We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Deux Alpes - First skiing holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Deux Alpes 1800
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was the first time my wife had been skiing, and my first ski trip that wasnt with the Army. I really enjoyed the resort. The slopes were pretty quiet, probably due to the time of year. The resort itself was clean and tidy, and also very quiet.

It takes a while to get there from Chanbery, but it was worth the journey. Once at the top of the glcier, the view was incredible. Evrytime I'm in the Aples, the scenery blows me away.

The pistes were well looked after, and range from the very easy to some chellenging black runs.

We stayed with at a Crystal Chalt, Chalet L'Icheve, which was very comfortable. We were well looked after by the chalet reps, Ben and Rob, there was a hot tub and a 5 minute walk to the Diable lift.

This is definitely a resort I would recommend and will hopefully go back to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Would not recommend this place. It was filthy - dog mess absolutely everywhere. The resort staff were not particularly helpful in helping you to get things organised. It took us 2 days to hire equipment, register at ski school and learn the transport system. Nothing was simple, accommodation very basic, disgusting place to walk around. The French did not seem to notice or mind walking in the dog mess. Choose a place that does not allow pets, especially if you want your children to enjoy the snow freely.

Room Tip: Imagine the accommodation to be tailored toward the early 20s age group and go 1 or 2 star ratings h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somerset_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I normally use Trip Advisor to praise great places to stay but sadly not this one! Some reviews state the manager is quirky .....no down right rude and ignorant!
On arrival, before our check in around 5pm, I requested a 2 bedrooms next to each other as one of our group was in a room on their own . This prompted the manager, who had not been part of my conversation with the receptionist to interrupt waving his arms about shouting Non, Non, Non about 30 times, not the kind of welcome I expect in the first 5 minutes of arriving at a hotel.
I do not think it is normal at breakfast to have a manager poke two fingers towards his eyes then to mine then ordering me to "look, look at me" and then point out the buffet like a sergeant major.
The manager works really hard but the staff appear in fear of him and this does not make for a relaxing atmosphere. Numerous discussions with other guests involved experiences with the manager!
Noro virus hit last week (another bug on reviews back in January) and that was with 24 children at the hotel so with 48 children there for Easter break I pity them.
No hot water one night as the fuel supplies ran out.
On the plus side the staff are lovely and efficient and the rooms are clean and the hotel is fairly near the ski lifts. Not a place I would ever return to!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here for a week in March. 5 minute walk in ski boots to the Red Egg lifts and about 10 minutes to the nursery and green slopes at bottom of the mountains. Can go up to 3000m to the Glacier which even if the snow is melting on the lower slopes always has some good runs. Beautiful views from the Glacier. Really nice apartment, clean, nice reception area, jacuzzi and sauna. All modern conveniences and good quality appliances. Microwave and dishwasher a great bonus. Nice decked balcony which faced the sun so perfect after a days ski-ing to enjoy the sunset. Good lounge area with TV. Couln`t get many channels though. Main bedroom has ensuite with good shower, bed 2 spacious with 2 twin beds adn 3rd bedroom is small with bunk beds although we managed to get a six foot chap in there. Very close to lopcal restaurants, shops, supermarket and bars. REally enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sun and there are I think four floors. There is a lift. I beleive there is one ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The appartement was very small but it was not so bad as i expected. The app was clean but it needed an update( paint?) There was something very strange in the hallway from the building. The walls were covered with carpet! Maybe it's not a good place for people who are allergic to dust. The location was good but the citycentre is on walking distance. There are a lot of pubs in the area of the app.The best thing to do is to book an app for more people than you need!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor( for the noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We were a party of 30 peoples mainly all staying in Alpina Lodge apartments and they were fantastic clean and homely. Convenient for all local shops and bars etc. the weather was good at the beginning of the week but it rained upwards the end of the week and made the snow very soft and wet in the resort itself. I enjoyed Les Deux Alpes but found it to big a resort for my taste and would probably not go back there. My real complaint about the resort was the dog mess everywhere on the streets and pavements and even at the base of the pistes. This is not acceptable in a tourist resort were the are a lot of children running around one of the children in or group skied through some it was everywhere and if a child gets this dog mess in there mouth it can be very dangerous. I would suggest that the French tourist board do something about this and lobby their government to make it law that dog owners clean up after their pets.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machiavelli41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2006

Our family of 11 ranging in age from15 months to almost 69 years spent half term in Les Deux Alpes. The skiing and ski schools were great for all who participated from the 3 year old to the expert skiier and including the snow boarder. It was possible to (almost)ski in-ski out of the appartment. All the people we came into contact with were helpful and friendly. We rented one of the 6 bedroom apartments in Village 1800. It was big enough, though places to dry wet clothes were at a premium. It had a balcony and a nice view and was not too noisy at night-only the adults were aware of the night time noise. Access to shops/ swimming pool/restaurants etc was easy ( as long as the lift worked ). There was a down side though. We had ordered and paid in advance for sheets and towels for all of us. They were not available when we checked in (which we could not do until 17.00hrs - very hard on the little ones who had been up since 04.00) and instead we were supplied with tiny hand towels and non woven 'disposable' sheets. It was really difficult bathing a baby with a tiny towel and everyone found the 'sheets' unbearable. They were the texture of horticultural fleece and the pillow cases were square but the pillows were rectangular! We were charged over €90 for them. The website did not say there would be stairs. There was no stair gate or handrail. This affected everyone as there was a sliding door to separate the living room from the stairs but only the adults could close it and the older members of our group found the lack of handrail difficult. The dishwasher only worked intermittantly and although someone came to fix it, he didn't. This was the first time our family had done this sort of holiday. We will do it again, probably in Les Deux Alpes but certainly NOT in any of those appartments!

4  Thank Wentdalewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Deux-Alpes
0.2 mi away
Residence L'Edelweiss
Residence L'Edelweiss
#26 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Cairn Hotel
Le Cairn Hotel
#20 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#15 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
369 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Deux Alpes 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Deux Alpes 1800

Address: 17 Hameau de la Meije Le Village | Régie Village France Location, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range: £29 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel Les Deux-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing