We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great duplex rooms views are stunning”
Review of Hotel La Farandole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Farandole
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
dublin ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Friendly staff and great duplex rooms views are stunning”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my wife in January. It was her first time skiing and I had emailed the hotel prior as it was our hooneymoon. When we arrived they complimentary upgraded us to a duplex suite which was just great. The views from the room was amazing and the hotel is lovely and warm. Breakfast was plentiful all u need for a good start to the day. Wi if in hotel is an added bonus. Room was cleaned daily and staff are friendly. Emily is a credit to the hotel and wud do anything to help u out. My ski pass got cleared and wud not work and she came down to the ski pass station at 8am and sorted it out for me. Nothing is a hassle for her. Also free shuttle to and from gondola is great. Great to have a pool and sauna and steam room for this value. Great priced accomodation and would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wes9944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    64
    30
    21
    39
See reviews for
55
55
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel as we wanted a short break of 3 nights to sample our first winter ski holiday together and most other hotels only offered 1 week min stay. I called the hotel before we left the UK to ask about boarding and ski lessons and the manager was very helpful. Once we arrived at Lyon airport we found that the car hire company we booked with was unmanned and Hertz wouldn't allow us to take the car we had paid the deposit for (firefly- do not use them!) so we had to pay to use another car hire company who had no cars with snow tyres available, only snow chains so we headed off....only to find that at 1030pm when we tried to put on the chains they were broken so I called the hotel who organised for their driver Tom to come and help us half way up a mountain and guide us back to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. We got to our room at midnight thanks to Tom and the hotel receptionist and the manager greeted us and showed us to our room. The room was basic but comfortable and we went down to the bar and had a beer with the hotel staff. The facilities are basic: the jacuzzi and sauna could be warmer and the breakfast was basic but the staff really made up for it. All staff have only been in place for 2 weeks but they helped us have a great few days and even though we had to leave a day earlier than planned as we couldn't risk more snow affecting our drive back to the airport, we had a great skiing and boarding experience with heavy snowfall and bright sunshine and above all a hotel who made a us feel welcome and comfortable.
I am sure they have a way to go to make the hotel the 4 star they are advertising but they are a cheap option for anyone who wants a short break in a brilliant resort. We will be back in 2015 but not at this hotel. Thanks to all the guys who helped us out, especially the manager whose name we didn't catch (Gary?) and Tom who ferried us around :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The staff and hotel were very good & the change in management saw improvements; of note were the transfers to the slopes provided by J C & Tom.. Some constructive criticism was made to the restaurant staff e.g providing a tea pot for our table of 6 in the mornings which was ignored (although pots were available in the afternoons for a mere €3). The powdered eggs were most off-putting as was the chunks of half cooked bacon which were still stuck together as taken from their packet. The starters & puddings in the evenings were good but the dinners were simply awful & anyone who cooks at home could have provided better fare, especially as there were only 6-10 diners present in the evenings. All 6 of us were inclusive but really couldn't face the food in the evenings after day 3. One would have expected the new manager/&/or owner to be present in the restaurant to oversee what the chef was presenting, however the service was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel and location ae excellent, the staff were friendly and very helpfull.
The menu for full board is limited but the food very tasty with large portions.
The skiing was fantastic the town is small but very lively

Gordon K

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A family skiing holiday staying at the Farandole Hotel in Les Deux Alpes was great. Hotel very comfortable, rooms very clean and spacious overlooking the beautiful views of the mountains. Staff very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble, providing the extra pillows on request,making sure all facilities were available to use after a full day on the slopes, the juzzuzi ,steam room and pool were a bonus at no extra charge. We stayed all inclusive, menu for the evening meal ,good choice, generous portions, good choice of wine , beer and soft drinks. Breakfast was a buffet menu to suit all. Location to the slopes was excellent, hotel did provide a free shuttle to the lifts if you did not want to walk with skies and boots, a tip, we hired three lockers near the white eggs lift for about £36 for the week, the 10 minute walk in comfortable shoes after breakfast was good and walking back relaxed the legs after a full day skiing was lovely. This is the second time we have stayed at The Farandole Hotel and plan to return next year. We booked through skipower and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our group stayed at the Farandole over the new year, it was without doubt the worst and most stressful holiday any of us have experienced, food was served cold on dirty plates, food regularly ran out especially at breakfast, tables were left uncleared, dinner menu was unchanged all week and everything was microwaved (but still managed to be cold), the manager was patronising and unhelpful, I waited an eternity one night for the "free beers" which he eventually poured into two glasses from a slop bucket !! , I did not pass the reception once all week without hearing someone complaining, the rest of the staff were doing their best under very difficult circumstances. I could go on but a lot has been covered by previous reviews,please, please, take heed. All of our party have contacted Ski Power seeking compensation, who have so far ignored all our correspondence. If you are thinking of booking with Ski Power don't, if you have already booked get some insurance.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room but not on floor one (over bar/dining area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpacaman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Les Deux-Alpes hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Firstly I wanted to say that my girlfriend and I are the most laid back people and not people that complain at everything we can think of. I could not let other people fall into the trap that we did with the Farandole though.

As many other people that have reviewed in the same week (28/12/13- 5/1/14) have mentioned the hotel was drastically understaffed and badly managed during this week. I find it highly offensive that in the two previous reviews we have been labelled as "difficult" and that other reviewers have tried to compare their trip to ours. We went at a more expensive time so people will expect a better service as they have paid more. Other people will have gone at a less busy time so staff and management will have had more time to cater for their needs.

As for the owners comments of us being "difficult" people did not complain with out good reason. If the simple things would have been done well I would not have felt I needed to review this hotel so negatively, but the constant inability to provide a "HOT" breakfast is unacceptable and no matter how laid back reviewers say they are it would have tried anyone's patience. We also paid for the "half board" option so we got food and drinks included. The hotel ran out of at least three of the few meals we had to choose from halfway through our stay. This again could have been avoided by a bit of common sense and better management.

The staff were stretched to their limits and the hotel for the amount of people staying was drastically understaffed. I have one recommendation for the owner that dismissed this inept display of ownership and management as simply "difficult" customers; invest in your hotel and in more staff when you are busier. If this hotel got the things right it advertised as able to do, it would be fantastic but it struggles to live up to its own hype.

Please be careful of booking the Farandole as although Ski Power and the hotel have said they have improved they still have a way to go. I hope the hotel owner and manager learn from these mistakes that left a sour taste of what was a great snowboarding holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brunerie Hotel
Brunerie Hotel
#11 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#5 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Neiges
Hotel Des Neiges
#29 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Farandole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Farandole

Property: Hotel La Farandole
Address: 18 rue du Cairou, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Farandole provides low cost and value skiing holidays in Les Deux Alpes. Simple and wholesome at a good price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Farandole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farandole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing