We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski holiday to L'Alpe D'Huez in France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Waltham Cross
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ski holiday to L'Alpe D'Huez in France”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Overall a good holiday. In a rather low snowfall season in the Alps apart from some Italian resorts Alpe D'Huez fared better than other French resorts that most go to. 28cms snowfall with no wind on Monday afternoon/evening made for great skiing on Tuesday and Wednesday. Thursday 2cms, Friday 1cms but with high winds closing higher lifts with the best ski terrain was not so good but the lower valleys Auris En Oisans, Villard Reculas provided some shelter. The off piste down from top of Signal De L'Homme dropping onto the lower part of Sarenne was very good. 5cms on Saturday with the winds finally clearing made for a great afternoon finish as the upper lifts had been closed for 2.5 days finally got go ski the Le Tunnel run the only proper black run and the top of the Sarenne and the good bowl skiing around the Glacier chair. The off piste cutting right off Cristaux black run is particularly good with a valley finish onto the lower part of the Sarenne. You do have to take your skis off to cross the stream as the snow bridge across gets washed away only 2cms to 4cms deep water so not an issue. This is why the lower part of Sarenne is officially closed but most ski it to avoid downloading on Marmotte 3 ski lift. Snow base was 60cms on lower and 180cms on arrival but a better 80cms on lower and 200cms on departure. As far as Cub Med accommodation is concerned a rather dated decor in places as in most French hotels so those expecting modern decor will be disappointed. 8 floor massive hotel pretty much ski in ski out set high above the main resort town a 25 minutes walk down to or 10 minutes bus that did not seem that frequent ( make sure you get the Citreon bus not Fraise bus unless you want to end up in Huez 1500!). Rooms are spacious with cruise ship style toilet and compact shower. One large double bed and single. TV with BBC1, BBC2, BBC World News and Cbbies as far as English channels are concerned. Poor internet speed throughout the hotel even in reception costs 20 euros for a week just about does internet surfing and apps but forget trying to watch video or internet TV online. The pool is 15m x 15m good to swim but very 1980s, gym is small with limited equipment and changing rooms are small cramped and very dated 1970s a tad dirty. The corridors to the rooms do have a stale smoking smell on all floors but it is France a pro smoking country to be expected. The evening entertainment is ok but can be a bit bizarre at times. Nightclub in basement is best on Tuesday and Friday. Free drinks are good saves some cash. Champagne and label wines or double shots are chargeable. I just stayed on small beer anyways so not an issue. Ski lessons are good. Level 4 is just bombing around with minimal instruction. I preferred level 3 that still did off piste powder snow but with instruction and excercises to improve ski level. Would recommend Makato a Japansese instructor. Some bad points about lessons were that people regularly turned up late keeping the group waiting to start and the French ski school needed to be more strict grading ski levels as some wanted to ski with friends even though they were a lever level. In my group we had 6 who should have been level 2 but by Wednesday the group went down to 5 or 6 from 12 which was much better. Makato kept telling them level 2 stays on piste but level 3 does both mainly off to improve technique/experience. It does not have enough slopes to keep experts happy only 250kms, upper lifts are wind prone and close too frequently a wide open south facing sunny bowl. When Glacier chair and Pic Blanc cable car shuts it limits terrain significantly. More famous for the Tour De France Alpine bike climb with its numerous hairpin bend climbs to the resort. Food was very good in a massive food hall with plenty of choice. The whole hotel could do with a modern decor update the downstairs reception and eating area is ok, ski room acceptable with good locks you could use the locking pin with your suitcase lock, good to have ski service and rental inside ski room though boot dryers were not always turned on where mine were so I used my boot dryer in my room. My week there was an Israeli invasion with 350, 200 or so French and 5 Brits. I got a private transfer in a Mercedes estate taxi car as the coaches with the large Israeli group left so that was a faster 1 hour 15 transfer as opposed to the return coach that was 1 hour 45. 2.5 days of excellent skiing in powder snow and 3.5 days of wind prone closing high ski terrain but ski instructors were able to find some good areas to ski. Kids were remarkable well behaved and tended to eat separately in the Marmotte dining area or with parents in main eating area. I had expected out of control kids running around everywhere but this was not the case.No complaints just a honest account of my holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    382
    165
    77
    30
See reviews for
509
125
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinique
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Ski in and out of this club. Well placed with wonderfull views.some rooms are small but inconsequential as most of the time you are either on skis or doing other activities. Great Spa with great massage team and pool with Saunas.. Men and women separate. Lively GO team and always festive atmosphere. There is a kids club but they are not so much in the way of adults and not too numerous. All inclusive really means all inclusive. Cocktails at the bar... Wonderfull! After ski 11zes hot wine etc. then after ski tea time pancakes hot chocolate etc. the shows were great fun and though not professional ( in keeping with Club tradition) pretty good. Their ski equipment hire efficient. You can arrive with your own and good organization for storage, even ski boot warmer hangers. Only upset... You have to Pay 20e for WIFI and the connection is not 'top'. Good free bus service into the station 2 min. Ride!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Brilliant holiday. Paid for upgrade 'marmott' room - sill basic but big and clean. Food excellent lots to choose from. Staff friendly and helpful. Ski in and out was great only couple of minutes from all chairlifts. Snowboarding instructor great and took us on lots of different runs.
Only bad comment was that the evening entertainment was for kids - anti 'cheesy' - no where to escape needs a separate lounge for adults only

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 5th club med experience and the second at Alpe d'Huez. This time we visited with two other families each with children of differing skiing ability. Our children are "old hands" so quickly found the correct group. Our friends were not as fortunate, but that really is an ESF function not a resort function. We had a great stay at the resort. The rooms are small, but the beds as comfortable as any five star hotel (my son wanted to take a bed home). The ski in ski out is great. The Chief of the Village was amazing, huge attention to detail and personal service. The food was fantastic throughout. I don't think for the amount we ate drank and skied we could have done it any cheaper any other way, and we had awesome fun. Well done club med.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RHINOTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Second New Year week running spent at this hotel. We were a large party of 9 families and we all enjoyed the holiday. Yes it is euro-cheesy, yes the rooms are small and the bathrooms need renewing but once you get past that you relax and go with the flow!
The ski-in/ski-out location, great organisation of the ski/boot rooms, ski lessons (best instructor ever this year!), children's clubs etc make the whole process of getting out in the morning so easy, even for the smallest skiers.
The bar and restaurant offer good food and drink with something for everyone. They were very accomodationg with us as a large party - setting up a dining table for the 18 adults for example.
Finally, for a large group with variously aged children the all-inclusive worked brilliantly - no need to ask whose round it is or whether the children can have another hot chocolate...
I think we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 838JC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Thank you to Samuel and the club med team. We had a great holiday. The skiers loved the ski in ski out. We went for the first time with club med having skied all over Europe.This was great experiance with good snow conditions and great tuition.Special thanks to JP at ESF . The whole experience was great and we would also like to give special thanks to Julie who was an excellent masseur.Hopefully we will manage to visit again. Jenny and Mike Roe and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Sadly i dont have many good things to say about this hotel but i'll start with the positives. Ski in and out, although flat and tricky for us boarders was so convenient. The restaurant and bar staff were exceptional as was the food which was abundant and to a very high quality every night, i certainly didn't loose weight this holiday! I'm afraid thats about it though.

Rooms
Basic but clean, separate loo and shower room both very small and dated. Obviously had been smoked in at some point but aired out OK towards the end of the week.

Entertainment
There were very few British, which in itself is not an issue, but it is very European in outlook (sorry if i offend anyone here) but we were greeted by clapping and singing for a cheesy welcome meeting, the evening entertainment was cringey to say the least. And kids club, although I can see how this hotel is great for families, had shows also. With only one bar it was impossible to escape the tacky entertainment which meant we tended to go to bed early and play cards in our room. We were a group of 4 in our 20s but by no means party animals so were really sad we couldnt sit and just have a drink with some decent live/dj'd music in the evening.

Reception Staff
Rude. They messed up our booking for the Husky Sleds which meant us missing a days snowboarding waiting around for a slot with the dogs.They didn't leave a message in our rooms like they said they had, they didn't try to ring my mobile which they had on record. No apology. Secondly they told us we could pay for the excursion through the hotel as we booked it through them. This was incorrect and resulted in the poor woman from the Dog sledding having to come with us to the hotel to get her money. They spoke very little English - i'm no language snob, when i go abroad i try to learn the basics, but when you work in a Hotel that caters to many different languages i'm surprised hey could not communicate basic points such as times and money to us correctly.

Lessons
These were included for every level... Intermediate and proficient on a red run apparently to these guys means 'Off Piste' I failed miserably on the first day as i had not been advised correctly on the lesson levels. There were no lessons past being on the green runs, just snow group outings which was a big disappointment as i had wanted to improve not get stuck in a group doing what i already could. I did my own thing after the first day. My advise... ask and ask again what level they recommend and be VERY clear about your level of expertise!

Wifi
You had to pay for this. It kicked you off every time you shut your browser, and did not work in our room, rip off. Either dont charge or make sure it works in all of the rooms so your guests don't have to sit in the bar (with the terrible entertainment)

The holiday was by no means rubbish and the mountain and powered we had more than made the holiday, but La Serrenne from Club Med was a massive disappointment. Unless you like Cheesy Euro Pop or want an awesome hotel for your kids i would not reccomend this hotel. IO will not be going back!

Room Tip: Closer to reception and you may actually get WIFI signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alpe-d'Huez
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel  Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge de la Foret
Auberge de la Foret
#2 of 3 in Auris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne

Property: Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne
Address: Club Med L Alpe d Huez la Sarenne, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the meeting point of the six valleys of the Oisans, the resort of Alpe-d'Huez stretches out surrounded by the former alpine pastures of a mountain village. Dominating this suntrap spot and well placed on its sunny slope, this Club Med Village invites guests to launch out and revel in the thrill of the longest black run in Europe, while those who prefer to take it easy enjoy the panoramic view. Parents and children share the joy of new sensations as they zigzag around the skating rink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med l `Alpe d`Huez La Sarenne Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
L'alpe-D'huez Club Med
Club Med L 'Alpe D'Huez La Sarenne France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing