We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in a great resort!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Berangere
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great time in a great resort!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Following a disappointing trip with Mark Warner to Chalethotel Dahu in Courchevel last year I was a bit apprehensive about booking with them again. After much research and debate we decided on the Berangere mainly because of the 2-4-1 lift pass offer but also because we wanted to try a different resort other than VD/ 3 valleys.

Despite the weather chaos at Gatwick/Heathrow our flight took off with a short delay. We did have to wait an hour for the late Heathrow flight but we were in the resort by 5pm and just in time for afternoon tea.

Despite the negative reviews on Tripadvisor I thought the hotel was much better than I expected. It certainly wasn't modern but was clean, well organised and also had a pool, sauna, steamroom with jacuzzi (which wasn't working). The bedrooms were also a decent size and we were not disturbed on any night but then again we were on the third floor. The location was excellent- just a short walk to town (3 minutes) but literally on the slopes which made life very easy when coming back in the evening.

All the staff were very friendly and generally the food was good each day other than on the social night (too many dishes to choose from but none tasted that great). Each day you had to book your slot for dinner but even if you forgot, the latest you would eat was 8.30pm. Breakfast was first come first serve which meant it was busy with families early on but empty an hour later which was much better for us. That did mean that occasionally there was a shortage of food but for the most part it was fine.

Aside from skiing over the course of the week we spent most of our time in the hotel sitting around the fire, eating tea and drinking vin chaud. There were a couple of quizzes during the week which were good fun although we lost miserably.

The skiing was great as the conditions were perfect (snow for 2 days then clear blue skies) and there was a huge amount of off piste to tempt you. One point about the resort- to get back you either have a choice of a 4.5km narrow green run or a steep black. The black wasn't a problem for me but the green was always super busy and full of beginners struggling to get back. Avoid this at all costs and take the lift down!

On the subject of annoyances there were a couple- rubbish shower attachment and lack of veggie options in the morning (you had to order veg sausages but they didn't always have them). For the life of me I could not work out why our shower did not have a slider bar which would allow the shower to go up and down and actually point to where you want it. Please change for next season!

Overall we had a really good time in Deux Alps at the Berangere and would definitely go back. It certainly is very family orientated but not enough to put us off!

Tips:

Eating out:
On chalet night off we headed to a restaurant called Les Sagnes which was lovely (open fire, rustic etc). There were lots to choose from but they were all very meat orientated whereas this one had a good choice of non-meat dishes. We had starters, galettes, wine, dessert and the bill was pretty reasonable.

Drinking:
Check out the windsor pub for a cosy pub to enjoy beers of the world (Leffe, Hoegaarden). The Polar Bear was meant to be a good place as well.

Board shop:
So many to choose from but got some nice new bindings from La Fabrik as the guy was so helpful. Wax and edging was 20 Euros.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    66
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
100
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Within a few minutes of landing at Grenoble Airport we were directed to our transfer coach, with a Mark Warner rep who gave us details of the week ahead and individual advice about passes and ski hire. On arrival we were greeted by most of the staff and our luggage delivered to our room. The hotel is a "Silence hotel", and was very quiet throughout as all areas are carpeted. Our room was a good size, with a very large bed and lots of storage. The furniture was dark wood and had been cleaned vigorously resulting in a rather scruffy appearance, which could easily have been remedied by a rub down and a coat of varnish. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, complete with lovely soft feather pillows and a lightweight but very warm down duvet. The bathroom was newly fitted, strangely let down by a very poor quality plastic shower head .The room looked across to the opposite hillside, and didn't get sun until very late in the day, which wasn't a problem anyway as it was too cold to use the balcony. The meals were fairly good and plentiful but the food was never very hot, partly due to cold plates I think. The swimming pool ,steam room and sauna were superb,especially as we were often the only users. The location is excellent for access to the easy slopes, and not too far out of the centre of town, and is on the free bus route. All the staff were very friendly and always ready to talk to you and advise or help in any way. The families we talked to rated the childcare very highly and they all seemed very well looked after and happy. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies either look towards the slopes and are very sunny, or towards the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

You know - or need to know - what you get with Mark Warner : a potentially slightly tired but superbly located hotel just feet from the slopes, enthusiastic and well-marshalled young staff who do an excellent job given their youthfulness, and a strong social atmosphere. After that, it's what you decide to make of it and how you manage your own expectations. Just as in Courchevel last year, we loved it. The kids made good friends and the ski school and child care are great; the food is plentiful and the evening dinner menus and cooking were impressive in their ambition, given the numbers they cater for in a high season week. None of this is luxury; if you're a big cheese who flies internationally half your life and only stays in five star hotels on expenses then i'm sure you can find something to grumble about, like the permanently sour faced guest i heard complaining that there hadn't been any porridge for two days; but for the rest of us out for a good time this is just the ticket. The manager Hannah and deputy Tristan provide the leadership that delivers results. If Les Deux Alpes has one drawback its the slopes back into town: the green is narrow and can be crowded, whilst the black nearest the hotel is steep to begin with but soon flattens out. One option is to ski the top half of the green then join the black halfway down, by which time it is becoming red and then quickly blue. If you want to take the helicopter to Alpe d'Huez book through the hotel as soon as you get there; personally we found the lifts crowded, too much poling on flat bits and poorly signed, though others liked it.

Room Tip: Any room facing the slopes, on any floor - all the rooms seems to have good views one way or another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

I was dubious on arrival in this hotel due to all the bad reviews!

However this hotel is great . The location is perfect being on the slopes, and the mark Warner staff were, as always, amazing!!!

The hotel interior is clean and
Perfectly nice for a ski lodge. The bedrooms are spacious with lovely feather duvets...

As for the food, mark Warner has yet again excelled!

We will definately be back.

Kayte kelly

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayte k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We are revisiting this hotel for the 3rd time and I am really quite shocked at the comments on here. Yes the hotel is more shabby than chic, but its very clean and the decor is mountain authentic ;) lovely open fires, excellent location and ski in ski out, swimming pool, steam room and a beauty area, chilling in the bar looking over the mountains whilst eating fresh cakes and drinking a beer, what more can you ask for?

The staff couldn't do anymore for you and the food is amazing. We first visited in 2007, then in 2009 and now going back on 6th January 2013. Its a great location and has fantastic childcare, this time we are travelling with our 5 year old and now our new addition who is 8 months old....

We are avid skiers and the runs are great, you have a lovely black or a cat track green to the hotel, or like me, you can get the chair lift back down to the hotel. We have skied all over the alps and something about this hotel and most importanty the atmousphere brings us back time again....

Don't read the negatives, I am one fussy person and this hotel can do no wrong.... brilliant time, every time and the little one enjoys her time here too!!

Room Tip: Pref the 3rd floor - mountain view side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TAM_SEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went to Les Deux Alpes in February of this year, at the time we were very worried about the reviews for MW Hotel Berangere on Trip Advisor, lots of poor reviews saying that it was dirty, very run down, sickness bugs etc. When we got there yes the hotel has seen better days, the rooms are very dated and worn but we still had a first class time. The staff could not have been more helpful, the child care was great, ski guiding amazing and food and drink ample. Yes we would go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LDM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

All the room have a view of the slopes and surrounding mountains and the heated pool was great to relax in. The hotel has a huge dining area and bar that feeds on the slopes and for kids having ski lessons you literally could not get much closer. The lifts are an easy ski down from the hotel with a beginners tbar right next to the hotel. Ski is done in the basement of the hotel and the ski hosting enable to cover nearly all the runs during the week. The shops are far enough away that there is no noise fro traffic etc, but still only a 5 mins walk if you really needed anything which you dont as everything you need is at the hotel.
The rooms are a little tired but more than satisfactory for a weeks ski holiday. Food was great, with plenty of choice and variety and more than enough was put on from breakfast to afternoon tea and cakes to the 3 course dinners including wines.

Room Tip: choose the big rooms if you have more than 3 in your group/family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrittonsfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Brunerie Hotel
Brunerie Hotel
#11 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Cairn Hotel
Le Cairn Hotel
#21 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adret
Hotel Adret
#16 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aalborg Hotel
Aalborg Hotel
#10 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Berangere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Berangere

Property: Chalet Hotel Berangere
Address: 11 Route de Champame, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Hotel Berangere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Berangere Hotel Les Deux Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing