We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but not 4*”
Review of Brunerie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunerie Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice hotel but not 4*”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a pleasant and conveniently situated hotel. On the plus side, the food we had was very nice, most of the staff were very friendly, the place was very clean, the beds were pretty comfortable and the shower was amazing with plenty of hot water at all times. Now the not so good points. Our room was very small and absolutely boiling but the window was broken and would only stay open by wedging a pillow in it !! On numerous occasions our key card did not work and when we spoke to the receptionist she implied it was our fault. Whilst the food was nice, if you came to eat near the end of the sitting there was not a lot left and was not replenished. The staff in the restaurant were not very professional as we were constantly having to ask for plates, cutlery, tables to be cleared etc. On one occasion a glass was smashed on the floor and the shards were just pushed to one side and not cleared away. However, the staff all seemed to be very young and could have done with a decent manager being present to oversee them. I would stay here again as it was not bad value for money and overall we had a very nice holiday, but Crystal need to rethink their rating. They rate this as 4* and it isn't, but it should be noted that this is only Crystal's rating, the hotel is actually only rated as a 3*.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor on the side and did not get too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for your comment, as it helps us to improve our services.
Please be assured that our manager is aware of the issue and will of course ensure that this does not happen again
Concerning the hotel, we would like to precise that Hotel La Brunerie is a 3 stars rating and not a 4 stars as it is written in some brochure partners.
We will be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    139
    45
    18
    9
See reviews for
117
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

About what expected for an average hotel
If your looking for luxury look else where
But we enjoyed the stay
Food was ok but not great
Pool is tiny and sauna wasn't ways working
Gym ?!? Just a small weight bench
Drinks are a little expensive
Rooms were nice , clean and warm

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Langer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Manager1, Hotel Manager at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Langer 777,

We would like to thank you for your comment. It helps us to improve our services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppermill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I have already written a review which seems to have been removed. So I will limit my explanation.

This hotel is not a 4* hotel as sold by Crystal. The quality and service standards and pure lack of management reduce this hotel to a sub standard 3*. But this in fairness is not the employees fault they have had little or or no training, guidance or customer service awareness training.

The heat in the rooms is above sauna level so the only option to regulate is to open window to balance!! The rooms in fairness are clean but do not take the photos on the website as real - they were clearly decorated for photo purposes.

If you like the idea of the swimming pool or sauna - you must pack your own towels and gowns (not what a 4* would recommend) you then need to be happy to walk past the open bar through a "gym" (hardly as it is 3 pieces of old equipment, again photo has been manipulated to allude to a lovely fitness suite!?

Dining - buffet concept - but you have to guess what you might be eating no signage, menus, information from staff. And that's if you are lucky to get a seat when you go to the restaurant as no seating plan, timings or structure. Had a manage been present I would happily have pointed this out.

Sadly I had raised my concern with Crystal prior to going on the holiday and they assured me it was a 4* I then complained to the reps and to the company via email while I was there but have had no response even though I have been back for nearly 2 weeks. Although whilst three I could quite clearly see some of my points had "tried" to be rectified.

Although both hotel and Crystal have happily sent more automated responses wanting feedback they have fundamentally failed in all levels of customer service.

i had arranged a very "special" holiday which sadly was not fulfilled due to such disappointment in standards and expectations...

Utterly frustrated, angry and want to share so others are not fooled by Crystals misrepresentations.



Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mozzles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Manager1, The Hotel Manager at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mozzles L,

We would like to thank you for your comment. It helps us to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is definitely a 3 not 4 star as described by Chrystal. We stayed on the front side of the hotel and the noise was unbearable each morning at 5am with the snow ploughs turning up. Great to have snow, but you really could not sleep through the racket. Food was OK for adults, but not great for kids. Nice staff, questionable cleanliness overall. Some repairs needed e.g. sauna door does not close, hairdryer broken...good access to ski lift in the morning. Overall - it was OK and did the job. Luckily the sun shone and we had a great week's skiing.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the back side of the hotel away from the main drag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Manager1, Hotel Manager at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Trissh1234,

We would like to thank you for your comment. It helps us to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is well situated very close to the slopes and resort amenities. Unfortunately the rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy.
The staff are rather unhelpful, for example the lock on our room didn't work, and their response was to tell us that we were using the key card incorrectly. Clearly the housekeeping staff were also using it incorrectly as they were unable to lock the room after cleaning and left it open.
Don't expect any dietary requirements to be catered for, even if pre booked. Overall the food is poor, and the restaurant staff clueless.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Manager1, Hotel Manager at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed at the Brunerie from the 8th to 15th Feb 2014. Lovely Hotel in really good location. Good size room, comfortable beds, nice bathroom with shower over bath. Breakfast was very good with a lovely selection of cold food plus hot scrambled egg, bacon and sausage pluss fruit juice and coffee and tea as much as you want every day. Dinner was help yourself buffet salad, soup and sweet with a choice of usually 2 mains. Boot room with boot dryers, ski room with lockable ski rack, 5 mins walk to the main lifts and a good ski area. Wouldn’t hesitate to go again. Excellent holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Manager1, Hotel Manager at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at the hotel. It's a lovely hotel which has a great location. The town is quite big with plenty of restaurants & bars. It's around 100m to the ski hire shop (ski set) who are brilliant, then a 5 min walk to the main lift.
The slopes are great!
The rooms at the hotel are very nice, spacious & very clean. The food is pretty good and the staff are fantastic!
I didn't use the pool or sauna so can't comment but the bar area is very nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel but ask for a room at the back of the hotel when booking as the front is very noisy at night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_Jef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Manager1, Hotel Manager at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#4 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#15 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#18 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunerie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunerie Hotel

Property: Brunerie Hotel
Address: 59 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunerie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brunerie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunerie Hotel Les Deux Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing