We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great english speaking budget hotel”
Review of Hotel le Chamois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Chamois
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Easy walk to the Les Bergers lifts and the bus station. South facing balconies offer a nice view. Room was clean and plenty large enough for a value hotel. Bathroom was clean and ample. Had enough hot water. Cold breakfast (yogurt, cereals, croissants, juice, coffee) kept me going all day, I did not stop for lunch. Dinner was adequate in quality and quantity. No noise issues the two nights I was there. Secure place to store skis and boards. Helpful and pleasant staff. OK, so what is the rub; decor in the rooms was old, hallway narrow and dark, living room was basic, Wi-Fi was finicky but fine when I hard wired into it. The dining room was quite pleasant for hanging around after a day on the slopes. I look for clean basic accommodations at a value. Le Chamois offered superior quality to a similar type of hotel I stayed in while at Tignes though I found Tignes to be a superior ski area to Alpe d'Huez.

Room Tip: Upper floors are further from the underground bar which I believe can get noisy on some nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of January 2012. It was a fantastic start to the New Year. A basic hotel, but this by no way means it doesn't provide a quality experience. The hotel staff were excellent, very welcoming, very friendly , efficient and accommodating. The food was also great and plentiful and the choice is extremely varied. The rooms are comfortable, clean and warm.
The 'Underground Bar' also provided a welcoming atmoshphere and was nice to retreat in the evening after a day skiing.
Location of the Hotel is great for which ever slopes you head for.
Overall our experience in this hotel and resort will definately tempt us back again and we would confidentally recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 14 & 15 which were on the top floor with great views and away from any potent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodminSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We are a group of two families, with older teenagers and stayed over the New Year 2011/12.

First impressions were that the hotel was a very basic and bit shabby but the rooms were clean and the beds cosy.

After we settled in we came to see that this place was actually ideal for our purposes. The owners and staff were very friendly, helpful and easy going. The hotel bar/restaurant is small enough that you immediately felt at home and the food was generally very good. If I had any complaint it would be that breakfast is limited to cereals/bread/croissants with no meat/cheese/eggs or any other protein. In farness you could pre-order things like beans on toast or a fry up but I didn’t realise this until the last day.

The ‘underground’ bar really gets going after about 10:30 and is very good fun. It was ideal for us as we could get there without having to dress up for the weather. It is also nice to know that the older teenagers could stay late without the danger of getting lost and freezing on the way home. New Year’s Eve was wild – don’t forget your fancy dress!

Noise from the bar itself is not a problem but people in the street outside can be a real nuisance. The hotel has free ear plugs if you want them!

Although not ‘Ski to the door’ access to the snow couldn’t have been much easier – there’s a gentle piste 50m from the front door with a short run down to the chair lift that even an absolute beginner would find easy.

Would we go again? Definitely !!

----------------------------------------------------
The good stuff :

Small and friendly
Great value
Flexible on days
Good food
Very convenient
One of the best bars in town

-------------------------------------------------
The bad stuff:

Can be noisy – not good for young families
Rooms very basic

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivanelofanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed over New Year 2011/2012. Rooms were adequate; basic, but bright and clean. Storage space was limited, but I personally did not find this to be an issue.

I agree with previous reviews regarding the staff: both in the hotel and downstairs in the bar they were friendly and enthusiastic and even made the effort to remember the guests' names.

The food was of good quality meaning that the half-board option presents genuine value for money.

I would say, though, that this very much budget-style accommodation catering to those who like to ski hard and party hard. There can be issues with noise, and those who might be sensitive to this, in particular families with younger children, might be advised to look for an alternative.

All in all, a nice place to stay for anyone looking for low-cost accommodation in Alpe d'Huez.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eno25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Excellent for commited skiers or for those who don't care about sophistication. This is a simple hotel offering basic but clean rooms (many with a balcony, good views) and delicious food (including the breakfast). The bar on its ground floor ("Underground bar") is lively and can be sometimes noisy. Location is good, just across the street from one of the chairlifts and on a walking distance from the main village center, with several restaurants and bars nearby. Bear in mind, though, that Alpe D'Huez is a sprawling resort, subdivided in sectors, all of them spoiled by street/ road-through traffic. However, the mountains here worth every effort...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVZanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a group of friends on a ski weekend. Room large and spacious with ample room. Had a large balcony with great south facing views of the slopes. On the edge of the old town - bit of a trek to the main lifts but great for apres ski.

Plenty of hot water and clean towels every day if you wished which was great after a day on the slopes.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Evening meal served at 8pm which we found to be perfect timing - a few beers in the bar, shower, snooze then dinner. Perfect!! And what a dinner. Really nice food, and served with a smile to boot!

Top nightspot - Underground - inthe basement of the hotel - perfect.

Would highly recommend the hotel if going on a skiing holiday. The slopes are only a 5 minute walk - but then a long lift to the main lifts at les Bergers.

Great holiday - Great Hotel - ideal for skiing!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I have stayed at this hotels for the las 5 years. Its a typical alpine hotel, but with great fun and happy to always help staff. The skiing is not very far in fact it all starts in front of the hotel!!! The bar is GREAT!!!!! good music and very hillariously funny when they do fancy dress!!! Keep it up guys... Cant wait to next January

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeymonkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
#11 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#15 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chamois

Address: Chemin de la Chapelle, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: £107 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel le Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Chamois France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing