We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain crazy, superb hospitality!”
Review of Hotel Les Cimes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Les Cimes
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bargain crazy, superb hospitality!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week, Inghams "last minute" ski deal.....one of our best holidays ever! Staff are a young, hard-working group who all make it a friendly and welcoming hotel. The food for dinner is "masterchef" style - never eaten so well! (Chris, head chef, is moving on so Inghams need to find a new guru!!)
Hotel is located really close to chairlift (la grande sure), to top of "Signal" or you can walk downhill for 5mins to the "lobster pots" to take you into main 'basecamp' of the ski lifts and runs....soooo easy!
TIPS - take ear plugs (you can hear everything around you! But ear plugs worked!)...visit the outdoor pool for great affordable food (locals and instructors eat there!)....palais de sport is 15 mins walk and great for gym, mini golf and indoor swim (on a non ski day?).....delighted with this great hotel and holiday!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark_berny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    44
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
66
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a great resort with great variety of skiing. The Staff of Les Cimes were really friendly and helpful - nothing was a problem. The Hotel Assistants were always smiling and happy to make the hotel run smoothly and ensure the guests had excellent service. In particular, I must mention Sam's fabulous smile, Alex, Ella & Mikey with their ever-ready grins, Jon the Barman's variety of cocktails and Franscesca's effortless organisational skills. Well done to all the staff for giving everyone a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Any floor as there is a lift. South facing has a beautiful view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyguest417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week in March. All the young staff lead by Shelley were lovely, polite, efficient and organised and without sounding like some old fogey, their parents should be so proud of them for working so hard! The food was outstanding ! all credit to the chefs as they served dish after dish that would have not looked out of place in a 5 * top restaurant.
Our room (number 1) was big, clean and comfortable and the south facing balcony offered great mountain views. The bar area was comfy and welcoming and the barman, Jon was efficient and had a great sense of humour.
Nearest lift was only 2 mins away and you could ski back to within 200 metres of the door.
Great week and being a Travel Agent will definately reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for one of the south facing balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our party of 7 had a tremendous time at Hotel Les Cimes and we cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were, without exception, very attentive, professional and good fun to be with. The quality of the food and its preparation was of the highest quality. The rooms were properly cleaned every day and looked pristine and spotless on our return each day from the slopes.

The young staff and the management team deserve all the credit for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay - brilliant staff who went the extra mile to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons. Our daughter (7) loved it and had the choice of high tea or eating with the grown ups in the evening. We found the free bus excellent at the end of the day which picked up from the slopes and dropped us outside the hotel door - our only disappointment was that the Inghams rep didn't tell us about it and we found out by accident on day 4. The walk up from the lobster pot lift is not horrendous, but try telling that to a 7 yr old in ski boots at the end of the day! Loved the hotel and would definitely recommend it. Our star members of staff were Shelley and Jon, and not forgetting Alex with the "frilly hair"!

Room Tip: Triple room 6 was at the end of the first floor corridor and was excellent - very little noise and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked this half board hotel chalet week a couple of weeks ago as a last minute deal. For the money it was exceptional value.
Shelley and her young staff were attentive and welcoming and ensured everyone was well looked after.
Breakfast was well presented as a cooked option and/or continental. Plenty of choice for all.
Evening meal was fantastic, as was the free flowing wine. The chef Chris mixed and chatted most nights with guests which was a nice touch. Guests are seated from Shelley's table plan, and she skilfully matched different parties together ensuring a pleasant night for all.
The location is OK for skiing beginners as it means an uphill walk to lifts first thing. More able skiiers have a short walk to a piste and down to a chairlift. Snow was a bit thin in the village - we were there in April after all - but I imagine with snow you could ski most of the way back. I should add there is a free resort shuttle bus stop across the road from the hotel which we did not use.
We had a room with a balcony offering stunning views into the valley. It was basic, clean and adequate. Rooms were tidied every day except staff day off.
The barman Jon was very helpful, and offered advice and information freely.
A unique 'hair do' mention must go to Alex the waiter. A talking point for all who dealt with him. Good to see individualism!
As this is a review of Les Cimes and not Inghams I hate to say that the weak link was the rep' Nathan, and probably outside of the scope of a hotel review. It was very difficult to book anything without complying to his timetable. As a guest I would expect this to be the other way round. His welcome speech excluded basic information such as skilift locations and opening times. We were advised to make a restaurant booking on the staff night off and those that didn't were practically scolded in public. Very strange indeed.
However, I would thoroughly recommend this as an outstanding base for a skiing week, and would certainly consider returning.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morfa Nefyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Room - We were a party of three staying for a week at the end of March, and had a south facing room with a balcony, ensuit and three single beds. The room was basic, but satisfactory, which since we spent our time on the slopes or in the lounge area was not an issue. The ensuite had a toilet, sink, cupoboard, heated towel rail, and a bath/shower combination, which had plenty of room for our larger party member. Unlike previous chalet hotels, they do not have the blanket/sheet combination, and instead have duvets. There was a TV, but only french channels unfortunatly. The rooms were cleaned every day, apart from on Wednesday which is the staff day off. Friendly notes left tell you who cleaned your room, and often leave an interesting fact. Room was always cleaned well. There is a small safe in the room, although it could not fit a larger tablet in, and was not bolted down. Only issue was the heating; the first evening people complained of a slight chill, so the heating was turned up, and from then on, even with our rooms heating turned off, the room was very hot, and had to prop the door open.

Facilities - There is a large dinning room one side of the reception, and a spacious lounge area the other side, with a bar, sofas, pool table, and board games. The main reception is reached by climbing up external stairs onto the main balcony (which has chairs and tables if you want to sit outside). If you go around the stairs, you can enter the boot rooms on the ground floor. Always kept warm to dry boots, there are plenty of shelves for boots, and racks for skis and boards, however, the floor is often slgihtly damp, so would advise not walking around in socks. Oppsite the boot room is a toilet, and the health facilities, including a sauna. This is free to use, but the staff stated that since iit is not often in use during the day, they turn it off, and to just ask so that they can turn it on your you. The hotel does have an elevator for if you are tired, or moving luggage around. The hotel also has free wifi.

Staff - The staff were so friendly and lovely. The hotel manager was always around and helpful if you had issues. The barman was very pleasent, and willing to talk. All of the waiter/waitresses were young, but very competant. The ski rep was lovely, and willing to solve issues, recommend places to eat, organise ski hire and help organise outings.

Activities - We booked into the snowboard taster session (17:30 til 19:00 on Thursday for 17euros), and was advised by the ski rep that if we took our skis and boots to the hire shop recommended, they would swap them for boots and board for 5euros, and back again for another 5euros. Definently worth it for anyone who wants to try boarding but doesnt want to give up a skiing holiday. There were also two pub quizes organised in the lounge area by the barman, which were fun. One was picture based (logos of fast food outlets, cars, TV shows etc) and the other was themed general knowledge and riddle-type. No prizes, just pride at stake. There was a pub crawl organised, which we didn't take part, but sounded well organised, with a free drink or shot at each location. Organised by the ski rep, he seemed to have everything under control, when the next morning tales came of drunkeness, but he had herded everyone safely back to the hotel.

Food - amazing. Served between 07:30 and 09:30. With a range of continental breakfast options (cereals, yoghurts, pastries, cheese, cold meats, fruit salads, boiled eggs and toast) and changing hot options (often a variation of a cooked english breakfast, a vegetarian cooked, pancakes, and porridge), as well as a large selection of fruit juices, the food was good.
Afternoon tea was brilliant, between 16:30 and 17:30 (this may be different earlier in the season due to lift closing times changing with sunset) involved a selection of cake, biscuits, a soup, sliced french bread, and a savory option (cheese straws, mini pasties etc). Serve yourself tea, coffee and hot chocolate was availible, as was a choice of two different flavours of squash.
The evening meal was excellent. Starting at 19:30 in the lounge area for canapes and appertiffes, the staff were pleasent and helpful, passing around the different drinks and foods. Dinner is at 20:00, and the staff move you around different tables to meet other groups of people every night. You can request to sit, or not to sit, with certain people, and they seemed observant as to who got on well with each other, and repeatedly sat together certain combinations of people. The dinner itself was exquisit. Apparently the head chef had recently gone on maternity leave, and the position was taken up by the soux chef, but you could not tell. You have given the choice during breakfast between two starters (one vegetarian), three mains (one vegetarian, and often one fish), and two deserts, followed by a cheese board, tea and coffee and small chocolates. Every dish was excellant. No one left anything, or had any complaints. Once, a vegetarian complained that the vegetarian main option they weren't a fan of, and the chef offered to make a special alternative. Cannot stress how good the food is, but not for someone who is watching their weight.

Location - Bit further out of town, but was quiet because of this (although if the window is open you can hear noises). About 10 mins walk to centre, but there are the odd shop nearer. About five minutes walk from the recomended ski hire shop, Altitude. The best way to the slopes is actually to head in the opposite direction to the centre, heading right out of the chalet, towards a car park, crossing the car park you reach a slope, and about 50m downhill is a 2 man chair lift. It is less than a five minutes walk, even carrying equipment in ski boots. However, the run is a red, and although that stretch is more blue, it is not suitable for beginners, as it is not very wide. I you are a beginner, or just don't fancy it, heading left from the chalet, ten minutes to the slope (fifteen in all the gear), or after five minutes you reach the "yoghurt pot" lift - small pods which you stand in and carry you across the village above the houses, and take you to the slopes, or other stops across the village. Easier than walking, but quite slow, you have to use your lift pass to get on, and probably not for those scared of heights.

Alpe D'Huez - Good skiing, not as many runs as it seems as a there are a few green beginners slopes all next to each other which add to the total piste length (236km). Totals - 94 green runs, 82 blues, 88 reds and 40 blacks. Mostly reds and blues, with a few blacks, two good beginners areas, and a snow park. The lift pass also allows you to ski in Les 2 Alpes, though you need to catch a bus. The famous "Sarenne" black run from the top of Pic Blanc is good to say you have done - 16km of black, but not too hard - the top bit is steep, then the middle section alternates between black sections and shorter reddish sections, with the bottom several kilometers being virtually flat. It is fairly easy to ski from one side of the Grand Domaine to the other in a day if you are competant at skiing reds. Only issue, although it is not low (Alpe D'Huez is 1850m) it is south facing and gets a lot of sun - lovely weather, but often means slushier at lower levels in the afternoon.

Overall - good rooms, clean, friendly staff, excellent food, good location. Would definently come again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside have a balcony overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllanGravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Christina
Hotel Le Christina
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dome
Hotel Le Dome
#8 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cimes

Property: Hotel Les Cimes
Address: Route de la Poste | 38750, L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Cimes France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing