We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for access to ski lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I had to make a last minute reservation when previously made plans fell through. This hotel had 1 room available due to a cancellation. It turned out to be a surprisingly perfect choice. The room was large and the cleaning staff was very efficient. The front desk personnel were very knowledgeable and spoke both English and French. The breakfast, included in the room price, was a bit meager (only one breakfast meat-ham, whereas other hotels had ham, salami and another sausage)and did not have any hard boiled eggs. Access to a "people mover" lift across the street transported user to base of ski lifts in five minutes made up for this. Hotel has clean indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi as well as separate boot and ski room common to all French ski resorts. My room had a huge balcony - nice for sitting in the sun at the end of a day of skiing. Based on the geographic access and cleanliness of the room, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardTRHS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

+ Great location for skiing as it's near the lift taking you to the main ski area. Also great location as it's near the centre of the resort.
+ Amazing food (dinner). Simply best food I've had for a long time - we ended up eating at the hotel almost every night and the price for a 3 course meal was very good too (EUR 22).
+ Recently renovated. While you can tell the age of the hotel by e.g. the walls and the corridors, where it matters like bathrooms, beds etc everything is new, well maintained and works perfectly.
+ Very nice reception area with free wi-fi
+ Very nice and polite stuff
+ Amazing view from the front of the hotel
(-) Breakfast was o.k. but could be improved
(-) Price wise it wasn't that cheap especially considering this is not an A-Class resort (about EUR 160 per night for a basic room)

Overall, simply an amazing experience. Things like friendliness of the stuff and quality of the food more than compensate for any negatives. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmitsides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We arrived at 6.30 in the morning, expecting to drop our bags off and wait until 5 for check in - three of us travelled to this hotel but only two of us had booked a room, my daughter was due to stay with friends. What a pleasant surprise we got when the gentleman on reception not only told us our room was ready but also offered my daughter a room to catch up on her sleep - free of charge - this chap is a real asset to the hotel!!
We found the location for skiing excellent, next to the bucket lift which takes you directly to the lifts and slopes - no walking with skis and boots for us. Location very central for meals out and close to local bars etc.
This hotel has obviously had problems but the owner Patricia has made her mark already. Beautiful new outside furniture and general touches here and there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe_brittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a fantastic time skiing in Alpe d’Huez and staying at Les Grandes Rousses was the key to the success of our trip!

The hotel has a personality and an inviting atmosphere, all credit to Patricia Grelot Collomb and her team who looked after us very well.

Our double room was spacious, comfortable, very well equipped and had a breath-taking view over the mountains. We slept very well.

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the resort at the foot of the slopes. Everything is accessible by foot.

The buffets were varied, satisfying and delightful. We loved the ‘Wine Cheese and Chocolate and Music’ formula as well as the Lounge Bar and its jazzy atmosphere for our early evening drinks. We also enjoyed relaxing in the Spa and the swimming pool after skiing.

The staff are friendly, enthusiastic, well-organized and always there when needed. They arranged our transfers and our ski rentals.

This is a fabulous hotel for people of all ages. The service is excellent and top notch.

We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNCopUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The G.m.Alberto was foreverer of his mobile phone doing his best to look after the clients needs, i think the head receptionist was all smiles and jolly and even babysitted our children all day, i believe her name was virginme. A total gent was one of the cooks, a morrocan called Rasheed who went out of his way and socialized with the whole family, he even bought for the kids a game of twister and two bottles of oil for ourselves, how sweet. The chef, Thierry, was very err.. accomadating to our dietary needs, and assured us he could pull anything out the bag for us, which he did. It is truly a family business, steve the handyman was making sandwiches and unblocking our toilet and his daughter,Storm, was scrubbing it clean, Benoit, the restaurant manager was very polite and offered a private mini bar on the house, which was very generous of him, especially as we had the French cooks to entertain.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leoscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

myself and family went to alp duez and stayed at the grand rousee at christmas, the staff were extremly polite and helped to the best of there training. the food neaded much improvement location was excellent the hotel was basic but clean . i am sorry to here they have gone as was looking forward to going back in half term was excelent value for money

Room Tip: you must have balcony side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pharmea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#3 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Christina
Hotel Le Christina
#10 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Au Chamois d'Or
Hotel Au Chamois d'Or
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caribou
Hotel le Caribou
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
103 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel L'Ancolie
Hotel L'Ancolie
#21 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grandes Rousses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grandes Rousses

Address: 425 Route du Signal, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: £165 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grandes Rousses 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Grandes Rousses enjoy a spectacular location at the heart of the Alpe d'Huez ski resort. This ski-in ski-out hotel lies in the very centre of the village. You have the choice of putting on your skis here and taking the ski-lift or using the cable car mid-station. At the end of your day, you can ski back and take off your skis outside the hotel. The hotel's direct access to the slopes and hiking routes means that you can get the most out of the mountains. You can then enjoy the cosy atmosphere of a delightful, spacious chalet... for a ski holiday to remember in Alpe D'Huez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Grandes Rousses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grandes Rousses France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing