We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic chalet, great service and amazing hospitality”
Review of Chalet Le Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Le Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Matt and Emma could not have done more to make our stay a better experience. We will be returning to Chalet le Dragon because of their hospitality, service and wonderful company. Don't look at other chalets, book with Matt and Emma at Chalet le Dragon

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonMorgan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Owner at Chalet Le Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our chalet for your annual ski holiday. We hope to see you again soon. Emma & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Le Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Chalet Le Dragon is an amazing place to stay. The accommodation is of a very high standard with all the little touches making your stay even more special. Matt and Emma were great hosts who looked after our every need. The views are stunning and the area is a great place to explore.

Room Tip: The main bedroom at the front of the chalet with the large beautiful bathroom is stunning. However...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasha_whitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Owner at Chalet Le Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

It was lovely to meet you and your family in the summer. Thank you for taking the time to do a review of the chalet. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from an superb week at Le Dragon. The chalet is sextremely comfortable with very efficient, understated but always available hosts ! Matt, Emma and Athena effortlessly met our needs with no fuss at all. Everyone has left the chalet talking about the great catering, from the best ever home baked afternoon cake to the plentiful, wholesome evening meals. Good quality wine and beers also on a non stop supply. Matts local ski shuttle service was incredibly efficient and proved to be full of knowledgable tips for us. Finally, the Hot Tub with beautiful views.... just wonderful ! All the party would be keen to return when the excellent Porte du Soleil area returns on our schedule.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatGazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Owner at Chalet Le Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome your group to Chalet le Dragon. We enjoyed hosting you for your week at the chalet and look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We've been on many skiing holidays over the years but staying at Chalet Le Dragon with Matt, Emma and their boys and Athena was the best skiing holiday we've ever had by a good margin. We're now in a dilemma as to whether to tell everyone just how great it was or keep it a secret! On the up side; being picked up and dropped off by Matt from any location (especially after we'd just missed the last connecting lift) the hot tub, the views, the company, the food, just the right right balance of being left to enjoy our holiday against being over pampered, the cakes, the advice on where to ski that day, the huge bed in our very comfortable room, the open fire, the ski area, the cleanliness and service at Chalet Le Dragon and the weather too! On the down side; how can we possibly better our experience? I guess we'll be returning......and keeping it a secret!

Room Tip: The premium double room has a balcony with views up and down the valley and a spacious bathroom with...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FlyingPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Owner at Chalet Le Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. we hope to see you again next season!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent stay, meals , wine very good. Catered for all our tastes and dealt with any issues that arose, nothing was too much trouble. NIce lounge area, hot tub was abused, overall a great week was had.

Room Tip: There are two very nice en suite rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Owner at Chalet Le Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again next season!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Fantastic stay at the beautiful 'Dragon'. The chalet and overall experience well above its pricing for a week. Nice rooms with comfy beds, spacious and elegant living area, tasty and copious food. And a superb service to and from slopes (you are well down the valley from the main ski areas, which of course makes it v tranquil). You may prefer one night eating out than two, but the local restaurants are excellent and v close by. Suggest evening cheese course shifts to breakfast, and a porridge/eggs option in the morning. Otherwise it's 10/10. Thanks, Matt, Emma and the boys, and Athena.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The best skiing holiday ever! The place is immaculate, the hosts friendly, the food delicious. and the desserts! Their carrot cakes are to die for. I should have asked for the recipe... The family welcomed us like old friends which made our stay a very comfortable one - we felt as if we 'came back' to our second home in the mountains. The owner Matt drove us to and from the slopes every morning / evening at our convenience. The village nearby is very French and cozy, with friendly and helpful waiters who kindly translated thr entire menu! Simply the perfect holiday. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YG_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Owner at Chalet Le Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again next season!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Chapelle-D'Abondance
2.8 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
281 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Cornettes
Hotel Les Cornettes
#3 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
L'Ensoleille
L'Ensoleille
#2 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#1 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chabi
Hotel Le Chabi
#4 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Le Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Dragon

Address: Le Rys, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Price Range: £87 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Le Dragon is an owner run luxury ski chalet located on the mountain-side in the beautiful French village of La Chapelle d'Abondance and is less than 10 minutes walk from the numerous restaurants and apres ski bars. The chalet has 5 large superking bedrooms, wifi, sunny south facing gardens and terrace, large comfortable lounge for 10 adults, ensuite rooms, 32 jet hot tub and feature open fire. For skiing, the chalet stands opposite the main connecting ski lift to the Portes du Soleil ski area (650km pistes) and it is the perfect choice for your ski holiday offering luxury accommodation for up to 10 adults. The chalet also has a private minibus and offers a "call and collect" service for all guests. For all summer activities the chalet is centrally located in the Valley d'Abondance. Within minutes the choice of activities are endless...Including mountain biking and bike park, rafting, fishing, hiking, parapenting, bob-luge and the Fantasticable (100kph zip wire!!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Le Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Dragon France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing