We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that what we hoped for!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Clusaz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Chalet Alpage
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Thierry and his staff were awesome. We have been in France for 4 months and our visit to Alpage has been by far our best experience in terms of service. Maybe it is because Thierry is Belgian! Our room was excellent. Location was great. Breakfast was simple but good and we enjoyed all of our dinners. Great for families. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mister_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chalet Alpage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

We managed to return to Hotel Chalet Alpage this year for a summer break following previous visits in the winter for skiing holidays. We thought the winter was fantastic but in a way we found the summer to be even better! We stayed in a lovely room which had recently been refurbished to a very high standard and had a small balcony with beautiful views down the valley. You wake up to the sight and sound of cows being led from the nearby farm to fields for grazing. Incidentally the local farm sells wonderful cheeses at very good prices. There are plenty of walks from the hotel to suit most abilities. One of our favourites was to walk down to the village then get the chair lift to Beauregard and walk back down to the hotel. The swimming pool was very inviting following a days walking.
As before we were made to feel very welcome by Thierry and the staff.
The evening meals were excellent and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
I would recommend a trip into Annecy if you have the time. A beautiful town which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Telemark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at Chalet Alpage for four nights. The location is perfect. Near enough to Annecy for a day-trip, near mountains for hiking, outside the village in an attractive hillside setting. We arranged for half board; a good choice given the quality of the meals.
Moreover, Chalet Alpage prepared my meals gluten-free. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a valley/mountain view. No negatives; a great visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDHall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I have spent one week in Chalet Alpage this summer.
This is one of the most enjoyable hotels I have seen, and I have already seen many !
The location, 5 minutes driving from La Clusaz, is fantastic : the views from the room are not obstructed by skilifts - as it happens too often in the Alps - and beautiful.
Cosy rooms in "chalet style", decorated with excellent taste; small but well fitted bathroom.
The owner-manager, Thierry, is always available for information or kind assistance.
There are only 9 rooms plus one small chalet; this makes the atmosphere of the place like your home.
Excellent simple food in half board, and good breakfast.
There is a farm just on the opposite side where you can buy reblochon or tomme cheese; you hear the music of the cows' bells in the morning and in the evening : a delightful concert.
The place is incredibly quiet, and close to the start of many great walks; by the way these are generally well signposted, this is a great change from the Megeve surroundings.
The town of La Clusaz is nothing special, but who needs a town when you have such a great place to stay ?

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulklib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed here in February this year and were not disappointed. It felt like we got two holidays for the price of one - a great skiing trip as well as a really relaxing getaway. Chalet Alpage is a cosy Alpine lodge, with every possible convenience, but is completely unpretentious and relaxed at the same time. Our room was small but really cosy and tastefully decorated. The rustic atmosphere wasn't tainted by incongruous modern conveniences and yet every modern convenience was on offer, but in a nice subtle way. For example the bedrooms - new shower room and toilet, wash-hand basin perched on a stand, modern shower, flat screen tv (which I could have done without) hung unobtrusively on a wall, bathrobes, excellently glazed double doors onto a balcony without a hint of a draft and modern recessed lighting that had a variety of settings. We started out on a room only basis but changed to half-board after discovering a) the cost of a taxi from the village is Eur18 b) the food in the restaurant is great. The breakfast each morning is generous, healthy and filling. The evening meal is usually five courses and tastes like home cooking, again it's unfussy and unpretentious in keeping with the general ambience in the hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed the meals each evening, really nutritious, not high cuisine, but nice and local - as if you have a local Savoyarde food enthusiast friend cooking for you. We preceded each meal with an aperitif at the small bar.
Location-wise this hotel is a bit out of town which didn't bother us, you could ski straight from the hotel and if not you need to either drive or catch one of the infrequent and meandering buses into La Clusaz.
The hot tub and sauna were great for weary bodies after a day of skiing! There's also a pool which we didn't try out.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, my only problem is that I know that no matter where I go on a ski holiday after this, I would have to be very lucky to find somewhere that ticks all the boxes as well as Chalet Alpage/La Clusaz does - food, accommodation, ambience, ski ...
My only criticism would be that the beds are slightly dated, but they are by no means uncomfortable, and are happily a world away from previous French accommodation experiences. Party animals might find it a bit quiet though. Like the rest of La Clusaz, Alpage is frequented mainly by French people which added to the authenticity. If your French is limited to "ou est le Centre de George Pompidou?" don't worry, the convivial owner willingly speaks good English (and when necessary corrects your French grammar). All in all a really perfect retreat, go for it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelreview7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We had a fantastic week at Alpage, thanks to owner Thierry and rest of the team. It's a lovely small chalet right under a t-bar lift providing easy access to blue and green slopes on the Etale part of La Clusaz resort.

The hotel's ski room, sauna, covered pool and jacuzzi, as well as reliably delicious and abundant breakfast and 3-course dinner (plus great fresh snow) made for a picture perfect Settimana Bianca!

The week we were there (Jan 4) definitely started off a bit family-friendly - lots of kids at dinner, in sauna, etc. But seemed to shift more towards couples as schools started up again after winter holidays.

Our room (9) had a great balcony with view toward Clusaz town and the mountains, but being top floor, had slanted ceilings so we couldn't stand in shower. Rooms 4,5,6 have the same view, but on first floor with same view from balcony.

Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We spent our second Christmas year with our two young children and my parents.This hotel continues to improve with newly upgraded rooms added this time.We loved it last year and were not disappointed this year either. The location allows us to ski directly into the village from the hotel and back home down home via the beauregard lift. There is a free bus service from the hotel entrance to the village.Along with the outdoor jacuzzi ,enclosed swimming pool and sauna there is plenty of areas to relax when finished with the days skiing.Food is excellent and having been to Zermatt,Val d'Isere and many others resorts this is a wonderful resort and a super hotel

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linksIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#3 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,076 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
358 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Beaulieu
Hotel Beaulieu
#5 of 20 in La Clusaz
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#6 of 20 in La Clusaz
217 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Prestige Odalys Le Chamois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Alpage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Alpage

Address: 1872 route du Col de la Croix Fry | Les Prises, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Clusaz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Clusaz
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in La Clusaz
#2 Spa Hotel in La Clusaz
Price Range: £79 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect haven for enjoying the outdoors! Winter or summer, this home from home boutique-style 3 star hotel offers a perfect haven for all outdoor mountain activities. A traditional yet modern décor combined with fantastic food, friendly service and a touch of luxury will make your stay here unforgettable.The chalet, a modernised Savoyard farmhouse, is ideally situated so that you can take advantage of the magnificent Alpine views over the surrounding Aravis mountains, as well as immediate access to the pistes and trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing