We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff”
Review of Smithys Tavern

Smithys Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$35
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of nine including 2 children. The staff were friendly and helpful. They were able to advise on the dishes and provided a birthday surpise for one of the children. The food was plentiful and good. Would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger00013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    53
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smithystavern Tavern, les Deux Alps”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We've eaten out all week during our stay in Les Deux Alps and we've been pretty underwhelmed by what's obvious offer until we tried Smithy's Tavern, the food is good, fresh and tasty and reasonably priced compared to other rsstuarants, the staff are really pleasant and courteous I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a fillet steak with Roquefort sauce here after a day on the slopes, cooked to perfection and HUGE portions! Comparatively the meal was great value and the team were friendly and helpful. I polished my meal off then stole some chips from a friend to finish off my sauce as it was delish!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had a very long journey to our apartments in France and got told to go to smithys tavern. it was late and they were all very welcoming and sat us down for some food. Food was amazing and ample amounts of food. We have been here many times and been welcomed and well looked after by Helen, Dan and all the other staff. The prime fillet steak was to die for and was cooked to perfection. Well done everyone you made the place feel relaxed and very friendly.

Helpful?
3 Thank Cheesecakeaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good solid Pub”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great run pub, food upstairs is varied and it was good.... the oddest looking Fillet steak though... , but my wife said tasted ok, but that wasn't a Fillet! (that lost them the 1 star down to 3)

The kids enjoyed the food as well and the staff were great and efficient.

The bar downstairs is busy at times but you don't wait long for a drink.

If you want a change from cheese or crepe, Then Smithys is a good alternative

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithys Tavern also viewed

Les Deux-Alpes, Isere
Les Deux-Alpes, Isere
 
Les Deux-Alpes, Isere
Les Deux-Alpes, Isere
 

Been to Smithys Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing