We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Hotel Berangere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Berangere
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The rooms are incredibly basic, however the food was good. If you're looking for cheap and cheerful then it's not a bad call. There's also a pool and sauna/steam room and a (small) spa on site. The Mark Warner staff were great and overall I thought it was a reasonable place to stay. Just don't expect luxury rooms/bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VooVoo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    65
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
99
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very disappointed following a return visit for a week in March. The hotel enjoys a stunning position however the dining experience is now a shadow of the excellent cusine experienced some 5 years ago. The hotel manager evidently believes that grunting 'all right' at guests from several meters away during dinner constitutes customer contact. Two of our party and many other guests experienced severe diarrheoa and vomiting. Norovirus had previously been an issue acccording to staff.

Given the legal issues surrounding ski hosting, guests were expected to shoulder the responsibility of organising different ability groups and guiding them for the day. At the time of booking Mark Warner was in denial about the impact of the legal action which eventually caused ski hosting to be cancelled.

Families were sidelined in favour of a singles company which had booked half the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main hotel are now overdue for refurbishment. It's best to recover from your no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our first Mark Warner holiday having done several Esprit trips. The hotel is in a fantastic location for the slopes which are literally on your doorstep. In fact, once you've got your skis and boots from the hire shop (on the premises) you never have to walk more than 10 metres again. I know you might save money renting from one of the outlets in the town but the convenience was a big bonus. The best skiing is quite a way up the lift system and anyone other than a beginner needs to spend the first 20/30 minutes every day getting to the decent snow. But once you're up there it's glorious, squeaky snow and a good range of pistes including plenty of nice wide blues for the lazy skiers amongst us. The glacier has some great skiing too and you can spend all day up there doing run after run before heading home down a boring green road or a fairly taxing black or even a comfortable chair lift.
We had room 101 in the hotel, a corner room with a separate bedroom area with bunks for the kids, a bathroom and a separate loo. Plenty of hot water at any time of the day, fantastic balcony with views of the slopes and the mountain beyond, comfortable beds and UK channels on the TV.
We thought the food was good, a choice of three mains every night and free wine to go with it. Kids can choose to eat tea at 7 with other under 12's if they want to.
The best thing about the Berangere is the staff. They never stop smiling and helping. All queries were met with friendly responses and we were looked after from start to finish.
I suppose you could say the hotel is tired but no worse than than. A little chipped paint on a cupboard door does not affect my holiday and luxury is about a warm bath and a hot chocolate at the end of the day for me, not about brand new decor or fancy food.
Top marks Mark Warner, you ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlt223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Back from a second week skiing with 'The Ski Club UK', thoroughly enjoyed the development week. The staff were universally helpful and well mannered. The room I had had in January was bigger than the one in March but clean and adequate for the task. The food in January had been great, less so in March with limited vegetables and quantities. One of our number was a Vegetarian and she had real problems getting fed. I had suspected we were getting bought in 'sealed plate' and when I asked found the chef was on holiday for the week!! The main reason I give the three star rather than four is the naked money grabbing. A small point but paying 15 Euro for a weeks access to the WiFi then finding both a lack of coverage in the rooms and also lack of bandwidth such that if more than 6 people were on (in a 70 room hotel) the internet access died; is not good enough. I am in the IT business and clearly the infrastructure had not been done by professionals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Piste side are quieter as bin lorries and kitchen deliveries are at the car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DancingBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Back from a week's ski holiday in March and had a great time at Les Deux Alpes. This was our third Mark Warner ski holiday with our son (now 5 years old) and our best yet (also been to La Plagne and St Anton). We had room 203 which was roomy enough for all 3 of us. It was well decorated/furnished and overlooked the slopes. Some others on the first floor complained about noise on a couple of nights from the hotel bar below but we didn't experience any problems. The location of the hotel is fantastic, right next to the lifts up to the main slopes and the beginners slopes so we could take our son out for a short ski practice in the afternoon without any fuss. The ski hire is in the hotel and the boot and ski room is also in the building's basement 10 yards from the slope. This really was ski in/out. The childcare was up to usual MW high standards and our son didn't want to leave! MW food was good as always and the staff couldn't do enough for you. We didn't use the pool/sauna (meant to, but just never found the time). It looked lovely though some guests said it was a little cold for young children.
Small gripe: MW still charges for wifi which sometimes dropped out at peak times.
Overall: typical MW family ski chalet hotel. Not the Ritz but everything works and you feel confident the children are having a great time so you can relax on and off the slopes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday, we had never been on a MW holiday and we had always been put off by friends stories, although we had a good time, the food was a reallygood standard and the chalet girls and boys work really hard and credit to them all, the hotel was below standard in that sofas were ripped and broken and dirty, the carpets were filthy in the dinning room, our room was good standard 108 but directly above the bar area (Piano!!!) which at times was very loud!! Our friends double room at the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor was an absolutely disgrace, they had the tiniest bath with a hand held shower over it, the bed was literally on the floor, one tiny wardrobe, they asked if they could move but were told by the Manager the hotel was full, but later on in the week said that the hotel wasn't full!!!! So would I go back NO, we have stayed in Austria-Arlberg Hospiz, St Christoph amazing when the children were small 3,4 and 5, Baqueria Beret, in the Spanish Alps Hotel Val De Neu, Val Thorens The Fitz Roy amazing now the family are all older 3 snow boarders and 3 skiers. All of the above are from the most expensive to the same price as MW and Im sorry to say not go back to a MW.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

The rooms are confortable but a little dated. We had on one wall some damp and and a big chunk of ripped wallpaper.
The staff were very friendly and the nannies were brilliant. The location of the chalet is superb.
The chef two years ago was great, but unfortunately, this year, the food was below average & the wine truly cheap and horrible. If you have a decent palate & like to eat well, go somewhere else.
What a shame.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#5 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#4 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maeva Residence Le Jandri
Maeva Residence Le Jandri
#26 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adret
Hotel Adret
#19 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Berangere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Berangere

Property: Chalet Hotel Berangere
Address: 11 Route de Champame, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Hotel Berangere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Berangere Hotel Les Deux Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing