We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little on the small side!”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Residence
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We stayed in this self catering apartment as part of a ski package through one of the main UK operators. There was a special deal on the website that reduced the overall cost for the two of us by something like £200, so I decided to put the savings into upgrading from a 2-4 person studio to a 4-6 person apartment. I'm glad I did because even that apartment was very compact, with a bunk bed in the entrance corridor and a rather small "sofa bed" in the living room, (see photos). At least the apartment had a separate bedroom, although this was hardly bigger than the double bed itself.

Our section of the building was built into a slope with access to the rooms via outside corridors and stairs. It actually had a feeling of a multistorey car park and as it turned out the bit built into the ground was indeed one level on an underground car park!

The kitchen area was provided with sufficient utensils, pans and crockery to make our dinner each night, but the wall mounted mini oven/grill was useless and would have been much better replaced with a microwave.

In terms of location, the apartment was about 15 minutes walk from the main ski lifts, (in ski boots), including quite a lot of steps to get down from the apartment to the street level. In the end, we rented a ski locker by the lifts, and the morning walk became a lot more manageable in normal shoes!

On the positive side, the apartment was very clean when we got there, there was always hot water, and the chap at reception was very friendly. We also managed to get cheap ski and boot hire at the shop next to the apartment, (since it was not quite in the center of town and hence not as pricey!).

However, all in all it wasn't really a pleasure to return home at the end of a day's skiing, so I wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank HB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for La Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Uneplaceausoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Laetitia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank VezonNico57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Circumnavigando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank 150nadinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Felício
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaulieu
Hotel Beaulieu
#5 of 20 in La Clusaz
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#3 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prestige Odalys Le Chamois
0.2 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#2 of 20 in La Clusaz
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#11 of 20 in La Clusaz
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: 29 Chemin des Houches, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in La Clusaz
Price Range: £39 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing