We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel needs a manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaulieu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beaulieu Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in La Clusaz
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel needs a manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel is at the top of the village but not a bad walk if you use the ski hire shop in town for storage. Hotel is pleasant but lacks management. Service at dinner is chaotic and the staff at times spear cluelesss, quite amusing to watch especailly as French service at dinner is usually perfect.

Also only one choice of main course so if you or your kids are fussy be warned. Also, disgracefully in the land if dime cuisine, the desserts are brought in. This was confirmed by the brake brothers lorry in the car park.

My big gripe is the bar closing every night at ten pm. Man deserves beer when finally got kids to bed and can't leave the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    74
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We booked two rooms, one south facing for my husband and I plus a standard room for our children. The south facing rooms are worth the extra cost, they are bigger and have a great view of the slopes as well as having a balcony. Staff were all very friendly and helpful,they spoke better English than my French. Breakfast was very good. We didn't chance to use the pool in the hotel next door. The out door municipal pool with flumes is also very close.

Room Tip: Book a South facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catfish2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We went to La Clusaz for a long weekend skiing and it was an excellent resort for this, as it is only about 50 mins from Geneva airport. Having arrived on an early flight we were skiing by 1pm. The hotel is located just above the village and it is about 5-10 mins walk down to the square. We didn't find this a problem and there were also lots of restaurants and bars nearer. La Cordee was one we really liked. However, it is important to rent your skis at the bottom of the slopes so you can store your skis and boots in the shop overnight and don't have to carry them up the hill to the hotel, which would be a nightmare. We used Le Schuss which was great in terms of equipment and service. The hotel itself is nicely decorated, the staff are friendly. Our room, though small, was lovely with an immaculate bathroom. The beds were really comfortable. Breakfast stood out as being particularly good - there was lots of good quality local foods on the buffet. The only thing that we didn't like was that the bar closed at 10pm as it would have been nice to have a nightcap after dinner. However, it was not a problem and we would definitely be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

It is easy to agree with the previous reviews of this property. The hotel is well located near the village center. You need to walk to get access to lifts and slopes but it's not too far if you leave your equipment in storage in one of the ski rental shops near the village center. The views from the hotel are very nice if you have a room with a view. We did have two connecting rooms one of which was heading towards the slopes and had a nice balcony. The other one did not have view but was conveniently located next to the other with a connceting door. The hotel was very clean and cosy with wooden decorations. The rooms were not large but quite enough and very clean and the bathrooms were recently nicely renovated. The breakfast was good, nothing really special but everything you need for a start of an active day. We only ate once the dinner in the hotel and it was very expensive for the quality which was actually quite poor. But no worries, as always in France you eat well in the many restaurants near the hotel and the prices are lower too. We can especially recommend La Fruitiere near the hotel which offers excellent raclette and fondue and other 'cuisine de montagne'. Another nice one is La Cordee near the hotel, but there are plenty of others too. It's worth reserving a table especially if you are more than two or travelling with kids and during busy season. All in all La Clusaz is a lovely please for families. There are plenty of blue and green slopes but more challenging slopes as well. We enjoyed our one week stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here over New Year 2012/13. Room was small but ok for a french resort. Lovely and warm room. Shower in our room was pathetic, but our own fault for not raising the problem. Breakfast was fine, but if you want boiled eggs (self-service), which aren't really sloppy, leave them in for at least 6 mins. Took us a week to get it right. Didn't eat here on evenings so can't comment on the dinners. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Zoe who looked after us so well all week, particularly since I had an accident and couldn't ski for 4 days.
View of the mountains from the terrace was awesome. Bar closes quite early, but go buy some bottled beer from U Express (down the steps to main street and turn left) - 3Euros for 10 small bottles and leave it on your windowsill. Hire your kit from one of the shops in town and leave it there overnight. Makes the trip back up the steps to the hotel so much easier. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wornthatturned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Clean, comforatable but some way out of the village and the walk back up the hill from the ski lift at the end of a day is a bit strenuous. Quite expensive for what it offers - decent breakfast but decidedly average restaurant. Most staff friendly, but the older receptionist very offhand, and reception doesn't open up until 8.30 am so don't try to pay your bill early in the morning. Also rooms weren't cleaned until late afternoon after our return from the slopes, and the towels weren't changed all week. Good bathrooms and nice warm room when it was cold outside. Parking outside a nightmare, or as the receptionist said, une guerre! Big advantage is the opportunity to use the swimmimng pool in the next door, sister hotel. If you can afford it, stay there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, and the front facing rooms are worth the bit of extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martincoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Out of the main village so nice and quiet. 2 star but we rated it as 3 as the accommodation was very good. Staff were very helpful and the madame was interested to hear our view on the breakfasts. They were good. Plenty of meats, cereals, eggs, fruit and fruit salad, jams etc. the bread was particularly good. The bar area was very pleasant and the prices not silly. Roomy foyer. Our room was a family room for two of us at the back recently updated I think. Very nice bathroom, small but modern. Good walk in shower. Separate loo. Bunk beds for 2 (unused) and 2 comfortable single beds. Pine clad walls. Didn't eat here in the evening but the menu looked fine. Could have tried the swimming pool next door at the Carlina but didn't get there. Very well placed for most restaurants. We found some steps nearly opposite the end of the road which take you down to the main street (Route des Grandes Alpes). Very easy.
Very important - don't bring your skis up here. Lodge them at La Schuss or Ski 3000 ski shops which are both down at the bottom near the gondola lifts. We hired our skis from La Schuss (suggested by a fellow hotel guest) and we were very happy. Friendly. English spoken if you need it. No extra charge for storage and it was inside the shop so there were no cold boots in the morning. It was easy to walk up to the hotel when you had your apres ski boots on but I wouldn't have liked to do the trip in my ski boots.

Room Tip: Even the rooms at the back are fine. If you want the view go for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#2 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#3 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#7 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#8 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bellachat
Bellachat
#17 of 19 in La Clusaz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaulieu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaulieu Hotel

Property: Beaulieu Hotel
Address: 138 ou 88 chemin des Eboulis, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Clusaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaulieu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaulieu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaulieu Hotel La Clusaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing