We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much improved & enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel La Farandole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Farandole
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After initial concerns about previous reviews with regards to Ski Power accommodation , I booked in with one of my friends in the last week of January into an Upgraded superior room on a bed & breakfast basis.
I was able to leave my baggage in a locked area- in order that Iwas able to make the most of my first day and was welcomed warmly by the staff.
The rooms were warm , comfortable & cleaned on a regular basis - and the the view was spectacular ( facing the mountain).
The Ski locker room was locked & secured- so there was always some where to store your equipment .
If there were any minor quibbles this may be that the Jacuzzi & Sauna were sometimes late being switched on or not switched on - but again the staff were always helpful and on hand to rectify the issue.
also Breakfast was some times a little late being laid out in its entirity - however again this problem was quickly & effectively resolved by the staff. The beds being memory foam were just the thing after a long day on the slopes, the hotel is local to the Diable Telecabine , and well supplied by local amenities so tired legs werent a problem .
In all I would stay there again & do appreciate that the accommodation is a work in progress
from a dedicated & some times under appreciated team -who dealt with a couple of "unusual " situations in both a professional & open manner .
Bar prices were comparable to the Village - but it would have been nice to see a slight reduction for Hotel guests- but there was free Wi Fi
In all Id like to thank the team for making us welcome & would like to return again .
Further proving that despite

Room Tip: The View provided by the Superior room is worthwhile , also bring your bathing costume the steam ro...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahoeDude049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Farandole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my wife in January. It was her first time skiing and I had emailed the hotel prior as it was our hooneymoon. When we arrived they complimentary upgraded us to a duplex suite which was just great. The views from the room was amazing and the hotel is lovely and warm. Breakfast was plentiful all u need for a good start to the day. Wi if in hotel is an added bonus. Room was cleaned daily and staff are friendly. Emily is a credit to the hotel and wud do anything to help u out. My ski pass got cleared and wud not work and she came down to the ski pass station at 8am and sorted it out for me. Nothing is a hassle for her. Also free shuttle to and from gondola is great. Great to have a pool and sauna and steam room for this value. Great priced accomodation and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wes9944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel as we wanted a short break of 3 nights to sample our first winter ski holiday together and most other hotels only offered 1 week min stay. I called the hotel before we left the UK to ask about boarding and ski lessons and the manager was very helpful. Once we arrived at Lyon airport we found that the car hire company we booked with was unmanned and Hertz wouldn't allow us to take the car we had paid the deposit for (firefly- do not use them!) so we had to pay to use another car hire company who had no cars with snow tyres available, only snow chains so we headed off....only to find that at 1030pm when we tried to put on the chains they were broken so I called the hotel who organised for their driver Tom to come and help us half way up a mountain and guide us back to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. We got to our room at midnight thanks to Tom and the hotel receptionist and the manager greeted us and showed us to our room. The room was basic but comfortable and we went down to the bar and had a beer with the hotel staff. The facilities are basic: the jacuzzi and sauna could be warmer and the breakfast was basic but the staff really made up for it. All staff have only been in place for 2 weeks but they helped us have a great few days and even though we had to leave a day earlier than planned as we couldn't risk more snow affecting our drive back to the airport, we had a great skiing and boarding experience with heavy snowfall and bright sunshine and above all a hotel who made a us feel welcome and comfortable.
I am sure they have a way to go to make the hotel the 4 star they are advertising but they are a cheap option for anyone who wants a short break in a brilliant resort. We will be back in 2015 but not at this hotel. Thanks to all the guys who helped us out, especially the manager whose name we didn't catch (Gary?) and Tom who ferried us around :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The staff and hotel were very good & the change in management saw improvements; of note were the transfers to the slopes provided by J C & Tom.. Some constructive criticism was made to the restaurant staff e.g providing a tea pot for our table of 6 in the mornings which was ignored (although pots were available in the afternoons for a mere €3). The powdered eggs were most off-putting as was the chunks of half cooked bacon which were still stuck together as taken from their packet. The starters & puddings in the evenings were good but the dinners were simply awful & anyone who cooks at home could have provided better fare, especially as there were only 6-10 diners present in the evenings. All 6 of us were inclusive but really couldn't face the food in the evenings after day 3. One would have expected the new manager/&/or owner to be present in the restaurant to oversee what the chef was presenting, however the service was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel and location ae excellent, the staff were friendly and very helpfull.
The menu for full board is limited but the food very tasty with large portions.
The skiing was fantastic the town is small but very lively

Gordon K

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A family skiing holiday staying at the Farandole Hotel in Les Deux Alpes was great. Hotel very comfortable, rooms very clean and spacious overlooking the beautiful views of the mountains. Staff very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble, providing the extra pillows on request,making sure all facilities were available to use after a full day on the slopes, the juzzuzi ,steam room and pool were a bonus at no extra charge. We stayed all inclusive, menu for the evening meal ,good choice, generous portions, good choice of wine , beer and soft drinks. Breakfast was a buffet menu to suit all. Location to the slopes was excellent, hotel did provide a free shuttle to the lifts if you did not want to walk with skies and boots, a tip, we hired three lockers near the white eggs lift for about £36 for the week, the 10 minute walk in comfortable shoes after breakfast was good and walking back relaxed the legs after a full day skiing was lovely. This is the second time we have stayed at The Farandole Hotel and plan to return next year. We booked through skipower and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our group stayed at the Farandole over the new year, it was without doubt the worst and most stressful holiday any of us have experienced, food was served cold on dirty plates, food regularly ran out especially at breakfast, tables were left uncleared, dinner menu was unchanged all week and everything was microwaved (but still managed to be cold), the manager was patronising and unhelpful, I waited an eternity one night for the "free beers" which he eventually poured into two glasses from a slop bucket !! , I did not pass the reception once all week without hearing someone complaining, the rest of the staff were doing their best under very difficult circumstances. I could go on but a lot has been covered by previous reviews,please, please, take heed. All of our party have contacted Ski Power seeking compensation, who have so far ignored all our correspondence. If you are thinking of booking with Ski Power don't, if you have already booked get some insurance.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room but not on floor one (over bar/dining area)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alpacaman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.0 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#5 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cote Brune
Hotel Cote Brune
#7 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brunerie Hotel
Brunerie Hotel
#11 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cairn Hotel
Le Cairn Hotel
#21 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#14 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Farandole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Farandole

Address: 18 rue du Cairou, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range: £112 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Farandole provides low cost and value skiing holidays in Les Deux Alpes. Simple and wholesome at a good price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Farandole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farandole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing