We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madame Vacances Les Airelles
Ranked #4 of 13 Les Deux-Alpes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Yes, the hotel is a bit tired but the service more than makes up for it. The whole team led by Murray were the most helpful I have ever known, from getting lift passes and lessons sorted and then taking you to wherever you needed to go to hire skis etc. I have never known any thing like that sort of service. They certainly go the extra mile. The food was really good, very well cooked and plenty of it. The evenings in the bar downstairs were fun playing pool etc, playing a dice game, "beat the boss", for half price drinks, . better than happy hour. We even went on an organised pub crawl. I certainly would like to book with Ski France again.
The hotel is in the centre of town, convenient for everything, the Diablo lift was only 200m. Great Holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyvatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

It has to be said that Club Hotel Les Airelles is "a little bit tired", but it was really quite adequate for a week's skiing holiday and there was plenty of room for the 40 or so guests. Its in the centre of town for ski-hire, shops and restaurants and there's a lively bar (the Red Frog) directly underneath. Its only 200m from the Diable lift which gets you up quite high very quickly. The skiing up on the glacier at around 3500-3600m is amazing.
Ski France run the hotel for the ski season and I think our package was really well priced. Overall it was the cheapest week skiing for our family of 4 since 2002, so we weren't expecting luxury.
The food was excellent all week, there's 24x7 tea and coffee, as well as afternoon cake and they also provided good pack lunches at E6/person.
The staff were absolutely superb, the best we have experienced to date. With the manager Murray leading the way, they were all really helpful from the outset. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Unfortunately my wife had a serious accident towards the end of the week and was hospitalised, but Murray and Chris in particular were fantastic in the much needed support they gave me. Especially with the logistics of getting to the hospital.
My wife's accident aside, this was one of the best weeks skiing that I've had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewcar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

There are partially redeeming features that I will cover, but let there be no misunderstanding; the standard of accommodation in this hotel is utterly disgraceful, and Ski-France should be ashamed. Had we paid peanuts for this holiday it may be possible to laugh it off, but as a group of 12 we booked relatively early and even with a shared group discount, each paid a very substantial sum of money. It would be easy for a holiday here to become a nightmare, but Murray and his team work hard to avoid it: but they HAVE to. Our group had most contact with Alfie and Rose, and I have no hesitation in saying they worked very hard to ensure we had an enjoyable time: their friendly and helpful attitude went a long way, and it helped that the food was relatively good. But the single most important factor is completely outside their control – the fabric of the building. So one of our party had mould growing up the main wall in their room, in my room we had mould in the closet – a closet 7’ x 2’ x 1½’ which was the only storage space in the room for 2 adults skiing! Half the rooms didn’t have proper beds, they were camp beds, and some couldn’t shut their balcony door properly. Another unfortunate couple (not part of our group) had water pouring from their bedroom wall every time some else emptied their sink, and there was rust coloured water running down the wall on the way to our room. A local chalet owner that I spoke to (who has complained to the town mayor about the state of the Hotel Airelles) believes the reason for this appalling state of affairs is that Ski France won’t pay any money to maintain the building because the landlord won’t give them more than a one-year rolling lease.
In the interests of fairness, the hotel is only about 200m from the Diable chair lift.
Anybody considering this hotel for the future should bear in mind that Murray and his team will be gone at the end of the season, and next year’s team may not be as enthusiastic about helping their guests: that could make it a holiday from hell.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mozwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

For the price this was exceptionally good value. Excellent, caring and friendly staff made it a joy to stay here. They food was excellent, with the chef being very accommodating to dietary requirements. The only improvement would be to start breakfast a little earlier to accommodate those with ski lessons first thing in the morning. 200m to the Diable lift and a 10 minute walk to the ESF ski school.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed last week 15th- 22nd March 2014 Arrived after delayed flight, hot food and cheerful staff waiting for us, Food was fantastic all week, Unfortunately my friend had a accident but staff went out of their way to help, took food up to her room and collected her by car from the medical centre, helped with contacting insurance etc. The atmosphere created by the staff in the hotel meant that all guests were very friendly and helpful in the situation, We are older skiers, but this did not seem to matter. Activities were well planned, and suitable for all. Would go back to les Airelles and Ski France again. I would recommend this hotel and ski area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just returned from a week of boarding in Les Deux Alpes. We stayed for 7 nights in Les Airelles and I was blown away by the friendliness, helpfulness and overall efficiency of the team here. Yes, the accommodation is basic, but you certainly could not hope for better service.
To be perfectly honest after a day on the slopes nothing is more welcome than a smiling face, a hot meal and a clean, comfortable bed!
The local knowledge of the staff is 2nd to none and nothing is too much trouble, I must've interrupted all of the team at some point during their busiest times - without fail I still received an eminently helpful response and big grin to boot!
All of the team seem genuinely interested in the guests and take time to chat, find out what you are there for and help wherever they can. There is only a short walk (3-5 mins in board boots) to several lifts and gondalas that take you right up to the glacier and fab snowpark.
There is a good nightlife in the resort and this is right in the centre - so if you don't wear yourselves out on the slopes or intend on hitting the town this is probably not the place for you. There were a huge range of people staying whilst we were there and the team did their utmost to cater for everyone, if you want knowledgable, helpful and friendly hosts and don't mind the occasional sound of others out partying, this is the place to go.
I have to say without a doubt, the highlight of the stay was seeing the manager haring it down the slopes on his day off in an inflatable Mr Blobby costume - gotta be worth a visit just for that!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just got back from half-term week.

My review is pretty much what every one else is saying. This is a fantastic value-for-money hotel.

It has great access to the very fast Diable lift, even with a half-term-sized queue the waiting time was short. Excellent Twinner ski hire across the road. Bar in the hotel and good pub downstairs. Excellent staff and atmosphere. Food was tasty and adequate. Incredible value packed lunches. All other guests were families so great for the kids to amuse themselves.

My only criticism was a shortage of hot water at peak times after skiing, but the hotel had a lot of young kids and the manager put it down to the high number of early baths being taken so it's probably not a problem during other weeks.

Altogether a fantastic week and I would certainly go again.

(One more thing - Grenoble airport is a nightmare, way too small for the number of flights they are taking, totally under-resourced and disorganized. Expect to stand in a queue for three hours and for flights to be held as they simply can't process the quantity of passengers in time. If you can get here avoiding Grenoble then I would recommend you do so. I asked a member of staff at the airport and it's a regular occurrence and cannot be put down to half-term week, although I'm sure that made it worse.)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettySwumhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#3 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#5 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#7 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Cortina
Residence Le Cortina
#23 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Vacances Les Airelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Vacances Les Airelles

Address: 1 Place de Venosc, 38520 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Les Deux-Alpes
Hotel Class:3 star — Madame Vacances Les Airelles 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madame Vacances Les Airelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Airelles Hotel Les Deux-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing