We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business seminar”
Review of Hotel Alpen Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpen Roc
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in La Clusaz
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Business seminar”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We had organised a business seminar weekend for our company, staying in this hotel with a group of 33. In general the hotel was very good, helpfull staff, decent rooms, good breakfast. The hotel has a small spa area, with a really small pool, a sauna, and a hammam. Situation is great, in the middle of this very nice village, not far from the ski lifts. Great weekend, everybody happy...

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are facing the ski slopes, nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    273
    79
    28
    16
See reviews for
245
180
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

It's quite nice. It's in an ok location in the town, everything (slopes, shops, bars) is only a short walk away so you do not need a car. The rooms are fine, nothing special but functional with comfortable beds. Our room had a separate bedroom with a double and then a bunk bed + a single bed in the windowless area in front of the bathroom so in theory it could sleep five but I feel that would be too crowded - it was absolutely fine for three of us. Free Wifi is available! The restaurant and food was enjoyable and good (we had half board) with good wine on offer. The hotel has a very nice bar area with an open fireplace that is good to relax in front of after a hard day on the slopes. If you get a good deal and plan to spend your time skiing I would have no problem recommending this place for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go0dtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham Sussex UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel has a truly beautiful setting and yet very convenient for the village centre and all amenities. We were on holiday with Shearings and unlike many hotels the food for the coach party was the same as every other client. Selection of food and quality of food was excellent. There were so many starters to chose from that plates tended to be piled high, meat or fish and vegetables were delicious. Cheese board was huge and many local cheeses. Puddings were multiple and too tempting not to take more than you should. Result was weight gain. Bar, pool, facilites all good and very helpful and friendly staff.
Rooms were adequate and quiet. Bathroom was very nice as was the separate loo. Safe in room. Had a very lovely chalet feeling with pine everywhere. All in all we were most impressed with this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JETodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed at the Best Western Alpen Roc for a business trip. The location was fairly convenient to town, but a bit of a hike to skiing. Amenities were typical, no surprises. However, the hair blow dryer provided in each room is one of the worst I have ever encountered. I'd rather they not provide one at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingYarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel as part of a workshop toward the end of the ski season. My room was extremely comfortable, with a lovely clean bathroom, reliable free wifi, access to a lovely little swimming pool. Some of the staff were more helpful than others, particularly regarding travelling on to other locations, but when they were helpful they went out of the their way to assist.

The food was pretty good - very meat-oriented, but that's to be expected from this part of the world. Meeting rooms were absolutely boiling hot, but I was pregnant when travelling so perhaps that was influencing my body temperature.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

This was the second time that we have stayed at this hotel and do not hesitate to recommend it as either a solo, family or group hotel. Its location in this alpine village is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful, most of them speaking some English. The rooms sometimes on the rather small side are warm and clean. The choice at breakfast is by the far the the most extensive I ahve come accross not only in a tourist type hotel but in any hotel. The dinner in the evening is five course if coffee is included with at least two choices for the main course and a wide range for each of the others. The village itself in the summer provides three cable cars / sky chair lifts, there is also a summer tobbogan run and ice rink among the faciluties offered and all within five minutes of the hotel. Although I have not stopped in the winter sports season it is centrally situated for sky and other facilities and well equipped. There is a large market on Monday mornings. It isalso good as a family hotel. I found the prices of wines and drinks in the hotel compatible with prices in general and not extortionate. If I have one critisism it is that there are no walk in showers available for the disabled but it is otherwise perfectly suitable. In short if you are looking for a hotel in this region then go for it!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenplacesSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed here on a weekend break and chose it quite last minute. The location was great, just a stones throw from town and the nearest ski lift but the hotel is old and could really do with a refurb - handles falling off doors and general upkeep poor! It seems we were given a disabled access room, and whilst the bathroom was generous, the room itself was very small. Getting there at the start was also a trek, the hotel is set out as a bit of a maze. The keys didn't work on two attempts, and trips back and forth to reception is a little infuriating when all you want to do on a Friday night is check in, then go out! We had booked a double but got a twin. No breakfast included in the rate made this a pricey stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#1 of 19 in La Clusaz
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#3 of 19 in La Clusaz
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#8 of 19 in La Clusaz
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Sapins
Hotel Les Sapins
#10 of 19 in La Clusaz
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Ferme
La Ferme
#6 of 19 in La Clusaz
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaulieu
Hotel Beaulieu
#5 of 19 in La Clusaz
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpen Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpen Roc

Property: Hotel Alpen Roc
Address: Centre du Village 388 route des Grandes Alpes, 74220 La Clusaz, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Alpen Roc)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Clusaz
#4 Family Hotel in La Clusaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpen Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpen Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Roc Hotel La Clusaz
Best Western La Clusaz
La Clusaz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing