We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly attentive staff with great food”
Review of Hotel Les Cimes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Les Cimes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

As said by many people the rooms are a little tired but that is of no consequence as the Inghams staff are the friendliest and most attentive you could ask for. Add to that food which was of an excellent quality, a good bar and Nathan the resort rep we rated this one of the best places we had stayed in over 25 years of skiing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a great Inghams ski trip staying at Hotel les cimes. Staff were helpful, food was plentiful and tasty, we particularly liked the afternoon teas after getting back from a days skiing, very welcome, and plenty of wine with our evening meal. We were very well looked after by our rep Nathan who was extremely helpful when a set of our groups ski's got accidentally taken by someone else when we were having lunch. All in all great holiday

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned from a weeks skiing at Easter in Alpe d'huez with my wife and son, where we stayed at Hotel Les Cimes run by Inghams.

The hotel is in a reasonable location, a short walk from the centre of the resort where you can get the "yoghurt pot" lift to the slopes. There is also the Grand Sure chairlift closer by although this was a bit innaccessible at this time of year due to lack of snow in the resort.

We had a triple room which was clean and comfortable and had the bonus of fantastic views to snow capped peaks to the south. The room also had ensuite bathroom which was fine. The bath was slightly small and the water pressure was a bit low but always hot.

All the staff and reps were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful, even carrying our bags to the room on arrival.

Best thing about the hotel was the food which was excellent. Breakfast included both a cold buffet of cereals, fruit fresh croissants, tea/coffee, juice, plus a cooked full english to set you up for a day's skiiing.

Afternoon tea was served at 4.30pm which included tea coffee, homemade cakes and biscuits plus homemade soup which was a nice addition.

The main dinner was served at 8pm and included starter, main course, pudding and cheese. Each course had a choice of 2 or 3 options which you chose at breakfast. There was also a choice of 5 wines, which were free and were all very drinkable. The food was all wonderfully presented and cooked.

Children could eat seperately at an earlier time or join the adults at 8pm where they could either have the kids menu or the adult menu which you have to requets and pay extra for when you book. Our 11 year old ate the adult menu and loved it so it was worth paying the extra for him.

Considering the bargain price we paid everything was excellent.

My only complaint is that I expected to return from skiing fit and healthy but ended up having gained a few pounds! :-)

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roddy-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just got back from a last week of the season break at Les Cimes and cannot recommend enough for the price paid. Food reviews that we read before we went do not do justice to the beyond expectation meals that we had all week. Wine stopped at the cheese course but was as much as you wanted until then. Afternoon soup and cakes also delicious. All of the staff were really friendly and Shelley and her team were very professional and helpful.
Some reviews mentioned that groups were separated at meals, which worried my family a little, but we sat together as a family of 8 every meal time. Tables were allocated so no need to rush down early to grab a table except breakfast, when the tables were split into more 4s and 6s.
Only juices were free for children so had to pay for cokes and lemonades at dinner which seemed a little petty considering how much wine you had included.
Cant comment if ski in or out as no snow in resort the week we went. However pistes were very well managed and we tended to go over to Montfrais most days as snow over that side was much better and it was practically empty. Also great for Marmotte spotting on the chair lift which the kids loved.
Only downsides were shower small and low pressure but always hot, bed wasn't comfortable for me but great for my other half, rep booked tables for most people on the non food day but when we got to our restaurant they had no booking for us and also another party. Would have loved a bath.
Would definitely go back if chef returns but next time more in season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a 1 week Easter break. The staff in the hotel are friendly and always smiling. The food is full master chef style and the sticky toffee pudding is to die for, the FREE bottles off wine during the meal never stop flowing and are greatly appreciated . When we stayed there was 74 guests but the hotel never seemed over crowded and everything worked like clockwork.
We had a triple room, South facing with balcony and it was quite large with a bath and shower.
The sauna and steam room downstairs was good and hardly ever used by any other guests so not crowded.
Would definitely recommend a chalet type hotel for the variety of people met. We have some good skiing with friends made during the holiday and really enjoyed the resort of Alp De Huez

Room Tip: South Facing rooms with balcony have a great mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have just got back from a fantastic break at les Cimes, it was the very last week of the season for Shelley and her team . From the very start all the staff were so helpfull. They even carried all our bags to our rooms allowing us to relax from the journey in the bar run by Jon. Shelley and her team were fantastic all week. We have never eaten so much lovely food. Top marks to chef and his team and we wish chef all the best as he heads to Japan.
Our room was comfortable, perhaps a slight downside was the flow of water through the taps and the shower, however we always had hot water.
Although it hadnt snowed for three weeks we had plenty to ski around on.
On the staff day off Nathan our rep organised a meal for us in lounge 21. If you get the chance I highly recommended this restaurant.

Great resort , great chalet, great staff. We will be back.
John on the rowdy table

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in April and had a fantastic holiday. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The food was outstanding, the wine plentiful and the ambiance in the restaurant in the evening superb. It really was fantastic value for money. Most evenings my children had high tea at 5.30 and the staff had printed personalised menus for them which made them feel like VIPs. They really enjoyed the high tea which was tailored for children, but of a very high quality. Our room was spacious, had a south facing balcony with amazing views and the water in the en-suite was always nice and hot.

On the first day we walked to the yoghurt pots, but with two kids this was a minor pain, so after that we skied down to the Grand Sur chairlift and were quickly at the top of Signal for our first run of the day. There was still lots of snow, but weather was incredibly warm which meant slushy slopes in the afternoon and as the week went on the snow was becoming much more patchy, but it was April.

Alpe D'Huez is a great family ski resort and I cannot recommend Les Cimes (particularly for the staff and quality of food) highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alp'azur
Hotel Alp'azur
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#8 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Prince
Hotel Le Petit Prince
#16 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cimes

Address: Route de la Poste | 38750, L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Cimes France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing