We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional French family hotel, good value”
Review of Le Castillan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Castillan
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A very friendly family run hotel on what used to be the front line in alpe d'Huez. The service from all the staff is impeccable and welcoming, the hotel is very tidy although the rooms are dated. I would go for a room with a view , use the ski hire shop downstairs ( really helpful guy) you can get ski passes from the tourist office 2 minutes away and either get the lift opposite to the slopes or drive 2 minutes away . Food in the hotel is good alternatively there is the edelweiss restaurant on the same street , smithies tex Mex round the corner or pinochios pizza opposite the ice rink all a few minutes walkaway . For a short skiing break I recommend this traditional French family hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufusmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Le Castillan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have just stayed at this Hotel for One night only, and will most certainly be going back.
We only stayed for the night, because we were the back up team for cyclists, riding for pleasure the last four stages of The Tour De France.
The room we stayed in had a fantastic look over the mountains, the room was very clean, tidy and very comfortable, only downside was the bed, it was a little on the small side.
We were only B & B, The breakfast was extremely good, with a great range, including bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Booked this hotel for megavalanche weekend. It served a purpose but would prefer to have been closer to lift station. Everything was quite shabby and tired. Restaurant was closed. Breakfast was included in the price but poor quality too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DASHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed there for a night in summer as I had to be in AD the following day. Very nice terrace out front with views over the mountains to the south. Many of the bedrooms have that view too. Rooms are basic and a bit tired but communal areas are pleasant and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelwitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Excellent value. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly. The staff were charming.The breakfast was a treat my only regret was not eating the restaurant for the evening meal as I'm confident it would have reflected the high standard elsewhere in this charming place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The owners were most helpful to deal with any issues. they went out of their way to help with something they did not have to do. very good service, even better food. I had a great experience staying here. it definitely exceeded my expectations, 2 star rating is an underestatement. i would stay here again or if can't get a room, would come here for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowbordistka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We arrived by bus from Grenoble on Friday afternoon and were given a room on the second floor. It had a double bed, a separate toilet, and a bathroom with a shower, and a balcony facing the mountains and other hotels. I don't normally like the carpets but didn't mind it here because the hotel seemed very clean. We thought the hotel could gain points / upgrade its image rather easily: e.g. the curtains and the bed cover were sort of tacky, and were they changed, the rooms would look much nicer and modern.

We payed 126E/night for the room (during the last weekend of the French school holidays) and 12E/person/day for the b/fast, so the total for 1 nigth came to 150E. We had been considering about 1/2 pension, but were happy in the end that we had not chosen it (there are plenty of restaurants nearby; however think of reserving early!).
The hotel seemed very quiet, and there was hardly anyone at the dinner. Even the bar area (which has nice arm chairs, big windowns facing the mountains and a fire place) seemed always nearly emtpy.

The breakfast had everythind we needed: cereal, eggs, ham, cheece, fruits, etc. Nothing fancy, but all basic and ok... A good selection of jams, honey, tea etc. The only thing we didn't like was coffee!

We used the sauna once. It was also empty! You do not need to reserve it, and there is a sauna and a steam room. It is free.

There is also free wifi.

In general, we felt the hotel was a good choice. We had researched for many hotels in the Alpe d'Huez, and this was one of the least expensive ones, and the reviews has been rather good. We still think 150E/night is expensive for what it is, but it is all relative: all hotels are expensive in the Alps... We visited some other hotels out of the curiosity, and remained convinced that we had made a good choice.

The service was always very friendly, and the ski rental recommended by the hotel and located in the same building was very nice too (helmets offered). The access to the ski lifts is also easy: you have two choices: Garde de Sure and Telecentre.

Would we go back? Yes, probably, unless someone tells about another hotel that we still have not discovered!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lapyska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Caribou
Hotel le Caribou
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alp'azur
Hotel Alp'azur
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castillan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castillan

Address: 268 route de la Poste | bp 08, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#4 Spa Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: £145 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Castillan 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1955, the Castillan family have been your hosts, featuring the same quality service... In the pure tradition of this hotel passed on from father to son, Julien and his wife Stéphanie have taken up the torch... Simplicity, quality and authenticity, summer and winter alike, with resort's slopes and other activities (particularly summer ones) just nearby : tennis, swimming pool, golf, skating rink, horseback riding, mountain biking, hiking, aeromodelling... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Castillan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castillan Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Le Castillan France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing