We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mytrav3l
United Kingdom
Lovely Chalet in Chatel
Review of Chalet Blanc
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Sept 2019
We had a lovely week staying in Chalet Blanc.

Everything was made very easy by the host, Michael. He booked our airport transfers from Geneva (these were included free of charge, which was fab). He arranged for discounted skis etc to be delivered, and uplifted from the chalet. The chalet hosts (Connor and Callum, two lovely Welsh lads) gave us lifts to/from the slopes, and were on call to pick us up at the end of the day. We even got taken to/from a restaurant of our choice on chalet night off, which was appreciated.

Our bedroom was spacious, with plenty of storage space etc, and even a roll-top bath. There was an Alexa in our room, so could stream our music no problem. We had fabulous views of the valley from our bathroom window.

Food was of a good chalet-quality standard, with canapes and cheese board every night. Free-flowing wine, vin mousseux, beers and various spirits/mixers to help yourself to. What's not to like?

The only (tiny) thing that I can suggest to improve the experience is an ice maker, as I would have liked more ice in my G&T's, but I'm sure that's already on Michael's radar for the coming season. He seems to have thought carefully about what guests want/need, and most boxes are definitely already ticked!

We would definitely like to return.
Date of stay: March 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.0 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £120
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
1.5 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.9 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
1.2 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.9 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Free parking
Le Marie Lydie
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 miles from Chalet Blanc
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
90
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2019

We had a group of 11 staying at Chalet Blanc for a week long ski adventure...our host, Michael, did an amazing job of welcoming us to the Chalet and spent two days guiding us through the Portes du Soliel ski region. The accommodations were first class, the service by Chef Tom and staff Connor & Callum was outstanding. We used the local SkiHire2U for our ski gear - they did a great job of having the gear we needed and stopped by upon request to swap out gear that needed to be changed due to conditions. It was our first experience in this area...we will be back & will be staying at Chalet Blanc!

Room tip: Two of the rooms have lofts...if you use them, make sure that it is either family and/or good friends.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmmanning64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael_Chalet_Blanc, Owner at Chalet Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2019

Hi Bob,

Thanks for your review and even more for your visit. The first group of Canadians I've hosted in the chalet and I'm so glad I could show you the best of the Portes du Soleil and Chalet Blanc. I can't wait till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2019 via mobile

A group of seven stayed in January. This is our second visit to Chalet Blanc. It’s the best Chalet we have ever stayed in. Food, drink and service was excellent. We have already booked again for 2020.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank L6920NSsimont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael_Chalet_Blanc, Owner at Chalet Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2019

Great! Thanks Simon, can't wait to do it all again in 2020!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019

We had a great stay at Chalet Blanc, real luxury without all the formality of a 5* hotel, with a fantastic location high in the mountains near the delightful village of Chatel. It’s very efficiently run by Micheal and his team including a first class chef who were very friendly and who made every effort to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The accommodation was spacious and very luxurious with a large Dinning area and a huge Lounge with a log fire burning in the evening and a hot tub on the Patio for relaxing in before the excellent dinner and wine served in the evening. The skiing area is brilliant and we had a wonderful time and could not recommend it more highly.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Eightsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael_Chalet_Blanc, Owner at Chalet Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Thank you for your fantastic review! You got to enjoy some pristine conditions on the mountain and I'm so glad you could appreciate all that Chalet Blanc has to offer. Would love to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019

Michael and Connor and Callum looked after us all so well. They were thoughtful and discreet but at the same time great hosts and great fun! Our group did throw a few tricky things at them (one member had to fly home unexpectedly and another had a medical emergency on the slopes) but nothing was too much trouble and they bent over backwards to ensure everyone had a great time no matter what their skiing ability or requirements in the chalet. Tom the chef was super too - his food was hearty - perhaps a little too ambitious sometimes, but just what was needed after a day on the slopes. Thanks for such a fab holiday - we'll be back!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael_Chalet_Blanc, Owner at Chalet Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Hi Hannah and thanks for your review :) Was a short but eventful time! Glad you enjoyed it so much and glad you got to experience such fantastic conditions as well. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

If you're looking for a holiday that offers a seamless Airport transfer, pre booked ski equipment and ski passes waiting for you at the Chalet, total flexibility regarding transport to and from slopes, first class food and drink including canapés, home made cake and the best scrambled eggs ever, watching the sun set whilst luxuriating in the hot tub, being royally looked after by Michael and his team, a resort that has an extensive ski area and something for everyone, then look no further than the Chalet Blanc - you will not be disappointed !!!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael_Chalet_Blanc, Owner at Chalet Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thanks Helen, so happy you had such fabulous conditions and that you enjoyed all the chalet has to offer, including my world famous scrambled eggs!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews