We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great location, lovely food”

Chalet Hotel de Borderan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel de Borderan
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in La Clusaz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights in February. It is a very convenient short drive from Geneva and the Hotel is a little out of town right opposite a ski lift and ski hire shop. A perfect location for a long weekend ski ing. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was superb. The room was warm and comfortable, the bathroom was tired and quite typical of this sort of hotel. A big plus was a large lounge and TV room on one of the floors, which was an excellent place for socialising after a days ski ing. Overall an excellent place to stay which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

3km up the hill from La Clusaz (free bus service into town), the Hotel de Borderan was perfect for our ski party of 6, ranging in age from 9 to 68. Adequate, clean bedrooms with en suite baths (for midgets). Splendid, rustic-effect restaurant served with great charm by Madame. Good breakfasts, often with mega-croissants and a fabulous cheeseboard. Half-board also included hearty 3-course dinners (no child portions), starting with a choice of potage of salad/terrine, followed by really well cooked and presented mains of fish or meat (no choice) and then too much gateau/chocolate/cheese to end with. A raclette evening was also much appreciated. Good local wine list (average €25 per bottle). Friendly service throughout. Not the Ritz, but just right for skiing.

Room Tip: High--numbered rooms open to summer outdoor pool, but are 2 floors (stairs only) down from reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardPoynder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2013. We booked on line and paid 512 Euro for two people, half board for 3 nights. The staff were all very friendly, the food was very good and plentiful. The location is ideal, with a ski hire shop and cable car station right across the road. We walked down into La Clusaz twice and got the free ski bus back - the bus stops right outside the hotel. The rooms are OK, but clean and functional. Do stay here if you appreciate good food (and lots of it), rustic french charm, friendly helpful service and an ideal location for skiing. Do not stay here if you want a sanitized corporate hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is located just outside the la clusaz village. Situated up the road, accross the street from the combe des juments ski lift, this hotel is perfectly situated for a bit of rest and peace. Accross the street you are able to rent skis (no snowboards), buy your liftpas & are able two access to skilifts right accross the road. The ski bus also stops accross the road.
The hotel has a rustic french feel. The hostess (owner) is friendly and has real french humour. The food is nice, with great homemade pies. The room was clean, the two person bed was a bit small (apparantly standard french), with a small bath in the bathroom. Of course the french don't batthe in a shower). There is a large commonroom with wifi in order to relax.
So if you like rustique french (not so modern), a bit of peace and quiet, and good service a la french then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We found this hotel by accident online, and it turned out to be a really great find. The hotel location is perfect for skiing, being just over the road from two key lifts accessing two sides of the valley. The ski-hire shop is located beneath the lift, and with the generous discount for residents of Borderan, was great value.
The hotel itself is really simple, with the emphasis on function rather than luxury. The rooms are basic, but very clean and everything worked. We were lucky as the wifi from the lounge extended to our room too. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the meals were wholesome and tasty. The overall value for money cannot be beaten, which made skiing during half term affordable. Don't stay here if you want to go out every evening in the village - it is a fair way out. This place is for those who come for the skiing and to enjoy a genuine French atmosphere in modest surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZukeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

stumbled across this hotel by default but OMG what a find! Ok it's a 20 minute walk down hill into the town of La Clusaz or you can take the FREE bus, but with a ski hire shop and two lift stations approx 25m from the hotel door how good is that! Food was tasty and plentiful and the owner and staff so incredibly helpful and friendly, one night sending a car to collect us as the carnival in town disrupted the bus service (incidentally the bus stop is outside the hotel fron t door too)
4 pals on a short 4 day break unconcerned about fancy rooms wanting a good time skiing dawn til dusk would book this place again and again and again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

It was a remarkable stay during Feb half term. The hotel is uniquely french with us being the only British family at the chalet. Minimum english spoken by owners and staff which was great, forced us to speak/learn more french.
The rooms are very basic, my wife was not impressed on day one but settled in ok as the week progressed.
The chalet is close to the les jumet lifts, and convenient to get across the valley with the transvaal cable car. We love skiing la clusaz this was our fourth visit, so we know a few hotels in the area. The owners go out of their way to assist and were very flexible with the menu, if you wanted an alternative meal. We are pescatarian. Considering it was half term february when all prices are extortionate in the alps, chalet Borderan was amazing value for money. There are no frills here so no jacuzzi, spa baths etc just great value, great food and great service. As you may see not many reviews in english so decided to post this.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREDDY023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#2 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#3 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#6 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel U'Fredy
Hotel U'Fredy
#9 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#8 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel de Borderan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel de Borderan

Property: Chalet Hotel de Borderan
Address: 3190 route du Col des Aravis, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in La Clusaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel de Borderan 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel de Borderan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel La Clusaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing