get in a top restaurant.
The spa was good as well - a small pool and jacuzzi and sauna. The pool and jacuzzi weren't heated to a very high temperature so we spent more time in the sauna but nice to have after a day's skiing.
The only slight negative I have is that the bar and restauarant areas coud be a bit warmer - there was an open fire place but the fire was never lit. Just wear a jumper and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I am writing this review after coming back from the best weeks ski-ing my wife have had in a long time.

The hotel is perfectly situated about a 5 minute walk in ski boots from the Marmottes 1 chair.

However, if you time it right, you can get the strawberry bus to the nursery slopes......Which is ideal if you have a children/wife who doesn't like walking whilst carrying ski's !!!!

The food in the hotel was the best we have had in any ski hotel.

The breakfast is typical standard contintal breakfast (I would have loved a BIG fry up on one of the mornings) but the croissants and boiled eggs (6 minutes) made a good alternative.

However the evening meal more than made up for it.

This was a four course meal (soup, choice of 2 starters, choice of 2 mains, desert).

On one of the nights we had the option of a fillet steak..........Done to perfection

Our room was on the 2nd floor, facing the Bergers complex.

It had a large double bed and a 32inch Samsung TV (this is of note as I was able to hook up my laptop with a VGA cable and watch some films)

Now the one negative, and this was a problem for us as we are an early to bed/early to rise couple.

The hotel is adjacent to the Ecrin Hotel(which is currently 34 of 35).

The patrons of this hotel were shall we say..........exciteable. Regardless of what time of the night it was...........they were exciteable.

Unfortunately this meant we couldn't get to sleep till late (for us). But probably Ok for anyone else who likes a drink to the wee hours.

So to sum it up, would I go back, yes I would.

But I would ask for a room the overlooks the valley instead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kennylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Location is close to the slopes, view was pretty good, but the management seemed set on trying to take peoples deposits from them. Someone apparently made a mess at the front of the hotel, so the management decided to take the deposit of everyone it possibly could have been. Also they were very cheap, don't expect to find toilet roll in your room when you arrive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Not A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Caribou
Hotel le Caribou
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#8 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
#10 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Pic Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pic Blanc

Address: 90 Rue du Rif Briant, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: £82 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Pic Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Pic Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pic Blanc Hotel
Hotel Le Pic Blanc France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing