We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skiing trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aalborg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aalborg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Skiing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went to the Aalborg with my 10 year old son (April 2014). Booked the holiday with Neilson, this included ski hire and lessons. The entire trip/holiday was one of the best we have experienced. The hotel is functional, friendly and clean. The staff were employed by Neilson and English, they were brilliant. The food is also very good and the service was better than I have experienced in some 4 and 5 star locations. The Skiing was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    94
    29
    11
    11
See reviews for
127
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned from a week at the Aalborg.... thank you Neilson for a great week..
Best things : Location on the pistes , great bar and terrace overlooking slopes and mountain peaks, friendly staff, lovely food partic Sunday Roast , clean and efficient house keeping, our rooms were spotless every morning , kids activities and super smiley kids club staff
Improvements needed: Our room (207) needed modernising , better wifi - v patchy and slow , ski shop downstairs was chaos on arrival day and the queuing was very frustrating for all , kids club small and cramped and could do with an overhaul too to modernise and brighten it . Luckily in good weather most activities were all outside

Highly recommend this hotel for a hassle free ski holiday

Room Tip: Piste view rooms have nice balcony and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindseyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Aalborg. The food was amazing and tonnes of it! The staff were really friendly and could not do enough to help us. It is situated right at the foot of the slopes and the terrace is perfect for a cold beer at the end of the days skiing. The slopes were brilliant and the lifts all very quick. We had a brilliant time and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The extra for the piste views are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from a family holiday booked with Neilsons, staying at Hotel Aalborg and flying with Thomas Cook. It was a great week, despite the snow conditions melting somewhat on the ground level with air temperatures rising to 20c!

All the Neilsons staff were first class and were genuinely friendly and helpful, making our family holiday one of our best. Particular thanks to Sarah, Laura and Sam who were great with our young children and despite being extremely busy, always made time for each family and child.

It was our first family ski trip and we took lessons at the European Ski school, organised through Neilsons, which again we were extremely impressed with. All our instructors were highly professional and turned us from total beginners into confident skiers by the end of the week- amazing! This included our 6 and 9 year old children!

Hotel Aalborg provided adequate accommodation, although I would say our room- 209- requires some modernising in the near future. The food was great all week, however the children's high tea could have offered more than one choice and perhaps a healthier option at times.

The ski hire shop staff were also very competent and helpful and we would remark that on the first day of arriving they were extremely under pressure with only 3 staff organising all ski hire equipment for a que of people that lasted over two hours. Therefore we would recommend that in high peak weeks that there are more staff in the ski shop on arrival and check out.

Overall we had a wonderful time and would recommend both this report and booking with Neilsons.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachelag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bookham, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was our first time skiing with the kids (age 13, 12 and 12) and the hotel and resort were just perfect. The hotel couldn't have been in a better location and was warm and welcoming and cosy. The choice of food at breakfast and dinner was excellent. You are allocated the same table for the week relieving any stress about having to arrive for dinner early to find the right size table to accommodate your party.

The rooms were absolutely fine too. We had two rooms on the first floor side by side with a private balcony connecting the two so we just nipped in and out of the patio doors at the back. It's worth paying a bit extra for a piste view. It's quite stunning and incredible to watch the piste bashers at night going up and down the black runs.

We hired equipment from the shop in the basement - very slow on the Saturday afternoon as it was changeover day. My 12 year old fell asleep on the floor while we were waiting as we'd been up since 4am. The instructors at the European Ski & Snowboard School were just brilliant - patient, encouraging and passionate. On our last day we took the Jandri Express (about 15/20 mins) to the glacier and wished we'd done this sooner. Being beginners and an intermediate we had stuck to the lower slopes which we'd covered in lessons but wished we'd been more adventurous sooner as the snow conditions at the glacier were superb. The boys loved the snow park with a half pipe and jumps and we had to drag them away.

We were sad to leave but already planning to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendycatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back after our first family ski holiday. The hotel was ideally located just at the bottom of the beginner slopes with a short 5 minute walk to the lifts that take you higher up the mountain or you can use the beginner button tows to ski to the lifts ( the diable chair takes you to a nice green run which takes you to the European ski school meeting place). The hotel has an equipment room in the basement with storage ( and lockers if staying in hotel) so all very easy with young children.
First day is a faff getting equipment sorted- took us a 2 and a half hour queue so would recommend getting equipment sorted as soon as you arrive to avoid longer waits.
The Neilsen staff were fantastic - so many of them around at the airport/ hotel and always willing to assist. Food was excellent and can order from the high tea menu in advance for children if necessary so you can all eat together later on.
Room was simple but spotless ( beds made everyday) and plenty of room for family of 4.
We were so impressed with Neilsens that we're planning to book another ski holiday with them for 2015 today!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edinburger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I booked the Aalborg hotel in Les Deux Alps (with the help of Thomas Cook), as a surprise birthday present for my other half, after reading many reviews on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed!

The staff on the transfer coach from the airport were enthusiastic and very helpful, the transfer itself was comfortable.

Our room was a twin room, which was basic, but had everything we could possibly need. The room was very clean and was made up every day. We had a TV in our room which had ITV and BBC.
If you go down to the bar, you could also (sporadically), access the hotel WIFI.

We booked half board (breakfast and dinner) and the food was AMAZING. There most certainly could have been more of it (!) but it was absolutely delicious!! Buffet for breakfast and on the Sunday we had a Sunday roast!

Although we didn't participate much, there were a variety of activities the Neilson team arranged to keep you entertained in the evenings. Alcohol was a bit pricey, but we were on holiday and budgeted for this so didn't mind (there was also a Spar supermarket down the road which was quite handy for wine/beer etc).

The staff were spot on - Really attentive, helpful and always had smiles on their faces.

We hired all our ski equipment from the rental shop - all was fitted perfectly, so we felt incredibly safe.

I honestly cannot fault this holiday at all.We had such an amazing time and should we choose to go skiing again in the future, we will 100% be back to the Aalborg hotel :)

Thank you hotel Aalborg/the staff and Neilson, for making our holiday such an amazing time for us - We highly recommend!! xxx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.3 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#4 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#5 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Melezes
Hotel Les Melezes
#6 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brunerie Hotel
Brunerie Hotel
#11 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalborg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel

Property: Aalborg Hotel
Address: Rue de Tete Moutte, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
#4 Family Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
#5 Spa Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aalborg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalborg Hotel Les Deux Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing