We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, great food and beyond excellent staff”
Review of Hotel La Meije

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Meije
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Went for a white christmas (even though snowed constantly in UK) and could not have had a better time. Rooms were great for their price and came with everything they needed.

Living area fantastic to play family games in and to chat to the toher guests with onsite bar so didnt have to travel far for apres ski.

Food was amazing at ngiht time and breakfast offers all the carbs you require for a day on the slopes.

The best points are definantly location, less than 5 miniutes wlak to the main gondola even with ski boots and kids in tow. Also the staff are great, they can get you discounts for ski hire, will be there as soon as you need assistance and are more than happy to show you the good pubs and ski slopes. Theyre also more than happy to get the jacuzzi going to relax your weary muscles.

Would recommend all around if going for a budget break.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oddeyes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

We had a great summer trip to this resort where we have previously been skiing, and were happy to find the flexible and friendly la meije hotel. We had a 3 night stay and found the hotel to fit what we needed, being out most of the day cycling and hiking, it was comfortable and welcoming and well placed in the centre of les deux alpes. We would recommend it, and are planning to go back for a short ski trip for 4 nights...not having to do Sat to Sat. it's a good find

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken101220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Looking for a white christmas we booked in advance and found, La Meije, the only place we could say for just three nights. It was easy to find, located in the middle of the main strip and the staff were very friendly.

Admittedly the rooms were basic, however the slopes and apres-ski meant we were out and about most the time. Not to mention that when we were in the hotel, we would mainly be there for the brilliant, and more importantly, cheap food.

All in all, our days of escape were enjoyable because of the hotel and the town and have book to go as a larger group next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JezRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Just returned from a week here with 3 others including a 5 year old. The only good point is the central location. We had two rooms, both were really small and one in particular was tiny. We were told on arrival that there had been a problem with noise and could we ring the receptionist on her mobile (?) if we had any problems!
Well yes there was plenty of noise, in fact on one evening a group seemed to be having a party in their room. In fairness somebody went in and shouted at them and it stopped straight away. The main issue with this seemed to be that the noisest people were the staff themselves! The staff all seemed to be students, probably gap year stuff. They were all pretty hopeless and had very little interest. Some examples, wandering into the bar I asked a passing member of staff for a drink as there was nobody behind the bar. "bar dosent open until four" - but its half past - "oh I'd better find him and remind him he's supposed to be working"
Breakfast, which was really poor, was served between 7am and 9am. On our last day we needed to make an early start and went down to breakfast at 7.30am, the one person on duty said, "sorry I haven't had time to make the coffee or sort out bread etc yet"
Breakfast is poor anyway, no hot food, only bread, pan au chocalat, yoghurts, and 3 different cereals. Continental breakfast is fine with me, but no cheese, meats, eggs etc Maybe the odd apple, bananna etc
The decor is very shabby and everything was poorly maintained. Looked like someone needed to spend a few quid on the place.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and to be fair it wasn't bad but quite expensive.
Would not return to this very poor hotel. There were many others in the resort which we ate in that looked much better, the Aalburg in particular.
The resort itself has a great ski area and is easy to get to (1hour 40mins from grenoble) but very expensive for food and drink. My advice would be to find a better hotel and probably half board. Recommend Smokey Joes for an evenng meal and sneak into the Crystal Club Hotel, the Brunerie, for a fun evening in the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithHNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

First of all lets get the bad bit out of the way, the room is basic and is quite small and whilst maybe OK for a family not ideal for 4 adults sharing.

This point is mote than made up for by the extremely freindly staff, excellent location oposite the main Jandri express (gondola) and the exquiste food.

BOOK half board for the money you pay it is unqusetionably exceptional value for money three courses each night that you would happily pay £40-50 for back home such is the quality.

The bar staff, receptionist and waitress are all really accomodating and I would have no problem with booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieBaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

I spent 3 nights at this hotel sharing a family room with my son and my sister. Although our room was quite basic it was warm and clean. The best thing of all was the warm, friendly atmosphere and attentive staff. Jane the English manageress was extremely helpful - always happy to chat and when I told her my daughter was working in the town for the season she offered us 10% discount from our bill.

The lounge and bar area is extremely comfortable with big leather sofas and footstools and a lovely log fire. I would have liked the bar to have been open later, however there are lots of cafes, bars and restaurants very nearby.

This hotel offers good value for skiers and families - only minutes from the slopes.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chris7ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cygna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#5 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#12 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#4 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meije? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meije

Address: 75 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range: £70 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Meije 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Meije reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing