We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Catherine S

An amazing experience thanks to the families Trincaz and Command

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2023
I want to write a review before I leave because this place was such a special place for me in particular, and such an adventure. It took us 12 hours to get here door to door. We drove first to Gatwick at 4.30am and flew to Geneva and I think we landed in Geneva about 9am your time. We could have got a taxi from there, but we think the journey is an important part of the whole thing, so then we got a train to Anemasse and then Thonon les Bains but got stuck on the way due to a signal failure, so got stuck in a station for two hours on our way up, but then got a bus from Thonon Les Bains to Chapelle-D’Abondance. Then, the next day we hiked up to Col de Vernaz and down to Lac de Avourin. By that point we were completely exhausted! We work in hospitality and own a restaurant in Brighton so we were even tired from the weekend before we arrived. I must say that this hotel is amazing. You can see the history and the passion everywhere you look. And having kept the business in the family for 130 years is an incredible achievement. We are gradually acclimatising ourselves to this amazing place, but fear that the time here is too short. Everyone was so lovely, even though my French is not good. I did try to study before I came and did try. But for me it was an incredible place. I felt like I had landed in a different world, but one that I will never forget. Thank you so much for your kindness and an incredible experience X
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £105
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.5 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    0.1 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    0.8 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    1.5 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.3 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
    Free parking
    Pool
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    2.0 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    Le Marie Lydie
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.2 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      0.3 miles from Hotel Les Cornettes & Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
      Reviews (235)
      Filter reviews
      235 results
      Traveller rating
      138
      67
      18
      11
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      138
      67
      18
      11
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 235 reviews
      Reviewed 6 November 2017

      We had a room with kitchenette in the annex. It was spacious, clean and comfortable with lovely views and a pleasant balcony.
      We were warmly received. The hotel speak english.
      We had chosen the hotel because we had eaten there before. The food was a delight. Buffet breakfast was very good with a wide selection of good quality items.
      Dinners were superb. The food is obviously freshly prepared and of a high quality. The service was always prompt and friendly. Do not eat lunch because you will never manage dinner if you do. The Tartiflette is magnificent. The hotel prepared cured meats are wonderful. They even have chocolate mousse every night as a desert!!
      The swimming pool is good.
      If it should rain you can get to the main hotel from the annex by tunnel.

      Room tip: Ask for a mountain view
      Date of stay: September 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank Paul C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

      As always excellent food with excellent service. Taking friends for their first visit I can only say they were very impressed. This family owned hotel shows a lot of love for their business which is shown by all of the staff and family who will always be helpful and professional in their approach to everything they do.
      Always try to visit when in the area.

      Date of stay: September 2017
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Kaetu
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 August 2017

      A very lovely location but not too much to do there except for a little walk. The food at their restaurant is ok, not great, but pleasant. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and charmingly decorated.

      Room tip: Try to get a room in the back. It' quieter there
      Date of stay: July 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Molly D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

      Over the past 6 years I have never had a bad visit. Great food , great service, and well worth a visit . Never stayed here but eaten here regularly and would always recommend a visit . Be hungry when you go though.

      Date of stay: March 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      1  Thank O7487FHchrist
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 January 2017

      Well what a superb stay! We had eaten the great food at the Hotel before, but had never stayed. We stayed for a week and what an excellent stay it was! This is a hotel jammed packed with character, history and good service. The reception is quirky, but very efficient. Not for you if you don't like stuffed animals! However, the hotel is well appointed and tastefully decorated. The beds are really comfortable. The bar area is very welcoming and the staff there are great. Always warm welcomes, smiles and attentive service. The breakfast is varied and plentiful and the food is really good. Try a cocktail, they come with a real kick! The hotel is a real gem, with great facilities and really friendly and welcoming staff. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

      Date of stay: January 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank MRBSIXTYSIX
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews