We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The standard of this chalet is a cut above the...”
Alpine Majestic - Chalet Soleil
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alpine Majestic - Chalet Soleil
Balcony View The Hot Tub!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Alpine Majestic - Chalet Soleil
Balcony View
The Hot Tub!
Double Room
Twin Room
Fine Dining
Chatel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
simon g
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The standard of this chalet is a cut above the rest”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our flight was delayed and Ian the owner managed to keep our transfers alive as we were over 2 hours delayed, we eventually got the Chalet at midnight, to find a pie warming in the oven for our teenagers who were starving. We had a glass of wine and to bed.

Next day 8 am, ski fitting service were on the doorstep with our preordered gear- very efficient but quite expensive.

Rob and Danielle then served our breakfast, which as it turned out was hot breakfast every day and with a choice of eggs bacon sausage etc. Meals on the nighttime were 4 courses with canapés as well! The cooking is of a very high standard, with restaurant quality food and service , for instance the last night meal was mini croque madams and welsh rarebit canapés- then beef cheek and Abondance risotto ( which he had been cooking for three days), then stuffed pork with parsnip and apple puree and fondant potatoes and cabbage with a peppercorn sauce, a superb combination of taste and texture, followed by chocolate torte and ice cream, the cheese and biscuits !!! phew.

The chalet has 5 bedrooms , all large with ensuite- the showers are great and beds massive.

The lounge area has two main sitting areas with a separate tv/games room.

Ian finished the fit out of the chalet himself, and the attention to detail is very high

Ian ferried us around each day with drop off and pick up whenever we wanted.

This enabled us to start our skiing in various different points so that we could explore the portes du soleil. Locally there is a lot of skiing with Chatel, Pre le Joux, Petit Chatel, Panthiaz and Cret Beni all being different drop off and ski areas. We also managed to get to Les Lindarets, a great valley, Les Crosets, Morgins and Grand Paradis in Switzerland- loads to do, and good variety.

I think we paid a little bit more than our average Catered Chalet price, but we got this back in quality of accommodation, food and service.

Negatives- need cash at end of the week to pay for lift passes and equipment, and not walkable to any bars etc

Positives- not walkable to bars
hot tub
Food
Mini bus to ski areas
Service
Food
Owners and staff

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vmackinno...
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Without a doubt, the best ski chalet we have ever stayed in. Ian & Joanne, our hosts, were very accommodating and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The real bonus was the restaurant quality food thanks to Rob & Danielle. We would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianepugh
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely top class accommodation with exceptional hoosts Ian and Joanne”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ian and Joanne are the most friendly and welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble, The accommodation is fabulously luxurious and the location is quite simply stunning. Fantastic amenities on your doorstep, lovely bars and restaurants and walks/activities to suit all abilities. Imagine sitting on the veranda at the end of a busy day looking across the valley and the amazing vista sipping a glass of chilled local wine, fantastic!

I can guarantee that Alpine majestic will not disappoint and we will definitely be returning again in the future to enjoy Ian and Joanne's fantastic hospitality and their wonderful chalet. If this holiday does not far exceed your expectations I would be very surprised. See you soon lovely people.

Diane and Mark

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterfly...
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A group of 9 of us visited Alpine Majestic in Jan. It blew our minds, everything about the trip was stunning. The food, the accommodation, the scenery & location. I actually fell sick for a few days and Ian & Joanne were so accommodating and considerate (they actually took me to the Drs). Ian & Joanne are superb hosts and cant do enough for you. Its one of the best holidays we have been on. Our group of friends (some of which are keen skiers and have been to many resorts) have never been somewhere so beautiful and accommodating. The food is excellent and so much of it, afternoon tea with homemade cake awaits on after skiing. The team go above and beyond to ensure you have a great time. We will be returning and strongly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: hot tub, location, food, hosts, everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs G
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had our second stay here this Easter, and yet again it was a truly wonderful holiday. Jo and Ian welcomed us back into their beautiful chalet and, as before, it was warm and comfy...just perfect.
The whole experience is great, the decor, the furnishings, the hot tub, the food, the location, everything!
Breakfast is surprisingly calm considering there were 13 of us to get up and out onto the slopes. Lifts to and from the slopes were provided at times to suite us, thanks to Ian. Afternoon tea was just the ticket, then the entire evening is a lovely relaxed affair with total freedom to enjoy the chalet and it's facilities. A daily soak in the hot tub is a must, followed by tasty and beautifully prepared meals, a couple of glasses of wine and a cheese board in front of the fire. Perfect.
There were 6 adults and 7 kids on our stay, but the chalet is big and spacious, giving you all enough space.
I can't think of a better place to be in the Porte de Soleil. Jo and Ian, you should be so proud of yourselves, what you offer your visitors is amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: evertything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevoInLo...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Loved it! Amazing chalet with brilliant hosts and excellent food & drinks. We were made to feel amazingly welcome and Ian & Jo the owners couldn't do enough for us! The chalet host and cook were superb too and very welcoming.
The ski area is immense across Switzerland & France so you cannot get bored of the piste area.
Loads of bars and restaurants in the area, but after a few drinks you'll be excited to get back for the five star meal that's been prepared!
I would definitely go back and would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pgask78
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect! ”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Having been on a number of ski holidays I had an idea in my head of what to expect....I couldn't have been more wrong.
This place is outstanding. From the luxurious rooms with views to die for, to the the 5 star service you receive.

It took me a few days to get used to being waited on hand and foot. Within a few hours of arriving the host, Danielle, knew exactly what we were all drinking and each night after my shower I would have a gin and tonic ready for me.

Rob the chef cooked some meals you'd expect to find in a top class London restaurant....prepare to be fed like a king.

Ian and Joanne (the owners) couldn't have been more welcoming. When I had a injured back one day, Joanne managed to arrange an osteopath to see me within an hour, and then dropped me off and collected me.

I can not recommend this place enough and can't wait to return!

Thanks again Joanne, Ian, Rob, Danielle and Lilliana for making the week perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;